View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Delisted MFC players

Are we in a position to pay players out every year?

Thinking along same lines OD. Pretty sure if we were a power club with the coffers overflowing we would pay out Terlich & Jones in a flash

Terlich is contracted- so not an easy delist, obviously issues to work through with pay outs etc...

I think Matt Jones the same, although Matt Jones might stay depending on how trade week goes I think.

Of them I thought Fitzy may be kept as depth/insurance should some our tall stocks become thin. He certainly was no star, but I thought he played some reasonably good footy this year. I guess the tunnel ball marked his card, that and his average kicking.

So.. as I stated in another thread 2 weeks ago... 44 on the list.. in the final round we had

22 players PLUS

3 emergencies PLUS

9 injured/unavailable

which leaves TEN: M.Jones,Toumpas, King, Fitzpatrick, Riley, Terlich, Bail, McKenzie, Hunt and Jamar.

Wishing them all the best. I know they gave 100% but unfortunately just didn't have the required skill level.

Of those delisted, htf were they ever considered AFL standard players?

Jordie was a future 300-gamer according to Connolly.

Had some tremendous performances as a tagger. Obviously he was no Liam Picken though.

Best wishes to them all. They have at least played AFL football, a feat that most never achieve. To even make it onto an AFL list you have to be a very good footballer. To be a regular in an AFL side you need to be a great footballer.To be a star you need to be....well a star!. The fact is that very few blokes make it as far as these 4. They should be proud of their efforts and congratulated. It is not a time to bag players. They have done their best. Some are unlucky. Some for reason of ability, attitude or coaching decisions do not make it. However, they can always say they played in the big time. Not many can say that.

I knew Fitzy's papers were stamped the moment they gave up on him being a forward and sent him to the back line.

We have excess tall backs but were screaming out for a fwd/ruck.

Terlich back up for Grimes, Grimes back up for Salem.

Get rid of them both and play another mid who can kick the footy on the other flank.

White looks like he will step up so I reckon we need a back up for him and Salem.

If we have Grimes and 'H' then we will have it covered.

Best wishes to them all. They have at least played AFL football, a feat that most never achieve. To even make it onto an AFL list you have to be a very good footballer. To be a regular in an AFL side you need to be a great footballer.To be a star you need to be....well a star!. The fact is that very few blokes make it as far as these 4. They should be proud of their efforts and congratulated. It is not a time to bag players. They have done their best. Some are unlucky. Some for reason of ability, attitude or coaching decisions do not make it. However, they can always say they played in the big time. Not many can say that.

This kind of comment should be sent out to every demonlander who even thinks of sledging melbourne players. i once dreamt i ran on the ground for the mfc but unfortunately for me, could never get near the ball. at least i dreamt my dream.

So.. as I stated in another thread 2 weeks ago... 44 on the list.. in the final round we had

22 players PLUS

3 emergencies PLUS

9 injured/unavailable

which leaves TEN: M.Jones,Toumpas, King, Fitzpatrick, Riley, Terlich, Bail, McKenzie, Hunt and Jamar.

Says a lot about depth doesnt it.

Jordie was a future 300-gamer according to Connolly.

Had some tremendous performances as a tagger. Obviously he was no Liam Picken though.

Todd Viney also touted Sam Blease a star....

It is strange that Jordies disposal seemed to get worse over time. Maybe it was a confidence thing fuelled by incidents such as that horrendous missed goal from a few metres out.

Shame about PigDog - I think his problem was no tank.

Edited by chook fowler

22 players PLUS

3 emergencies PLUS

9 injured/unavailable

Of those 10 king is a keeper surely and I hope Hunt gets another year. The kid has leg speed and has been injured for most of his 2 year stint so far. If we got a decent trade offer for Toumpas you would take it, otherwise we might as well try one more year and hope he gets fit and builds some confidence in his ability to compete at the top level.

I thought it was between Fitzy or Spencer to get the chop,the others were predictable. Harmes and White will be upgraded,Hunt should be safe,KIng might get an upgraded if not a 3rd year as a rookie is highly unlikely. Terlich could be safe,GRIMES,WATTS and HOWE

should be done and dusted.

Are we in a position to pay players out every year?

No we're not, but its ridiculous that someone last year though he was worth re-signing for 2 more years.

I can see Fitz getting another opportunity elsewhere which I hope happens. May even come back to bite us. I wouldn't rule it out.

Would pay out Terlich. M Jones hanging on by the skin of his teeth. Depends on who we bring in.

First and foremost my thanks to the players for their contribution and having played AFL footy.

Reality is this is only the first round list submissions will be made a various times. This list was simple they were all out of contract and haven't been offered a new one. Howe is the exception as he is out of contract but does not yet appear to have been offered one?????

Theoretically any of the 4 could be re listed as a rookie (highly unlikely). This is a similar picture to last year and none of us saw Pickles and Dom retire. Then there are those who may get traded if another club shows interest. Early days....

Not AfL standard players...happens in all clubs... Though our culture & development environment pre roos era would not have helped...

Forgot to mention the 4 delisted are now"Delisted free agents "and can move freely to any other club wishing to pick them up.

Still out of contract besides Howe are Garland (RFA) so we can match any offer he fields, Toumpas, Pederson, Michie and Hunt. One can only assume that contract negotiations are ongoing and that these players still have currency and tradeability, but can be delisted at the second list lodgement.