The 2017 Membership Thread

I hope the club really gets out and about this week to make this happen as well as at the game on Sunday?

Come on people lets make history!

9 hours ago, deebug said:

There was a woman who worked at the club in the 90s sorry just can't think of her name? After one of our matches at the G there was a function in one of those bars up stairs; where my friends and used to attend, whilst waiting for some of the players to arrive she, spoke and said the club had over two hundred thousand people who followed the club.  She also said the club was trying to do something about it, of course as you all know nothing was done, so it will be interesting to see in the next couple of years when we do start to head to the top if these people will join the DEMON train all aboard.:wub:

Considering the population of Victoria is around 5.7 million and at least 70% of Victorians would have a team to support that averages out at around 400,000 per club.

If you look at the bigger clubs they have memberships of around 1.5 times our levels so we probably now have 300,000 followers while the big clubs have around 500,000.

Big numbers but of course only a small number are active followers let alone members

I spoke of this in an earlier post but if only the AFL would let us have a (Reserves) Women's Team playing throughout the season, we would be well past 40,000 members and closing in on 45,000. We need to explore this, particularly when we are currently one of only four Victorian franchises and accordingly have the drop on other Clubs such as the Bombers and Hawks. We should really push this so that followers of Women's football can follow the Dees (and Daisy) throughout the season.

(Be nice to get some more Casey followers also, following the mighty Casey Demons.)

10 minutes ago, P-man said:

Win this weekend and we're there.

Which is what we said would happen if we knocked off the Dons.  Surely to God there are another  172 good and true Deeees fans out there who'll get on board.

On 2017-5-2 at 8:32 PM, CBDees said:

I spoke of this in an earlier post but if only the AFL would let us have a (Reserves) Women's Team playing throughout the season, we would be well past 40,000 members and closing in on 45,000. We need to explore this, particularly when we are currently one of only four Victorian franchises and accordingly have the drop on other Clubs such as the Bombers and Hawks. We should really push this so that followers of Women's football can follow the Dees (and Daisy) throughout the season.

(Be nice to get some more Casey followers also, following the mighty Casey Demons.)

I like this thinking. Lots of seeds need tending. MFC really needs to get on the front foot. We can secure a generation ( at least ) if we go about this smartly.

On 10/22/2016 at 11:46 AM, CBDees said:

MCC members who nominate Melbourne as their team are NOT included in the MFC membership tally (unless they pay a MFC membership subscription)! All the MCC does for the MFC is that it provides the facility to pay both Club memberships at the one time. MCC members get nothing for nothing.

CBDees is right. The MCC asks its members to nominate a team they support but that's for their own internal reasons - just a survey to profile their membership. Numbers don't count in the football membership tally.

I think most MCC members take out the discounted membership as a donation to the footy club and in turn score a scarf, car stickers, the usual stuff.

What is new this year is that if you take out a full MFC membership with your MCC membership then your football membership entitles you to take a guest into three games in the MCC reserve at no extra cost. Normally you would have to buy a guest ticket, costing around $40, to take a guest into the MCC. This applies only to five matches (the lower attending ones against Freo, North, Port, Saints and Brisbane) but if you use those bonus tickets for three of those matches you are almost all square (and popular with mates).

I may sign up again just to try and be number 40,000. I have run out of family to sign up. 

3 minutes ago, Robbie57 said:

I may sign up again just to try and be number 40,000. I have run out of family to sign up. 

Just sign up a mate who is a Collingwood or Essendon supporter! ?They will thank you for it!

Signed up my 7 month old little girl today for Baby Dee membership much to her mums disapproval (mad Richmond). $54 for the membership, $75 NB voucher in return!

I reckon if they announced today that #40,000 will be presented with some kind of prize on Sunday, they'd get a bunch of people trying to win it.

Someone sign up Eddie...only way he'll be on a winner come QBW ;)

26 minutes ago, CBDees said:

Just sign up a mate who is a Collingwood or Essendon supporter! ?They will thank you for it!

Just do it. My husband, much to his horror gets a Dees membership every year for Christmas. If he bought me a Collingwood one in return I would shred it.

Just signed up the missus so another one down!

19 minutes ago, Eelesie said:

Another missus?

Gee thats dedication to the Dees

Polygamy - The lifestyle that gets us over 40k!

Poor grammar on my part!

3 hours ago, pitmaster said:

CBDees is right. The MCC asks its members to nominate a team they support but that's for their own internal reasons - just a survey to profile their membership. Numbers don't count in the football membership tally.

I think most MCC members take out the discounted membership as a donation to the footy club and in turn score a scarf, car stickers, the usual stuff.

What is new this year is that if you take out a full MFC membership with your MCC membership then your football membership entitles you to take a guest into three games in the MCC reserve at no extra cost. Normally you would have to buy a guest ticket, costing around $40, to take a guest into the MCC. This applies only to five matches (the lower attending ones against Freo, North, Port, Saints and Brisbane) but if you use those bonus tickets for three of those matches you are almost all square (and popular with mates).

Wow why did I not know this? Is this for the regular MCC/MFC Membership ($79 option) or the Premium member ($200 option)?

Where can I find more info about this, looked on both membership sites.. and how do I claim my spare ticket? Have bought them for mates to all games thus far like v Freo

48 minutes ago, jane02 said:

If he bought me a Collingwood one in return I would shred it.

And u could threaten to withhold certain activities too!

That wouldn't hurt!

3 hours ago, pitmaster said:

What is new this year is that if you take out a full MFC membership with your MCC membership then your football membership entitles you to take a guest into three games in the MCC reserve at no extra cost. Normally you would have to buy a guest ticket, costing around $40, to take a guest into the MCC. This applies only to five matches (the lower attending ones against Freo, North, Port, Saints and Brisbane) but if you use those bonus tickets for three of those matches you are almost all square

Yes - I'd forgotten - beautiful

Taking a friend to the Nth Melb game - I'll get her to pay for the beers

The $209 is a straight donation - and for a worthy cause :):):)

1 hour ago, Eelesie said:

Don't forget your girlfriend too !!!!!!

7 hours ago, stiza_007 said:

Wow why did I not know this? Is this for the regular MCC/MFC Membership ($79 option) or the Premium member ($200 option)?

Where can I find more info about this, looked on both membership sites.. and how do I claim my spare ticket? Have bought them for mates to all games thus far like v Freo

This addition comes with a Standard Plus and Premium MFC/MCC memberships. It is great value. Ring one of the membership team and upgrade. Well worth it if you are taking mates to the games.

9 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Someone sign up Eddie...only way he'll be on a winner come QBW ;)

I am pretty sure he is a member of all Victorian footy clubs. And done so for a while.