View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

WELCOME TO THE MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB - JIMMY TOUMPAS

In the last day or two before the draft the early picks are usually known.

Not that I would complain if we did get him. His a Gun

More highlights of Jimmy Toumpas. Super impressive. http://draftmachine.afl.com.au/

A bit of Adam Cooney about his game.

Is it just me or is he a spitting image of Shaun Burgoyne?! Exactly what we need in my book; class, poise, pace, kicking penetration. He might not have a frenetic attack on the footy but he's hardly weak. I'm sick of seeing our blokes turn it over all the time, if he's around at pick 4 and given we've already got a hard as nails mid like Viney, we have to take him.

More highlights of Jimmy Toumpas. Super impressive. http://draftmachine.afl.com.au/

Not many contested highlights but his disposal is first class. Need a few of them.....

And that friends is my greatest fear!!

We need Wines Not Toumpas!

Huge mistake coming I feel!

Too many on this site have been seduced by run and carry

But have we the Grunt to get it out consistently to him??

My answer is a big NO

WINES WHO WILL STAY CLOSE TO THE VINES!

And that friends is my greatest fear!!

We need Wines Not Toumpas!

Huge mistake coming I feel!

Too many on this site have been seduced by run and carry

But have we the Grunt to get it out consistently to him??

My answer is a big NO

WINES WHO WILL STAY CLOSE TO THE VINES!

Jones , Viney , Trengove mckenzie will be the GRUNT you are looking for

Edited by Bates Mate

Toumpas has been all the rage of late, but the fact that up until a couple of days ago we were so in to Ollie Wines, could it be a case of the Club doing so much due dilligince on Wines because of the assumption that Toumpas would be top 3 that they may have already invested to much into Wines.. therefor it might be to hard to not pick Wines?

Thats the whisper this morning, Dogs are also in the same case with Wines, it has almost been a given that Wines was going to MFC that they have not really factored him into their consideration..

Draft Madness i know, thank god in a few hrs we will know!

THE USUAL YELLING AND CARRYING ON!!

Fixed.

I see what you mean, he can kick a goal very well.

The good thing about GWS having pick 1 2 and 3 is because they already have so meany young mid's they'll go for other positioned players and let what would normally be a second pick slide down to 4th.

Good for us I think.

Bump.

Hard to believe this thread was last seen on Aug 20 and found 5 pages back. With recent events this guy could very well come into the picture at pick 4, depending on GWS' recruiting. Recent weeks discussion has mainly centred around Wines.

Jack Viney named today Toumpas as a player to watch, speaking of his admiration for the way Toumpas prepared and went about his footy.

he named him ahead of his mate Wines? This could be a bit of insider trading or he really thinks Toumpas is as professional as he says he is in his preparation.

awesome for dees fans.

Toumpas has been all the rage of late, but the fact that up until a couple of days ago we were so in to Ollie Wines, could it be a case of the Club doing so much due dilligince on Wines because of the assumption that Toumpas would be top 3 that they may have already invested to much into Wines.. therefor it might be to hard to not pick Wines?

Thats the whisper this morning, Dogs are also in the same case with Wines, it has almost been a given that Wines was going to MFC that they have not really factored him into their consideration..

Draft Madness i know, thank god in a few hrs we will know!

There is no chance of this scenario. Our recruiters have been casting an eagle eye on Toumpas for the past two years and know his abilities and work ethic intimately.

We will pick the best player available at pick 4 and by all reports it's Jimmy T.

There is no chance of this scenario. Our recruiters have been casting an eagle eye on Toumpas for the past two years and know his abilities and work ethic intimately.

We will pick the best player available at pick 4 and by all reports it's Jimmy T.

Im sure you are right!

Todd would know him from his time in Adelaide and Jack has played with him so I think we will know what we are getting.

The only reason anyone would want Wines over Toumpas is because they thought we were going to draft him... So invested themselves in Oliver Wines.

Fact is, he was never, ever rated above Toumpas by anyone.

Don't get me wrong, I'll love Wines if we pick him, but Toumpas is a far greater prize.

The only reason anyone would want Wines over Toumpas is because they thought we were going to draft him... So invested themselves in Oliver Wines.

Fact is, he was never, ever rated above Toumpas by anyone.

Don't get me wrong, I'll love Wines if we pick him, but Toumpas is a far greater prize.

This.

It's possible, but it's negligence crossing the line of incompetence if it's the case. Given the "clean slate" nature of our current recruiting team I'll assume they're not morons and will pick the better player.

I like the way JT receives the ball in motion and delivers long into the forward line, to his forwards advantage. We need a couple of these types and the better skilled and hard they are the better.

Fingers crossed.

Viney to Jones to Toumpas ... kick long ... MITCH!

Sweet, sooo sweet...

"It seems like a great club and I'd be over the moon to go there."

Jimmy Toumpas keen to join 'awesome' Demons

Of course he'd be keen to join us, we are awesome and the alternative is a life, if you can call it that, in the West of Sydney.

I'm so torn, I love the idea of Wines but appreciate that Toumpas may be better, damn it.

Of course he'd be keen to join us, we are awesome and the alternative is a life, if you can call it that, in the West of Sydney.

I'm so torn, I love the idea of Wines but appreciate that Toumpass may be better, damn it.

I'm with you Rob...Love the attitude of Wines but the skills of Toumpas.........Who knows?????

I'm so torn, I love the idea of Wines but appreciate that Toumpass may be better, damn it.

Well really what you have there is a win-win right?

No matter what it seems we will be getting a great player for the future of the club.

Yes I think everyone should and would prefer Toumpas, but Wines is also a top player and we couldn't be upset with drafting him.

Wines is the 4th best player in the draft, Toumpas is 2nd or 3rd... So naturally Toumpas is a better result, but if we get the 4th best player at 4th? Then I am happy.

"It seems like a great club and I'd be over the moon to go there."

Jimmy Toumpas keen to join 'awesome' Demons

they my friends are the sensible words of an intelligent young lad who has been worded up that if youre there @ 4...youre ours.. capiche !!

And like others...why wouldnt you want to be at Melbourne as it reclaims its rightful place upon the mantle of this game..

""Stand clear of the doors please ....going up !! ""

Wines is the 4th best player in the draft,

That may not be accurate. It is rumoured that he will slip past the Dogs and that puts him at 7 at best and maybe lower. I think everyone from us down would take Toumpas if he was available.

I reckon on pure talent Wines would struggle to make top 10.

Big bodied inside mids are in demand, but you can usually find them later in the draft. Toumpas is top 5 from a class perspective and I don't think Wines is..