Posted (edited)
5 hours ago, Nasher said:

It feels a little bit like nitpicking to criticise a 19 year old with his second consecutive 35 possession game, who also marks and tackles, for a bit of ball overuse in a game where our forward line was cramped and dysfunctional.

I understand the criticism is intended to be constructive, but boy are we setting the bar high. I expect these sorts of issues will be resolved with experience. He's a baby still and already our best player.

I agree entirely.  Where he gets the footy there will always be the odd mistake, but his smarts and clean hands are almost unparalleled.

He had 4 clangers yesterday, Dangerfield had 6, Wines 5, Pendlebury 5, and O'Meara 9.

I'm not fond of the DE% stat, but he went at 80, while some others with similar numbers were well below.  Tom Mitchell 63, Dangerfield 62, Tyson 62, Treloar 65, Gaff 63, Pendlebury 72.  There were a few close to his mark.

After 15 games he still has a lot to learn, but we have an incredible ball magnet and young bull on our hands. 

Edited by ProDee

Posted
1 hour ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Has any other player built their tank up as fast as Oliver?

This is probably the thing that has me most stoked. His skills were on display last year so that hasn't come as a surprise, but I thought it would take a good few years to get up to AFL midfielder fitness - with the possibility that he may not ever. When he came back to pre-season out of condition I was thinking "here we bloody go". 

Posted
1 hour ago, Dees2014 said:

He is quicker than Williams which I admit is not saying much, and overall will be a cut above him in the future. He will be one for the ages I have no doubt. Our mid field in two or three years time will be unstoppable.

As much as I love Oliver, Williams was infinitely better by foot than Clarry with both right and left, and was possibly the greatest exponent of handball. If he ends up a cut above Williams, Oliver will be the greatest midfielder in the history of the AFL.

Posted (edited)
On 28/03/2017 at 0:28 PM, pineapple dee said:

Williams had great hands no doubt but the thing that differentiated Williams from 95% of star midfielders was that he always seemed to have about 30 seconds to get rid of the ball. That's another quality I'd like to see Oliver with. It'll come and if it does, then watch out !!!!!

Graeme Cordey who played with him said Deisel had outstanding peripheral vision which enhanced his impact.In his opinion Deisel was the best he played amongstfor ball use.

Edited by dpositive

Posted
34 minutes ago, ProDee said:

I agree entirely.  Where he gets the footy there will always be the odd mistake, but his smarts and clean hands are almost unparalleled.

He had 4 clangers yesterday, Dangerfield had 6, Wines 5, Pendlebury 5, and O'Meara 9.

I'm not fond of the DE% stat, but he went at 80, while some others with similar numbers were well below.  Tom Mitchell 63, Dangerfield 62, Tyson 62, Treloar 65, Gaff 63, Pendlebury 72.  There were a few close to his mark.

After 15 games he still has a lot to learn, but we have an incredible ball magnet and young bull on our hands

Was it you that reported on Oliver beating ANB 10 times out of 10, one-on-one, in one of his first ever training sessions? I remember being pretty impressed at the time but it's totally not surprising now. 

His height, smarts, contested work and strength would surely make him a difficult forward to match up on. Would like to see him down there more.

Posted
34 minutes ago, Sylvia Saint said:

Was it you that reported on Oliver beating ANB 10 times out of 10, one-on-one, in one of his first ever training sessions? I remember being pretty impressed at the time but it's totally not surprising now. 

His height, smarts, contested work and strength would surely make him a difficult forward to match up on. Would like to see him down there more.

You have a very good memory.  

Posted

What I have noticed this year more than ever is that he is always on the move, rarely do you see him flat-footed.

I think this is one of the reasons that he is able to get so many quick handpasses off because he is always creating space for himself in tight situations.

A lot of our players could learn from this.

Posted

Would it be fair to say he has 6 Brownlow votes so far this year if not 5?

Posted
6 hours ago, mo64 said:

As much as I love Oliver, Williams was infinitely better by foot than Clarry with both right and left, and was possibly the greatest exponent of handball. If he ends up a cut above Williams, Oliver will be the greatest midfielder in the history of the AFL.

Yeah, and?

Posted
12 hours ago, leehow said:

Gawn was off the ground. Both teams only had three in the middle, umpire wouldn't let Watts in (assume he was told not to come into the square although don't know why ) so he was standing at CHF.

yeah, i noticed that too. can't see why when you are allowed 4 within square. i'd be following that up. he was also stopped before ball was bounced, so where would they get the timing from?

Posted
2 hours ago, Biffen said:

Would it be fair to say he has 6 Brownlow votes so far this year if not 5?

Very fair.

He was second best in the coaches award vs Carlton and clearly BOG against St Kilda.

Posted
1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Very fair.

He was second best in the coaches award vs Carlton and clearly BOG against St Kilda.

Who was he behind out of interest? Just want to brag about him to my Carlton mate, unless it was Cripps that garnered more votes.

Posted
6 hours ago, Unleash Hell said:

Wagner very underrated around here.

Not sure if there's a spot for him, maybe vince replaces lewy and wager for vinces role.

Harmes forward 

Wagner may not be underrated - but when did he last play?  If last weekend how did he go?

Posted

8 hours ago, monoccular said:

Wagner may not be underrated - but when did he last play?  If last weekend how did he go?

Wagner played on the weekend for Casey I believe

but probably underdone, but I rate him (obviously). Fits in to our structure well

Posted (edited)
On 03/04/2017 at 6:55 AM, Nasher said:

It feels a little bit like nitpicking to criticise a 19 year old with his second consecutive 35 possession game, who also marks and tackles, for a bit of ball overuse in a game where our forward line was cramped and dysfunctional.

I understand the criticism is intended to be constructive, but boy are we setting the bar high. I expect these sorts of issues will be resolved with experience. He's a baby still and already our best player.

Thank god someone talks sense on here :)

Edited by Danelska
Posted
On 03/04/2017 at 7:05 AM, Nasher said:

I hope the coach was as livid about that as I was. Where the hell were Watts and Gawn?

I lost my sh*t as Watts was trying to rough up Silvagni LOL! 

He was so busy doing that, that he missed the centre bounce. What a joke. 

Hope he copped it! Fancy Watts trying to be tough by picking on a 2nd year player who weighs 3kgs wet, and completely missing the centre bounce. 

Posted
17 hours ago, daisycutter said:

yeah, i noticed that too. can't see why when you are allowed 4 within square. i'd be following that up. he was also stopped before ball was bounced, so where would they get the timing from?

I used to be a boundary umpire.  The rule is that from the time the umpire commences his approach to bounce no one is allowed to cross the centre square, in or out - regardless if there are too many or too few in the square.

Posted

I expect clarry to fade as the year drags on but I reckon right now he's way out in front of the bluey 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Abe said:

I expect clarry to fade as the year drags on but I reckon right now he's way out in front of the bluey 

He could be leading the brownlow...

Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, Jaded said:

I lost my sh*t as Watts was trying to rough up Silvagni LOL! 

He was so busy doing that, that he missed the centre bounce. What a joke. 

Hope he copped it! Fancy Watts trying to be tough by picking on a 2nd year player who weighs 3kgs wet, and completely missing the centre bounce. 

Fancy big tough Nick Maxwell and co. Smashing a debutante...I won't hold Jack in any lessor light showing a bit of mongrel. 

Perhaps he could have made the bounce though 

Edited by Demi Dee
Additions