View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Crowd at MCG next Sunday

Posted

Just wondering driving over from Adelaide next weekend for the game what sort of crowd do you think will be there considering possible debut of Viney, TOUMPAS, Dawes etc. would love to know if the TOUMPAS family are heading to Melbourne next weekend.if club flies in the parents for his first game you would think jimmy would probably know if he is playing or not . Hopefully crowd around 25 to 30 k.

First round of the year, it's at the G, we haven't lost yet and its potentially a winnable game. Plus Viney and the other new recruits.

I'd say somewhere between 15,000 and 20,000. I'd be very surprised if it were any large than that.

22,376 plus 2 :)

Flying over from Perth, have to see at least one game for 2013 where there is some hope of a win.

Really dont like feeling "alone" surrounded by feral Freo or WCE supporters at Subiaco..

Sucks watching your team get pumped and copping it from the morons in the crowd as well, at least at the MCG there is more red and blue to console with.

Flying down from Sydney with my son

Easter Sunday... Surely a lot of people will be heading away for the w/e. As long as we win I couldn't care if there is 10000 at the ground

Hoping to get a few extra for round one, but Easter Sunday could hurt us.

I wonder what the record crowd is for an Easter Sunday game at the G with an interstate team involved. (I suppose it'd have to involve Melbourne)

Very, very low 20s. Possibly high teens. In fact, it could be so bad that we could be ahead in the last quarter and still be disappointed when the crowd flashes up.

However, you make your bed you lie in it.

We've been woeful for so long that we can't expect that many people to be looking forward to the game. Hopefully the team takes that opportunity away from people this year by playing spirited, determined, tough footy - forcing people to come and watch the mighty red and blue once more!

Edit:

I'll do my own research.

Wow. Going back to 2000 (As far as I can get crowd figures) only once has a match been played on the G involving an interstate side on Easter Sunday.

2007 Rd 2 - Western Bulldogs v Adelaide (5:10 pm) 27,199 (both teams coming off finals campaigns)

I'd also forgotten that we often got the Easter Monday game - against the Hawks or Cats (who now own it).

Edited by 45HG

When I woke up this morning, the very first thought that drifted into my sleep-addled brain was that we're now coming into our seventh consecutive year of being a horrendous football side. That is honestly altogether too much, and it has definitely been reflected in our crowds.

They are giving away tickets to any member that has lapsed, so I guess they are desperate

And desperately hoping for a win, at that.

We will get 30 plus there no doubt. It's round 1 and believe it or not some can't wait to see the dee's play.

Correct mate!

I would also be surprised if there weren't more than 30 people there! :)

We currently only have 27K membership.

it is Easter Sunday so no way will all members turn up.

Playing an interstate side so a couple of thousand Port supporters.

I reckon around 18000

+2 ..... driving down from Canberra with the dearly beloved. Looking forward immensely to singing the Grand Old Flag a few hundred times.

I will be there but the MCC don't rate it and are offering multiple Pavilion passes to their members.

Still can't believe we've been handed a home game on Easter Sunday at 1:10pm at the G against a low drawing interstate side!!! Could've been worst - docklands.

Let's just say, I don't think I'll have any problem buying a pot at the Betty Cuthbert bar.

Might not be open Bbo!

+2 ..... driving down from Canberra with the dearly beloved. Looking forward immensely to singing the Grand Old Flag a few hundred times.

It will be a very long drive home Deeoldfart if the result is similar to last year.