Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Some "Wines" mature early!

picket fence

Some Wines mature exceedingly well and quickly! Just like the "Ollie" variety!

Particularly in cut and trust "Finals" Pressure!

Named in BEST, 2 Crunch goals,

An irresistable package!

Hnmmmm, not a bad player!

Clearly Jimmy Toumpas' inability to match Oliver Wines' performance in crunch finals is down to his soft-as-marshmallow attitude and general crapness. The fact that Melbourne finished 12 wins short of a finals berth has nothing to do with anything.

Point?

The point would be he could have been a Dee with his mate .

Wines was always going to have a good year. Physically he was ready to go.

Instead we chose Toumpas, who recruiters still say is more skilled, but not physically built yet.

Yeah sure some Wines mature early, but most good wines take time and patience. We didn't choose him, Toumpas will be good, get over it.

Clearly Jimmy Toumpas' inability to match Oliver Wines' performance in crunch finals is down to his soft-as-marshmallow attitude and general crapness. The fact that Melbourne finished 12 wins short of a finals berth has nothing to do with anything.

your harping on about finals dilutes your rhetoric .

Its about ability to play period. That Wines can not only play well in finals but excel only heightens the disparency.

The comparison again,as you seem intent on ignoring is one is quite accomplished already and the other isnt. Might be in a few years ; who knows and that again reinforcss the difference .

Edited by belzebub59

The point would be he could have been a Dee with his mate .

Hindsight is great, especially when evaluating the wisdom of draft selections.

Jack Viney was a good mate of Wines, but he also stated that Toumpas was an outstanding footballer - one of the best he'd seen.

My take on that is that Toumpas should be selected before Wines.

Wines, while performing admirably, has benefited from having a good group of on-ballers to work with. Compare them with our lot.

I have every confidence that Paul Roos will develop the skills that Toumpas obviously possesses and will make him an outstanding footballer. Might I be cheeky enough to suggest a Robert Flower like one?

The mods must be spending half their time shutting down Ollie Wines threads.

It's time to get over it. We may lure him home in the future once we're a good side, who knows. For now he's a Port player and he seems pretty chuffed about it. Move on.

But he isn't so move on.

This has been covered in the finals thread.

Not to mention fifty other threads. There is absolutely no point at all wallowing in what could have been with Wines.

Maybe in a few years Toump will be a much better player and the people on here torturing themselves with dreams of what could have been will be consuming their humble pie. I for one can't wait to see what Toumpas can do next season after a Paul Roos preseason.

No hindsight needed. There was a choice.

many viewed Wines the handier player. Supposed knowing pundits had Toumpas rating betting as hed played mens footy with silky skills.

Always these "silky skills" !!

Toumpas has a long way to go. Wines already there.

Good picking Dees

Edited by belzebub59

Some Wines mature exceedingly well and quickly! Just like the "Ollie" variety!

Particularly in cut and trust "Finals" Pressure!

Named in BEST, 2 Crunch goals,

An irresistable package!

Hnmmmm, not a bad player!

AFL website doesn't have him in the best.

Judgement should be made in 3-4 yrs as to JT vs OW.

No hindsight needed. There was a choice.

many viewed Wines the handier player. Supposed knowing pundits had Toumpas rating betting as hedge played mens footy with silky skills.

Always these "silky skills" !!

Toumpas has a long way to go. Wines already there.

Good picking Dees

Come on BB, try and look on the bright side. If you forget about Wines for a moment the rest of the 2012 draft was our best in a long, long time and we (arguably) drafted better than any other club last season. To have guys like Viney, Kent, Terlich and M Jones playing almost every game and finishing high in the Bluey is a great result. Add to that Hogan, I think we'll be looking back on 2012 as an excellent draft year.

Toumpas also played some very handy games himself.

and some wines wither without coming to ripeness if that how somw wish to have it.

We lack mids , hard at it goers. Stupid to have passed on one

Its about ability to play period. That Wines can not only play well in finals but excel only heightens the disparency.

The comparison again,as you seem intent on ignoring is one is quite accomplished already and the other isnt. Might be in a few years ; who knows and that again reinforcss the difference .

It doesn't reinforce anything other than the fact that Oliver Wines is currently the better player. Taken in isolation, Melbourne made a mistake. But the fact that Toumpas supporters can't point to any evidence of him being a better player is not an indication of anything yet; the sample size of games is simply too small.

Recruiters do not have the job of picking the player who will perform best in their first year; their job is to pick the best long-term prospect. That may turn out to be Oliver Wines, but to say that Wines is "there" implies that the best that could be hoped for from Toumpas would be to match him. Did you ever stop to think that Wines is already at (or near) his best, while Toumpas' version of "there" is likely miles ahead of Wines'?

Had we made the reverse decision, what would you have said in five years time when Wines were Moloney Mk II and Toumpas were Scott Pendlebury the Second? "Oops. I guess I was wrong on that one. Maybe next time I won't blow my load so quick." I doubt it, since you be too busy complaining about the next long-term prospect we pick up.

Why?? Don't you like "Robust" insightful threads?

Ok I'll tell you the point, as so often in previous years, our most palpable need was again overlooked!

WE NEEDED STRONG BODIED MIDS!!

Question, what good is an outside mid when the inside mids can't get the agate?

Get It?

You're an absolute joke, bub.

You're now saying that Wines is better than Toumpas becuase he plays well in finals.

How the f**k do you know what Toumpas would be like in a final?

Stop whinging, stop crying, learn to move on.

Why?? Don't you like "Robust" insightful threads?

Ok I'll tell you the point, as so often in previous years, our most palpable need was again overlooked!

WE NEEDED STRONG BODIED MIDS!!

Question, what good is an outside mid when the inside mids can't get the agate?

Get It?

Lol insightful? Are you aware of the meaning of this word mate? There is nothing insightful about this thread.