Should we have a night Grand Final?  

28 members have voted

Posted

The article below (pasted from the AFL Website) offers arguments for and against a Night Grand Final commencing 2017. Considering the fact that this may well be the year of Melbourne's first tilt at the flag for 53 years, what do other Demonlanders think of the idea? Personally I am an advocate for the NO vote and cannot fault Matt Thompson's reasoning (though I am hardly likely to stay away whatever time we play)!

Is 2017 the right time for a twilight/night Grand Final?

Matt Thompson and Adam Curley
December 26, 2015 3:00 PM

2015 Toyota AFL Grand Final - Hawthorn v West Coast

Is a night Grand Final all about the fireworks?

No

THIS argument doesn't have to be about tradition, it doesn't have to be about TV ratings and it certainly doesn't have to be about fireworks. 

The new broadcast agreement which begins in 2017 offers the chance to introduce a twilight or a night Grand Final, but this is an argument about common sense. What is the point of sitting around all day waiting for the game? What would everyone do? 

Can you imagine being a player, sitting around until 7.50pm to play the biggest game of your life? 

Not to mention the wait for fans. If a champagne breakfast turns into a beer-fuelled Saturday session at the pub, you're going to end up with a whole lot of heavily boozed people on the streets of Melbourne, and that's before the game. 

Anyway, for the sake of the argument, let's go through those other points and dispense with them as well.

Everyone who wants a night Grand Final talks about fireworks and the accompanying entertainment. But all of this is surely a sideshow to the main game, which is the game.

The biggest argument for a switch is primetime TV ratings. Who really cares? Why does it matter? Everyone who's even mildly interested watches the game anyway. The ratings system is relatively flawed and doesn't take into account the millions of people watching collectively at pubs and barbeques across the country.

I don't want the Grand Final to remain during the day because of tradition, I want it to stay in the afternoon where it's where it makes sense.  

As it stands, it's perfect – Grand Final breakfast, game in the arvo, celebrations at night. 

There's simply nothing to be gained from bouncing the ball at night. - Matt Thompson

Sam Mitchell shares the premiership joy with his children. Picture: AFL Mediamitchell_kids.jpg

Yes

THIS isn't just the right time to introduce a twilight/night Grand Final to footy fans around Australia … it's overdue.

Traditionalists will argue there's no need to change the biggest day on the footy calendar, but it's wrong to stop our great game from taking yet another step forward.

Our code has undergone some significant transformations over the past 20 years, leading the way with its stance on racism and becoming the most multicultural code in Australia by welcoming anyone who wants to play. Such things have transformed the AFL into a 21st century phenomenon.

Forget the talk about it being better with fireworks and the like. AFL Grand Final day is about the game, and a twilight/night event changes nothing apart from some of the playing conditions.

Some will say that we shouldn't make the players wait around all day for the biggest game of their lives, but they're professional athletes who are used to playing twilight/night fixtures, and most play them more often than a traditional 2.30pm first bounce.

Players are more professional than ever so to suggest they'll be affected by a later game is absurd.

Lets also not forget that this is a national code, so a later start time allows those in Western Australia – remember that both Perth-based teams finished inside the top four last season and made preliminary finals – to start their day at a reasonable hour.

Our game has changed and the finale needs to move with the times as well. – Adam Curley

Posted

Tell me why a night GF will be better to watch?

Why will the TV stations get higher ratings in the evenings when the city already stops during the day?

I do not care about fireworks...

those YES arguements are very flimsy...

Posted

Change for the sake of change seems silly, i see no reason to think it would be an obvious improvement.

Posted

No

Posted (edited)

No.

The day flows from build-up to game to celebration seamlessly as it is. If it changed to a night time slot you would have a heap of drunken clowns at the game.

Edited by McQueen
Changed censored swear word.
Posted

Personally I much prefer a day GF but if they are going to change then they should change it to night not the half pregnant Dill the Likeable option of twilight.

Twilight is nowhere...

Posted

If anything I'd make it earlier in the day. Who wakes up on gameday before the grand final and goes: "Boy I wish this game were later."

Posted

Playing at night will not produce the best conditions for players its about the game right , the afl are a failure  when it comes to a spectacle anyways , our game dont need it . Games with less skill and entertainment value may need the razzle dazzle . Dont touch it afl , tradition , its what we do . 

Posted
21 hours ago, Chook said:

If anything I'd make it earlier in the day. Who wakes up on gameday before the grand final and goes: "Boy I wish this game were later."

That's a great idea. It would mean that Duh-Wayne Russell couldn't host the nth Melbourne brekky.

Posted

If I still live in the UK then Yes, the 5am wake up is a bit of a pain. With everyone else though, if Melbourne are in it I don't care when they play it. Although I probably would fork out for the trip home to watch it live when we do make it!