View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Jurrah to Port?

We looked after him and cared for him because it was the right thing to do. Strong cultures and clubs are built on organisations that are tight knit and look after one another. The fabric we wove to support Liam will, hopefully, hold us in good stead for the future amongst the players that are there now and will come into the future.

We didn't look after him in the hope of getting compensation for him should he walk. We did it because it was the right thing to do.

Good on us. We can hold our heads up proudly and say that we did the utmost to help a member of our community and a member of our club.

His situation away from, and inside of (to a much, much lesser extent), football has indeed been very sad and I wish him all the best in his career and, more importantly, his life.

Hahahahahahahaha do you have ANY understanding of football? If you're scenario applied then any player could just walk club to club. Geez you ever heard of the "trade period" mate. Far out.

We and every other club delisted players like this

Freo delisted a guy that was still had a contract.

If you want to walk you can walk. Either the right way or the Judd - Tippett way

We looked after him and cared for him because it was the right thing to do. Strong cultures and clubs are built on organisations that are tight knit and look after one another. The fabric we wove to support Liam will, hopefully, hold us in good stead for the future amongst the players that are there now and will come into the future.

We didn't look after him in the hope of getting compensation for him should he walk. We did it because it was the right thing to do.

Good on us. We can hold our heads up proudly and say that we did the utmost to help a member of our community and a member of our club.

His situation away from, and inside of (to a much, much lesser extent), football has indeed been very sad and I wish him all the best in his career and, more importantly, his life.

Yeah that may be right but the thing which really disappoints me is that he couldn't even thank the club for those efforts you've outlined above.

Poor form.

Yeah that may be right but the thing which really disappoints me is that he couldn't even thank the club for those efforts you've outlined above.

Poor form.

I also would've liked him to thank the club for their efforts etc. and who know, perhaps that's something that he'll look back on in time and regret not doing.

I can't speak for him, but I can speak for how I see the club managing the situation and, I think, we did a very good job - the best we could've done.

I reckon Port are nuts for taking him on at the point he is at in his life, personally.

Anyway, I'm not hurt, disappointed, it doesn't leave a bitter taste in my mouth and so forth. I said at the time that I was relieved that this had ceased being our problem and my view hasn't changed. With my human being hat on I feel sad about how this panned out and disappointed it wasn't the fairy tale we thought it might be. With my Melbourne Football Club supporter hat on I'm completely non-plussed.

Do they have turtles in Yuendemu??

Not any more apparently and I know where they went.....

Well said. I hope Liam finds a way back into footy and his trial goes well for him.

In my view its the wrong focus to be worrying about picks given the terrible and sad circumstances Liam found himself in.

Its time that the AFL finds a way to help indigenous players to balance an AFL career with their cultural obligations.

A lot of people associated with our game can be proud of thier efforts so far but more needs to be done.

I feel compassion for Liam & the situation he is in. I have spent time in the Kimberley region, so have a tiny understanding for how life struggles on up there.

But i also feel short changed as a MFC suppoter & will be [censored] off if Liam Jurrah lines up for Port come round 1.

He was not a free agent so the Power should have given something for his service (if he is drafted).

For the right reasons we invested time & $$$ into Liam's welfare & our own understanding.

To be left with an empty locker i think is wrong.

From a footy perspective, he looks pretty unfit. Considering he was cramping up on the field for us on occasion, I don't know how much he'll have to offer Port. But come on guys, the game is bigger than "oh I wish we would've got compo."

Wish him luck!

We looked after him and cared for him because it was the right thing to do.

Great post, key point. I do have sympathy for those that feel aggrieved, it's a bit like your GF dumping you, it hurts, but you still treat her with respect, even though the green eyed monster is lurking, about her new BF.

Teased us with skills and flair not seen since the Wiz graced our forward line, I honestly thought he would be the next big thing in the AFL. The excitment when the ball entered his zone on the G was audible as supporters-even opposition supporters knew something magical was about to happen...

and then, like so many other times, us dee supporters have our hopes dashed and hearts stomped on. I don't care about the circumstances behind him leaving- he left. That at the end of the day is all the average supporter cares about. The fact that we helped him out so much and he literally walked out on us is just the cherry ontop of the shitcake.

I wish him all the best as I don't wish genuine ill-will on anyone, but I am really dissapointed with the way he walked out on us as we as supporters deserved a player of his talents to stay.

Good luck to him, I hope he kicks none in Round 1, 15 in Round 2 and ends up avoiding the clink.

For me he's not even rating 0.1% on the $cully Scale of treachery measurement.

Can I just say..

I dont care... not anymore..its over.. Couldnt give a flying fig about him. Its beyond yesterday now.

I m interested in MELBOURNE. The only passing interest i have in Port is by how much we toast them come 2013. And we WILL burn them !! They will be the 'example' . The NAB will be a little experimental and informative but Round one will be when we unleash HELL ( ver 2.0.13 )

Whether Liams playing or not I really dont care. Doubt it anyway .

Jurrah is soft as butter anyway, he'll play a few good games early,

but he's not mentally capable of playing full-time football.

He is mentally fragile with a body unable to cope with the rigours of AFL.

Without Jurrah it's a big improvement to our culture.

What a foolish and ignorant comment......

Or well educated....

He has a point. The leniency shown to Jurrah because of his circumstances is difficult at a footy club when the collective rule to behaviour applies.

Was never able to stay on the park and found the rigours of a regimented footy life hard to deal with.

ironic :unsure:

I reckon a few have short memories.....In 2011 was the clubs leading goal kicker in a fairly crap team....Has kicked 81 goals in 35 matches......Was a very exciting player that people would turn up to watch.....Had cultural problems that none of us would even hope to understand.......And had a ankle problem for most of this year.......Players now on our list would have been given a bit of leeway.....But as soon as you leave the club.....out come the knifes.......

And as for being mentally weak......I would like to see how you would get through the year he had and come up smelling like roses....

The MFC handled the, ENTIRE, Jurrah relationship, very, very well, MY hats off to all concerned.

Good luck to him.

In the end it was always a bit of a punt. We took a chance and it didn't work out. Move on - let the man deal with his issues and if he makes it back to footy, well, good luck to him.

He would have gotten in the way of Clark, Dawes, Pederson and Hogan anyway. He would have been in danger of being steamrollered every time the ball came inside 50. He's better off out of it.

Apart from your last sentence...you are smack on the money.