Neitz the Great 557 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 Just been thinking to myself, everybody seems to be blowing up Jeremy Howe's OOC situation but very few people (on here or in the media) seem to be talking about Col Garland being OOC! Do people think that he'll stay and if so how much is he worth? In the form he's in I reckon he's worth around that $400,000 mark?
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 I think he's a greater priority than Howe. Hope he's not asking for $650k
Little Richard 6,265 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 I think he's a greater priority than Howe. Hope he's not asking for $650k Definitely. If he's asking for that much, let him go. But I do hope he signs on - he's a more important cog in the back six than most realise I think.
Ethan Tremblay 31,388 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 Definitely. If he's asking for that much, let him go. But I do hope he signs on - he's a more important cog in the back six than most realise I think. That said, if we don't sign a big fish for next season we could always front load his contract for the first year to keep him at the club.
Nasher 33,651 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 Just been thinking to myself, everybody seems to be blowing up Jeremy Howe's OOC situation but very few people (on here or in the media) seem to be talking about Col Garland being OOC! Do people think that he'll stay and if so how much is he worth? In the form he's in I reckon he's worth around that $400,000 mark? I don't think anyone is in the position to say how much he's worth; you can't do that unless you've got other players to compare it to. I really hope he stays, though. Not entirely sure why, but a vote of no confidence from Col would mean a lot more to me than it did from Frawley, Rivers, Moloney and Sylvia. Perhaps it's because it's because of his introverted, thoughtful personality type.
TeamPlayedFine39 8,525 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 He is a priority IMHO. Howe is a marketing boon for a club and the kids love him. Garland is much more valuable to our tem.
Demon Jack 7,194 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 If anyone is more deserving of some success, its Colin Garland. Let's just hope it's with us.
jnrmac 20,360 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 Well at least Col is back into some decent form which is more than can be said for the other bloke.
old dee 24,082 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 a keeper for me.Me too song but all the signs are that he wants to be elsewhere in 2016.Should we have traded last year?
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 PRIORITY TO KEEP !!! Colin Garland is a key to our future at CHB. LOYAL AND RELIABLE !!! Roos must convince him. 7 wins and he stays IMO. But I am nervous.
Earl Hood 6,167 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 If anyone is more deserving of some success, its Colin Garland. Let's just hope it's with us. Agree let us sign him up ASAP. As for Howe his value is declining with every game he shows up for. I avoided using the word play because that is what he is not doing this year. And I bet a lot of it has to do with his determination to put off talks so he can concentrate on his footy as they all say. Well it is wrecking his game this year. Garland though I hope we are talking turkey.
demoniac 1,337 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 If we can generate AFL level inside 50s to a forward line with Hogan, Garlett, Kennedy - Harris etc then Howe will be a key player. Not many back flankers will enjoy defending him. Hope Good Col stays and that he enjoys some team success with us.
titan_uranus 25,252 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 Me too song but all the signs are that he wants to be elsewhere in 2016. Should we have traded last year? What signs are those?
dee-luded 2,959 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 Agree let us sign him up ASAP. As for Howe his value is declining with every game he shows up for. I avoided using the word play because that is what he is not doing this year. And I bet a lot of it has to do with his determination to put off talks so he can concentrate on his footy as they all say. Well it is wrecking his game this year. Garland though I hope we are talking turkey. Howe'y is playing like his foot is pointing out the door. >> thata wayz >> gws?? suns?? blues?? sheill we let him go, or is he a keeper, I'm hard prestia'd to make a call on this; guess I'll just have to have a bit of a yarr'n to my in the know mate, to see w'ats up?
Dockett 32 1,239 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 Handy "above average" footballer on his day. Decent bloke to boot. You cant have too many of those can you?
Adzman 2,154 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 Garland is easily in our best 22. An important player. I do wonder if he will look elsewhere given how tough it's been down back for the dees after the last few years. I can't imagine anyone enjoying that.
The Song Formerly Known As 6,479 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 Handy "above average" footballer on his day. Decent bloke to boot. You cant have too many of those can you? 1or 2
whatwhat say what 23,836 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 If we get a pick tied to our second round pick - so 20-25 - I'd probably let him go, and wish him luck that he can play in a premiership. As I said in the Lumumba thread, we have too many players who have third tall roles.
deanox 10,070 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 Tradable. He is best 22. But if we can trade him for a player, or for a pick which is on traded for an experienced player (maybe as a package) that nets us a starting 6 midfielder then I'd take that. He isa solid player and part of the starting team but the back line is well stocked with a couple coming through. The midfield is undermanned.
TeamPlayedFine39 8,525 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 Tradable. He is best 22. But if we can trade him for a player, or for a pick which is on traded for an experienced player (maybe as a package) that nets us a starting 6 midfielder then I'd take that. He isa solid player and part of the starting team but the back line is well stocked with a couple coming through. The midfield is undermanned. Unfortunately he's a free agent so we won't be able to trade for him. With that said, we don't have another player to take his place. He can play tall or small, shut down or attacking. (Been a favourite of mine since 2008 when he and Aussie were our only 2 shining lights)
TeamPlayedFine39 8,525 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 And he's taken the resting mid-fielder when they've gone forward- exemplifying his versatility.
RalphiusMaximus 6,112 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 Tradable. He is best 22. But if we can trade him for a player, or for a pick which is on traded for an experienced player (maybe as a package) that nets us a starting 6 midfielder then I'd take that. He isa solid player and part of the starting team but the back line is well stocked with a couple coming through. The midfield is undermanned. Sadly, this is about right. I'd love him to sign up with us again. He's a great bloke and on his day he's a really good defender. If he could find his best form more often I'd rate him a priority, but as it stands he's one who is very keepable, is an asset to the side, but wouldn't hurt us too badly if we were to trade him for a quality player.
Adam The God 30,714 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 I don't think anyone is in the position to say how much he's worth; you can't do that unless you've got other players to compare it to. I really hope he stays, though. Not entirely sure why, but a vote of no confidence from Col would mean a lot more to me than it did from Frawley, Rivers, Moloney and Sylvia. Perhaps it's because it's because of his introverted, thoughtful personality type. I thought it might be because he's a fellow Tasmanian. Meanwhile, the argument that Howe is a marketing goldmine doesn't hold water for me. If we trade him for a first rounder, we can get a midfielder who the kids can love just as much. Oh and winning will do the trick too.
olisik 4,060 Posted June 3, 2015 Posted June 3, 2015 Bleeds red and blue and has for years. Hope he signs and sees success in the red and blue as he damn well deserves it