The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Posted (edited)

I will not blame you if you chose to go elsewhere at the end of the year, if you took your continued improvement to a team that will provide you with the opportunity to play and win finals before you are dead.

But let it be known, that if you leave, I will probably pack up my membership scarves and call it a day too.

Pretty certain Nathan would hate supporters thinking like this.

If this isn't raising the white flag I don't know what is.

The Demons will rise again.

And it will be on the shoulders of the likes of Jones.

Posted

Nathan Jones is the only reason that I still believe that players can develop at Melbourne. Our young players seem to start off playing well and stagnate but Jones seems to be the only exception. Would be good to see young players follow Jones' example in pre-season similar to what Lewis Jetta did with Kieran Jack this year.

Agree. He is leadership in action. Let's hope that the younger players can follow his example to develop a better culture, as well as better performance.

Posted (edited)

Pretty certain Nathan would hate supporters thinking like this.

If this isn't raising the white flag I don't know what is.

The Demons will rise again.

And it will be on the shoulders of the likes of Jones.

Jaded has probably "raised the white flag" about a hundred times this season. But she's also backed up and gone to the footy every week also. Sometimes her kind of "just shoot me and get it over with" humour can be a bit on the nose, but I guarantee that if Jones did leave, she and her scarf would be front row centre at the G in round one next year. Edited by Chook
Posted

Jaded has probably "raised the white flag" about a hundred times this season. But she's also backed up and gone to the footy every week also. Sometimes her kind of "just shoot me and get it over with" humour can be a bit on the nose, but I guarantee that if Jones did leave, she and her scarf would be front row centre at the G in round one next year.

You don't have to convince me of that.

Just don't like anyone with the "won't blame them if they go" attitude.

Posted

If anything this thread proves why we should hold onto plenty of our young players. 2 seasons ago Jones was a whipping boy around here...

Keep the faith

Posted

If anything this thread proves why we should hold onto plenty of our young players. 2 seasons ago Jones was a whipping boy around here...

Keep the faith

I bloody hope so. Would love to be reading about the love for Gys/Blease/Nicho and Evans in the next 24 months.

Posted

I've followed the Demons for more than 20 years and Jones is the most improved player I've known in that time. Russell Robertson improved massively in the middle of his career, but Jones is in a different league. The best thing is he's improved in every area: his kicking; his decision-making, his speed and more importantly use of acceleration, etc, etc.

It's probably unfair, but it's hard not to consider a player's value in reference to their draft pick.Jones was taken at 12; for a long time I thought he was more like a Pick 25 (and, for a short while, lower than that). Now I think 12 was an absolute bargain.

Posted (edited)

Not only another very good game today but just want to send out a personal appreciation.

Post siren when it came to giving out the footy's Jonesy spied my little boy with the number two on his back and made a beeline. Giving him the ball, a ruffle of the hair and some words of encouragement. A truly great moment in his short MFC life and the smile on his face was/is priceless.

Thanks Jonesy.

Ripping bloke and heart and soul player...

Edited by Grandson of a gun
Posted

Not only another very good game today but just want to send out a personal appreciation.

Post siren when it came to giving out the footy's Jonesy spied my little boy with the number two on his back and made a beeline. Giving him the ball, a ruffle of the hair and some words of encouragement. A truly great moment in his short MFC life and the smile on his face was/is priceless.

Thanks Jonesy.

Ripping bloke and heart and soul player...

That's absolute gold good on jonesy. Or should I say that's absolute silver as it seems we Australians really like silver at the moment.

Posted (edited)

. . . that's absolute silver as it seems we Australians really like silver at the moment.

Eff off with that BS. Your average Joe should feel honoured to even witness competitors good enough to get silver medals against the cream of the crop of the entire WORLD. Edited by Chook
Posted

Eff off with that BS. Your average Joe should feel honoured to even witness competitors good enough to get silver medals against the cream of the crop of the entire WORLD.

Yeah, just a joke mate.

Posted

Yeah, just a joke mate.

So is the ridiculous media coverage of the "failure" of our Olympics athletes, and the fact that your perpetuating this idiotic "Gold Medal or Bust" mantra just shows how sad the whole sporting journalism fiasco has become in Australia.
Posted

So is the ridiculous media coverage of the "failure" of our Olympics athletes, and the fact that your perpetuating this idiotic "Gold Medal or Bust" mantra just shows how sad the whole sporting journalism fiasco has become in Australia.

I agree mate but take it up with the journo's not me. Just a joke as i said. No where did i say in a joking or serious manner that a silver medal is a failure.To me being an olympian is a success.

Posted

I really don't wanna put a jinx on Jonesy so I am touching wood as I type. He could get to 300 games for the Dee's with his age and work ethic it could be done. I bloody hope so.

Posted (edited)

I agree mate but take it up with the journo's not me. Just a joke as i said. No where did i say in a joking or serious manner that a silver medal is a failure.To me being an olympian is a success.

I'm glad you think that way too. Edited by Chook
Posted

*touch wood*

A large collective knock can be heard across Australia now. Sorry guys.

Posted

I'm glad you think that way too.

I would never hang crap on any olympian from any country as i sit here eating dorito's and typing on my laptop.

Posted

The exchange between Chook and Cowboy is fantastic fodder for the "Culture" debate

For what ists worth I agree with both of you

BUT

and this is a joke

Ive never seen Ussain Bolt with a vacuum cleaner

and I just got silver for vacuuming the shop! Thought I done ok pb all that but the boss( amd we all know who SHE is) said it was not a Gold medal job. Oh well Ill just keep competing. Still reckon I can beat UBolt

Posted

I really don't wanna put a jinx on Jonesy so I am touching wood as I type. He could get to 300 games for the Dee's with his age and work ethic it could be done. I bloody hope so.

Yeah, I'm pretty excited over his form as well.

Posted (edited)

Keep the faith

Great point. He was consistently bagged and i recall quite a few posters saying he is would never be much better than a b grade plodder. He's not A grade - yet. If he keeps improving he will be and must be an amazing role model for the younger guys.

Our younger players all need a couple of years of hard training and development, after which we can better judge where they are at.

Three good examples are Gysberts, Strauss and Blease. All have great potential but have suffered from bad injuries and are not yet fit enough. It will be a real test of Neelds development skills to see where they are at in 2 years time.

The other one is Spencer. I was impressed with his efforts on the weekend. Big unit who is unlikely to reach his full potential for another 4-5 years as is the case for most ruckman (ie mid to late 20's). Three obvious examples being Jamar, Jolly and Maric. Spencer is a keeper.