Posted
11 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

That's an interesting stat - we were last in the league for I50 conversions, yet we were still able to win. Shows how far we've come in terms of how often we can get the ball into our forward line.

If we can lift that rate then we will not only belt the Bombers tomorrow arvo but certainly win more games than we did last year as well.

A turnaround from last year - didn't we rate high on conversions of rare I50's?

Posted
5 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I was surprised they dropped Bird and Simpkin. Both senior bodies with experience who could give the kids a chop out.

I mean they have named Parish as rover and he has to come up against the likes of Jones Viney Oliver Brayshaw and Vandenberg......

they have a big rebuild in front of them,  they want the players to be very competative, but they will ensure they have the very first pick in November,  so early season qualifying is crucial to them..... sssshhhh.   

Don't tell their players tho.   That will spoil the show.

Posted
16 hours ago, Sylvia Saint said:

I'm not as confident as others. It's still just 22 blokes vs 22 blokes with a scoreboard that starts at 0.0.0 vs 0.0.0. We lost to them twice last year and both times the swagger on here leading up to it was exactly the same. They also beat Carlton by 10 goals not long ago. I think we'll win but anything can happen. If you offered me a 4-5 goal victory now I'd gleefully accept it.

If Daniher kicks 5.0 again I'll [censored] lose it. Hate that [censored].

rubbish. We look a lot better as a side now, than we did last year which is precisely why the swagger. Also the game last year vs the Bombers was their proper lineup not this top-up garbage so of course we should be more confident now.

Posted
13 hours ago, jnrmac said:

Interested in seeing Lumumba now that we have  team that will run and spread.

I reckon half of his problem in past years is that he gets the ball and takes off, realises there is no-one to kick it to down field and then he doubles back running around in a circle.

With our new game plan and belief in the ball carrier he may well do some exciting things and be back to his best. 

very good call

Posted
13 hours ago, jnrmac said:

Interested in seeing Lumumba now that we have  team that will run and spread.

I reckon half of his problem in past years is that he gets the ball and takes off, realises there is no-one to kick it to down field and then he doubles back running around in a circle.

With our new game plan and belief in the ball carrier he may well do some exciting things and be back to his best. 

Nailed it.

There was a reason Roos went after him, a reason he didn't change his game style and a reason he's selected every week when fit.

He's teaching the kids to run, unfortunately he has had to do it the hard way by showing them and his own game suffering for it.

Fixed ankles and a more attacking game style and I'm expecting a much better year from H.

Posted
22 minutes ago, steve_f said:

Much too short.

Hopefully we are foxing and Dunny comes in for a injury.

“With their (Essendon) forward line, we opted to go for a running defender, rather than a tall with Dunny. They do have a pretty small forward line and that might change next week, because we’re playing North Melbourne and they’ve got some bigs and it’ll depend on form [as well].

Source

Posted
13 hours ago, Brian Wilson said:

I'm looking for a four quarter effort. It's a cliche but we haven't done it yet this year. I'd prefer to win each quarter by a goal or two than have one eight goal quarter.

Also, I think we need to get more out of Salem. He isn't getting enough of the ball; perhaps we can unleash him on a wing for a quarter or two. 

four eight goal quarters please

Posted

I don't think I've ever wanted us to win a home and away game this badly.

I have this horrible sinking feeling that they'll jump us at the start and we'll struggle to fight back.

The first 10 minutes will be vital - Hold firm against a bunch of no-hopers who'll be playing like their lives depend on it, and then absolutely bury them after that. 

Posted
17 hours ago, Deestroy All said:

Can you ever post without having a dig at everyone that posts here?

Wow, from you, did u blush when typing that  public board  suck it up sweetheart, astonished that hate is used on this board so often such a destructive word,  this is only footy

Posted
55 minutes ago, Scythe said:

I don't think I've ever wanted us to win a home and away game this badly.

I have this horrible sinking feeling that they'll jump us at the start and we'll struggle to fight back.

The first 10 minutes will be vital - Hold firm against a bunch of no-hopers who'll be playing like their lives depend on it, and then absolutely bury them after that. 

This, by around 145pts might even up the ledger...

Posted

I like this team...and still have room and avenues for improvement.

Very very confident .

Bombers coming in with there stick phat stuff

Well reply with STICK THAT !!

go Dees ;)

Posted
2 hours ago, sue said:

Number 1 I believe...

Posted
17 hours ago, Deestroy All said:

Can you ever post without having a dig at everyone that posts here?

4 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

Wow, from you, did u blush when typing that  public board  suck it up sweetheart, astonished that hate is used on this board so often such a destructive word,  this is only footy

DA, it seems that the answer to your question is "no".

Posted

9 pages on a game without contest. 

Looking forward to next week when we play North. They have a fwd line with Waite, Brown and Petrie. Dunn or Frost must come back in. Who did Garland play on last year?

Posted
51 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

9 pages on a game without contest. 

Looking forward to next week when we play North. They have a fwd line with Waite, Brown and Petrie. Dunn or Frost must come back in. Who did Garland play on last year?

What is the opposite of MFCSS I wonder?

Posted
1 minute ago, sue said:

Hawthorn

Posted

I have this feeling that the bombers will have an emotion boost in the first 5-10min, they'll attack the footy with with as much desperation they have available and I feel like all we need to do is match them at that and they'll tire themselves out. 

We then need to put scoreboard pressure on and hopefully sap them of emotion, from there I think the script will write itself. BUT I can see them getting a little jump on us so this has the potential to test the character of the boys. They answered well last week, I'm backing them to answer well again. 

Posted
4 hours ago, sue said:

Lower the I50 count the higher the conversion rate, usually because the i50s are to an open forward line rather than when we get repeat i50 and the opposition is already back. As we get better around the ground expect conversion to go down (hopefully a little better than last week but still will be worse than recent years).

This is not necessarily a bad thing being around the middle of the pack conversion rate and I50s by the end of the year is probably a good result for us.

Posted
1 hour ago, sue said:

The opposite of MFCSS is apparently MFCSS. The prescribed medication is also the same for both disorders. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Skuit said:

The opposite of MFCSS is apparently MFCSS. The prescribed medication is also the same for both disorders. 

the disease is also known as 'demontia'* and its only known cure is premiership points

* credit to whoever made that up, I forget

Posted

FWIW Cooney didn't train at all for Essendon today and just watched from the sidelines while Goddard and Langford did very little work today.