Posted

I ABSOLUTELY HATE the bugler and hope he is basnihed forever.

I don't see what he adds at all except the ability to totally deflate everyone right before the game. I actually find it down right embarrassing.

Is there a way we can make sure he never returns?

Posted

Dead right MrT. Everyone trying to shift the blame onto bugle-boy when we all know JW is to blame

Actually, has anyone seen Bugle Boy and Jack Watts in the same room at the same time?

I smell a conspiracy that goes all the way to the top.

Posted

bugle-boy should ditch the velvet smoking jacket and get a decent snow parka

and....if he wants to be like Joffa or Kennet cultivate an awful haircut or wear a wig

Posted

Does anyone actually like it?

If they do, I'm yet to meet them.

Posted

Geeez... The poor bloke is just trying to drum up some support....and posters on here bag the crap out of him....

Posted

Lets face it the Bugler boy is a flat track bully. Over the years I have been dismayed at how undisciplined and selfish he is. His crazy antics both on and off the field show no love for the jumper. I for one am sick and tied of his inability to follow the simplest sheet music. Send him back to band camp where he can find some much needed confidence and learn how man up.

Posted

i only saw him for the first time a week or so ago before the hawks game. The only decent aspect of his performace is that smoking jacket!!

Posted

Geeez... The poor bloke is just trying to drum up some support....and posters on here bag the crap out of him....

Surely he's not just doing it out of the goodness of his own heart...

If we're there the support has already been drummed.

Posted

You know you are going badly when the MRP gives your bugler 2 weeks. (I think he may have had carry over points from last years rendition of the theme from Rocky)

Posted

and....if he wants to be like Joffa or Kennet cultivate an awful haircut or wear a wig

The snow parka is a good idea ... with a ski-lift pass hanging from it.

In fact, he should be driven onto the ground in a spanking new white Range Rover with snowboard compartment on the roofrack.

Posted

Dr Gonzo and Range Rover have come up with outstanding ideas/suggestions. We should embrace the stereotype, in the same way European immigrants embraced the "W" word to disarm most of the negative connotations. And, yes, the bugle-boy should stay in the stands and lead the supporters into party-time when a win is assured... a bit like the fat lady singing. If he makes a wrong call then its 100 push ups in the centre circle after the teams and officials have departed. The angry female official who reported him last week would be employed to oversee this public humiliation.

Posted

Dr Gonzo and Range Rover have come up with outstanding ideas/suggestions. We should embrace the stereotype, in the same way European immigrants embraced the "W" word to disarm most of the negative connotations. And, yes, the bugle-boy should stay in the stands and lead the supporters into party-time when a win is assured... a bit like the fat lady singing. If he makes a wrong call then its 100 push ups in the centre circle after the teams and officials have departed. The angry female official who reported him last week would be employed to oversee this public humiliation.

If he's suspended can we replace him with a fat lady singing? Or is it more like a red card and we have to play one short?

Posted (edited)

This morning on SEN they were talking about our trumpeter. I was half asleep so I missed it but according to Demonology he has been suspended for being to long on the ground then being rude to an AFL official.

He has been suspended for 2 home games meaning he will miss the pies game. God I hope this is true.

It's like a dog riding a scateboard; we applaud not because it is done well but because it can be done at all.

Edited by Courtney_Fish

Posted

If its for the reason I'm suspecting, when I played at the hawks game a couple of weeks ago, they put the tune back a bit later to right before the bounce. The audio and tv guy told me I had about a minute and a half to fill and to play the song twice through.

As I was getting towards the end of the second rendition, the siren sounded and a lady from the AFL raced around the boundary

Waving at me to stop. As I was so close to the end I finished the song and came off. By that time she was showing her frustration to the guys from The Melbourne FC and the only words I spoke to her were that I had been told to play the song twice by the tv guy.

Posted

Good on you for coming on here mate - we do appreciate your support and I hope you don't take any of the comments on here personally because they're not directed at you.

I'm I right in saying that you began your "bugling" life at the MFC as a member of the crowd who let rip with it when we had a game in the bag and the club jumped on it and made it into the pre-match spectacle? Or is my memory deceiving me?

Posted

If its for the reason I'm suspecting, when I played at the hawks game a couple of weeks ago, they put the tune back a bit later to right before the bounce. The audio and tv guy told me I had about a minute and a half to fill and to play the song twice through.

As I was getting towards the end of the second rendition, the siren sounded and a lady from the AFL raced around the boundary

Waving at me to stop. As I was so close to the end I finished the song and came off. By that time she was showing her frustration to the guys from The Melbourne FC and the only words I spoke to her were that I had been told to play the song twice by the tv guy.

Good on you mate for having a crack.

if that over-officious git from the AFL ever approaches you on the field again you have our permission to bugle as loud as you can into her face.

We'll all give you a standing ovation.

Posted

Good on you for coming on here mate - we do appreciate your support and I hope you don't take any of the comments on here personally because they're not directed at you.

I'm I right in saying that you began your "bugling" life at the MFC as a member of the crowd who let rip with it when we had a game in the bag and the club jumped on it and made it into the pre-match spectacle? Or is my memory deceiving me?

Its all good mate, we know that it's not everybody's cup of tea :)

There's actually a couple of us who play at the games and Im the stand in

when the main chap can't do it. I'm not entirely sure where the club got the idea from

but there may be a connection to "Billy the Barmy Army Bugler" who made a name for

himself here back in about 2006 at the ashes (I actually studied with him at music college in London)

The MFC liked the idea and got in contact with the main "Bugler" not long after that and I think he started

Back in about 2007, (I won't name him online out of respect for his privacy) but he's a very fine Melbourne musician

who has played at an extremely high level both orchestrally and in the jazz world.

We both certainly have a ball doing the games anyway!

Posted

I'm fascinated by the universal dislike towards the bugler. Is the reason everyone hates him because he is reinforcing a stereotype we supporters don't like or identify with? That is certainly the reason I don't like him.

Posted

I'm fascinated by the universal dislike towards the bugler. Is the reason everyone hates him because he is reinforcing a stereotype we supporters don't like or identify with? That is certainly the reason I don't like him.

Same here, just don't like the image. But tell ya what, the players could learn from him, as someone who has played brass instruments I can tell you that banging out that tune outside in the freezing cold under that much pressure is a super tough gig, the guy has chops and a fair bit of balls to nail it every time.

Posted

As a Pom, a cricket fan, and a trumpet player I can understand

given recent sporting events. However, having grown up in pommy land in a time when

going to football (soccer) often wasn't a family option due to the idiocy of fans and their violent nature, I never got to enjoy the whole experience of a great family day out at the footy watching my team. In this country, and this code however I've always found it to be a fantastic event where the whole family gets involved from newborn to senior and is a wonderful part of Melbournes city lifestyle. If some twit in a velvet smoking jacket can add a bit to the sense of occasion and team pride then play on I reckon :)