View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1964 Rd 17 footage

Posted

Pretty good quality considering TV had only been in Australia for 8 years. Check the commentary at 2.51 ย agree entirely, Barassi a gun.

ย 

Edited by whers_jacka_now
missed link

ย 
48 minutes ago, whers_jacka_now said:

Pretty good quality considering 10 had only been in Australia for 8 years. Check the commentary at 2.51 ย agree entirely, Barassi a gun.

ย 

Turns out idiotic handpasses have been a Melbourne specialty for over fifty years.

Also: My god that muddy playing surface.

I uploaded that to Youtube after receiving it in a trade for some other footy tapes. I've got a few other pieces from the 60's too however nothing before this unfortunately so it's all from the post Barassi/Smith glory era.

• Author
Just now, Dr. Gonzo said:

I uploaded that to Youtube after receiving it in a trade for some other footy tapes. I've got a few other pieces from the 60's too however nothing before this unfortunately so it's all from the post Barassi/Smith glory era.

awesome, thanks mate. I love the 60s Dees fans.

Thanks for posting this. What a mud heap! Reminded me of some of the playersย of the time. Was at the 64, GF as a boy. Hope I get to see another MFC,ย GF win before I am subbed out.ย 

ย 

I was at the ground that day, behind the goals where Hassa kicked the goal, I was getting a bit anxious but always thought we'd win.

If you weren't around in those days you wouldn't believe the conditions of some of the grounds they played at, especiallyย Glenferrieย Oval where this game was held, it was a long narrow ground and I doubt they had any drainage.

ย 

Edited by Dante

I hate to admit it but I was there that day.

Was brought along by some friends who lived on the Glenferrie train line.

I was young and really cannot remember the game save that everyone told me it was a biggy.

The first game in my memory was against Footscray in 1962 after begging my father (who was a Queenslander) to take me along

Thanks

I was there as a 15 year old . ย Hawthorn mates to this day swear that Hassa missed that snap which cost themย not only their first ever clean sweep of Home victories but more importantlyย a spotย  in the then Final Four .ย 

1 hour ago, Deevout said:

Thanks for posting this. What a mud heap! Reminded me of some of the playersย of the time. Was at the 64, GF as a boy. Hope I get to see another MFC,ย GF win before I am subbed out.ย 

That wasn't you running out onto the ground after the Hassa Mannย goal was it Deevout????

2 hours ago, dee-eee said:

I was there as a 15 year old . ย Hawthorn mates to this day swear that Hassa missed that snap which cost themย not only their first ever clean sweep of Home victories but more importantlyย a spotย  in the then Final Four .ย 

Gee - lucky it wasn't called a behind, otherwise we're sitting on 11 premierships!

4 hours ago, whers_jacka_now said:

Pretty good quality considering 10 had only been in Australia for 8 years.

Can somebody please explain this statement to me?

I wish there was more footage of Barassi in the red and blue. I always figured Michael Voss would be the best modern comparison, would this be accurate?

4 hours ago, Courtney_Fish said:

Can somebody please explain this statement to me?

I think he means TV which started in 1956 for the Olympics

My Aunty, who is 95 and still goes to all our games at the G, saw Hassa Mann at the Hawthorn game and had a long conversation with him (she sure can talk) about his playing days.ย ย  Wonderful player and a wonderful man.ย 

ย 
12 hours ago, Dante said:

I was at the ground that day, behind the goals where Hassa kicked the goal, I was getting a bit anxious but always thought we'd win.

If you weren't around in those days you wouldn't believe the conditions of some of the grounds they played at, especiallyย Glenferrieย Oval where this game was held, it was a long narrow ground and I doubt they had any drainage.

ย 

And often the cheeky train driver, running the 4:38 to Blackburn, would cruise past the oval and toot the horn. ย People would often run on the ground believing thatย the siren had gone.

ย 

I was there the day Barry Bourke took out Hudson. ย Hudson had 8 till half time. ย I reckon Barry ran 50 metres to take Hudson out. You can only wonder what the MRP would have done to him, if such an action happened today. ย We ended up winning that day, with Frankie Giampaolo kicked the winning goal from the goal square at the swimming pool end. ย Great memories.

12 minutes ago, iv'a worn smith said:

And often the cheeky train driver, running the 4:38 to Blackburn, would cruise past the oval and toot the horn. ย People would often run on the ground believing thatย the siren had gone.

ย 

I was there the day Barry Bourke took out Hudson. ย Hudson had 8 till half time. ย I reckon Barry ran 50 metres to take Hudson out. You can only wonder what the MRP would have done to him, if such an action happened today. ย We ended up winning that day, with Frankie Giampaolo kicked the winning goal from the goal square at the swimming pool end. ย Great memories.

I was there that day too: I very much doubt that we won....

And didn't Hudson fall over Bourke's leg???