Posted

I am well aware that we don't need to "Rush" players into playing footy and we all know that throwing a player in the deep end under done doesn't end well.

BUT.

With yesterdays fanfare and optimism behind us we are all looking to next week.

We play a very depleted Essendon outfit that holds more VFL regulars than the Box Hill Hawks.
So my question is do we play Petracca?

Some Points...
- He won't be thrown in the deep end against an Eagles, Hawks, Swans outfit.
- This team althogh not to be taken lightly (Like any game) are midway between AFL and VFL at best.
- If we are going to throw him into a Casey game anyway, might as well put him in a game where we are odds on favourite.
- MCG debut.
- All reports from here, and other training reports suggest that not only was he excellent on Friday at the intra-club/praccy, he was well and truly a cut above the rest (Worth noting that this was in a team with Brayshaw and Lumumba)

Just an interesting conversation topic and would love your guys opinions.

I think we should throw him in and see how he takes it.

Posted

Assuming he can run out the game I'd get him in asap. I know Roos generally doesn't make many changes especially after a win butgettibf Petracca and Brayshaw back in is a must.

Posted (edited)

I would, but I'm unprofessional and just want to entertain myself. 

But the club won't. 

We already have Oliver only playing 58% game time. Petracca would be the same or less, can't afford that.

He's just not ready, needs fitness and to earn his way in. Sadly. 

Edit ps. It'll probably be at one of our home games too. 

Edited by Deestroy All
  • Like 16
Posted

My heart says yes but my head says no. He's coming back from a knee reco, and imo I reckon needs at least one game to feel the confidence back in his body. I think he'll come in when he's ready regardless of who it is we're playing

Posted

Definitely not Round 2

Not down in Tassie no one deserves that to debut

Hopefully Round 4

Posted

Yep can't carry two guys with minimal game time. So either he would come in for Oliver or he waits til he can run out the game. Can't imagine he'd be too far off that though probably needs to prove it for Casey.

Posted (edited)
20 minutes ago, Barney Rubble said:

Definitely not Round 2

Not down in Tassie no one deserves that to debut

Hopefully Round 4

I reckon they've highlighted this game as well. Misson mentioned on his injury report before Round 1 that Petracca was about four weeks off. I'd say, all things being well, they've pencilled in a Round 4 debut. Definitely won't debut this week and if he does, that means the FD are going back on what they said, which could well spell unprofessionalism. I trust our current FD, so he won't play until at least Round 4.

Edited by AdamFarr
Posted (edited)

Let him play some games at Casey. No use throwing him in against Essendon when we've got to try and fit in Dunn, Brayshaw,etc.

Edited by Left-Field
Posted

My guess : Round 5 - Anzac Day Eve vs Tigers as we'll be at home and live on prime time TV on a Sunday night with a decent crowd.

I feel it would be unlikely they would debut him any earlier and after the Tigers we are at Etihad and Metricon until we are back to play the Bulldogs at the G in May.

Posted
7 minutes ago, demon9 said:

As long as it's not Queen's bday...

If he debuts on QB there is more chance he will bully the Collingwood players.

Posted

Please.  Guy is coming off a knee reco and a broken toe, and we want to throw him straight into an AFL game having not even played a full scale practice game?!   Performing in a 30 minute match simulation at training doesn't count.  And I reckon whoever got dropped for him would be filthy given they'd earnt their spot through pre-season performances in games

Posted
25 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Assuming he can run out the game I'd get him in asap. I know Roos generally doesn't make many changes especially after a win butgettibf Petracca and Brayshaw back in is a must.

Hasnt even played a game anywhere yet.

In fact he hasnt played a game since TAC Cup 2014.  Hes at least a month away from debuting.

Posted

No. 

Petracca plays at least 2 VFL games unless he does a Judd and tears the VFL to shreds.

I'm thinking round 4. Hopefully, by then we are 2-1, Brayshaw and Dunn are both in the team and both Trengove and Petracca join him. AGAINST THE PIES and we [censored] them!!!

Posted
2 minutes ago, Coup Cooper said:

No. 

Petracca plays at least 2 VFL games unless he does a Judd and tears the VFL to shreds.

I'm thinking round 4. Hopefully, by then we are 2-1, Brayshaw and Dunn are both in the team and both Trengove and Petracca join him. AGAINST THE PIES and we [censored] them!!!

Where did I last hear about us having a leading draft pick debut on the MCG against Collingwood?

It's possible but Round 5 sounds more likely if all goes well for Petracca.

My guess is they'll be a little more conservative with JT given what he's been through.

Posted

In three years time, will we care if we debuted Petracca this week, next week or the week after? No, so let's just take our time.

Posted

So people want to see him in the side on the back of what was little more than a training session with primarily Casey players. Fools.

I want to see him for the next ten years, not the next ten minutes

He'll play when the club thinks he's fit, in form and ready

Posted

Would love to see him this week, but realistically it looks like it will be Round 4 against the Scum, bring it on.

It will be a debut to end all debuts.

Collingwood are on the ropes, time to land the knock out punch with Petracca.

Can you imagine Petracca BOG in his debut and having a win against Collingwood. Bang!!!

Posted

Round 6 vs St Kilda at Etihad.

1 half and 3 full games for Casey is reasonable considering he's a 19 year old kid who's been out of the game for a year. We need fit and firing players for key games against Collingwood and Richmond.

Posted
6 hours ago, Tex said:

Can you imagine Petracca BOG in his debut and having a win against Collingwood. Bang!!!

No