Clintosaurus 7,953 Posted September 10, 2015 Posted September 10, 2015 It's a no from me - onfield is a massive [censored], the typical Essendon faux tough guy. 1 Quote
thevil1 421 Posted September 10, 2015 Posted September 10, 2015 He is the Essendon supporter whipping boy and for good reason. A turn over merchant in the Jack Grimes mould. Need I say more? Not fair on Grimes who is a billion times more courageous, & Grimes at least finds the footy enough to be called a turnover merchant, Milkshake barely touches it, a complete dud! I'm not worried, Goodwin would be in a the box seat to make this most obvious call...... No way! Cannot believe people here are using the argument that cause we are 'shallow' in the midfield he would be good for us. Replacing poo with poo is not an upgrade, I would rather pump games into our young core thank you very much!! Or even re-sign McKenzie, at least he can tackle! Lol Quote
thevil1 421 Posted September 10, 2015 Posted September 10, 2015 (edited) I disagree mate. Yes, Melksham has been disappointing the last 2-3 years but most Bombers have as it's been a toxic environment. But he obviously had/has some real talent if he was a top 10 pick. He's 25, hard, competitive, and was good enough to have 26 possessions this year against Hawthorn. Melbourne barely had 26 possessions as a team that day against Hawthorn when they flogged us by 20 goals without Hodge and Lewis. I think there is plenty for Roos to work with. Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't give much for him, but I can't understand why people are so opposed to a 25 year old midfielder with mongrel when we are so light on for a) midfielders, b) 22-26 year olds and c) mongrel. More dopey logic!!! Cale Morton & Sylvia were top picks too once upon a time, surely some of that blatantly obviously talent is still there too hey?? Ha!!!!P.S. We beat Geelong without Hogan too, so what's your point again? So Milkshake wracked em up against an opponent who paid him no respect, so bloody what? Edited September 10, 2015 by thevil1 Quote
beelzebub 23,392 Posted September 10, 2015 Posted September 10, 2015 Hes a condemned man...why is there even a discussion. Hes going on holidays shortly. Essendon and their guilty tribe can fester in their demise. only an idiot would deal with Ess. Can't understand for life of me why anyone has. Very poor investment. Quote
Adam The God 30,749 Posted September 10, 2015 Posted September 10, 2015 Not fair on Grimes who is a billion times more courageous, & Grimes at least finds the footy enough to be called a turnover merchant, Milkshake barely touches it, a complete dud! I'm not worried, Goodwin would be in a the box seat to make this most obvious call...... No way! Cannot believe people here are using the argument that cause we are 'shallow' in the midfield he would be good for us. Replacing poo with poo is not an upgrade, I would rather pump games into our young core thank you very much!! Or even re-sign McKenzie, at least he can tackle! Lol Don't really care how courageous someone is if they turn it over or put team mates under pressure every time they get it. Quote
Mach5 4,768 Posted September 10, 2015 Posted September 10, 2015 The bloke looks like the old hot tuna logo. 6 Quote
KingDingAling 3,758 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 On the AFL site it says we've put a 4 year deal in front of Melksham. Quote
Demons rising 52 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Goodwin would know him and be the one pushing him Hopefully he is a good judge 1 Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 What in the ........... I'm not a fan either mate, but we've shown ourselves to be shrewd in the trade market over the last few years. Might have to just trust them on this one and hope for the best if it's true. Quote
BAMF 4,487 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Oh no. I had a sneaky suspicion that Goodwin would rate him. The only thing worse than a home grown spud is an imported spud. 4 years... Sweet Jesus. I have really hope this isn't true. Poster boy of the ASADA scandal. 1 Quote
Members' Wing 1,106 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 On the AFL site it says we've put a 4 year deal in front of Melksham. Whereabouts? Can't see anything Quote
dazzledavey36 56,349 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Whereabouts? Can't see anything http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-09-11/trade-whispers-young-gun-close-to-staying-with-pies 1 Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Don't get why we would chase someone looking at a two year suspension (unless the clubs know something we don't, ie the players even if found guilty will get minimal punishment). Hell, I'd prefer us to rookie one of the Pies duo than any of the Dons 34 1 Quote
Demon Jack 7,196 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Bizarre....I'm sure the football department know what they're doing....but still...... Quote
BAMF 4,487 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Bizarre....I'm sure the football department know what they're doing....but still...... The football department is made up of a group of humans. Humans make a lot of mistakes. This is one of them. Check out this response from Essendon supporters http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/17-jake-melksham-offered-a-2-year-contract.655796/page-145 3 Quote
MadAsHell 4,217 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Not a fan at all. If true, given it's a weak draft it wouldn't bother me to much as long as it's no more then a 3rd round pick. But personally i don't want any of the Essendon 34. 1 Quote
ILLDieADemon 804 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Could use him as a depth player to get ride of some of our bad depth players we have at the moment eg. M.Jones? Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Trade for 4th round #65... thats his worth !! Quote
the fork 357 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 I generally don't claim to know much, but one thing I do know, and will go on the record as saying, is that Melksham is not a shadow of a footballer and I'll loose my [censored] if we trade him in. Quote
mo64 5,911 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 When I read that Melksham knocked back a 2 year deal at Essendon, I thought he's insane. When I read that we have offered him a 4 year deal, I knew we're incompetent. Ranks with Pederen's 3 year deal for stupidity. Quote
thevil1 421 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 I just can't see this happening. Partly cause I don't rate him but also cause he's not a FA, so gotta deal with the Dons who will probably start negotiations at pick 6 since he was a high pick himself with development (& injections)..... Even if they 'settle' for a 2nd or 3rd round pick, he's 4th rounder at best in a shallow draft imo, and if this is true geez I hope I'm wrong about this bloke. Yuck 1 Quote
Deestroy All 14,266 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Yeah nah. This would be the final straw. I watch Essendon almost every week due to my mates supporting them. And Melksham is a terrible footballer. Wouldn't give him 4 weeks let alone 4 years. 2 Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 It would go down as one of the greatest ever trading blunders in the history of professional sport if we pick him up. 2 Quote
Thehardtackler 785 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 I look forward to Melksham make a few people on here eat humble pie. I am sure that Goodwin can spot talent better than any of us Demonlanders! 1 Quote