The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Take a Bow Jonesy

Bobby McKenzie

Posted

Congratulations to Jonesy, one of the players who brought it home yesterday.

Here, here. Although I'm sure the naysayers will have started a thread to get him dropped. I reckon he was great yesterday.

• Replies 107

Posted

Yeah it means nothing. You're kidding yourself. It is an accurate reflection of whether his disposals actually went were they were meant too.

No one said he is a star. No one is professing he is a star. No one is saying he is the next Chris Judd or will carry Melbourne on his shoulders to a flag.

He is honest. And he works a hell of a lot harder and generally provides more for the Demons than many do or will ever give him credit for because everyone needs to have a whipping boy...

No it is not. It merely tells you if and when a disposal went near a team mate.

It does not tell you if that team mate was under pressure. Or the right option. Or forward or backward of the player. Or 50 metres away, or 5 metres away. Its meaning is not anywhere near as profound as you think it is.

I never said anyone said he was a star. Just re-inforcing the fact that he is a limited footballer whose best is not as good as people are making it out to be.

Posted

Good solid game by chunk today. Made two obvious clangers today but was happy with the other 25-odd disposals. If Bennell or Jetta had played that game, half the posters on this site would've creamed themselves and predicted superstardom. Everyone's happy to take pots at Jones when he deserves it, less are happy to give credit where its due.

Apologies if that makes me a "poor watcher of football".

Posted

No it is not. It merely tells you if and when a disposal went near a team mate.

It does not tell you if that team mate was under pressure. Or the right option. Or forward or backward of the player. Or 50 metres away, or 5 metres away. Its meaning is not anywhere near as profound as you think it is.

I never said anyone said he was a star. Just re-inforcing the fact that he is a limited footballer whose best is not as good as people are making it out to be.

Most of his possessions yesterday hit targets, and while he was under duress. He stood up in tackles and was able to either deliver a telling handpass or break clear and get a kick away, usually hitting a target. I thought that he and Moloney were easily our best.

Yesterday he tempered his natural instinct to play over-attacking attacking kamikaze footy and played more instinctively and fired out the quick handpass when it was required.

Every team needs a strong and courageous presence around the footy, Jones gives us that. Ball and Kirk are two players he could become as good as, both premiership players and both of high value to thier teams.

Posted
??????????????? Can't you read? LOL

When I read this I wished I couldn't.

What exactly are you getting at?

Posted

Most of his possessions yesterday hit targets, and while he was under duress. He stood up in tackles and was able to either deliver a telling handpass or break clear and get a kick away, usually hitting a target. I thought that he and Moloney were easily our best.

Yesterday he tempered his natural instinct to play over-attacking attacking kamikaze footy and played more instinctively and fired out the quick handpass when it was required.

Every team needs a strong and courageous presence around the footy, Jones gives us that. Ball and Kirk are two players he could become as good as, both premiership players and both of high value to thier teams.

Dandeeman, some of us are wasting the skin on our fingertips, by posting in defence of Nathan Jones. Why don't we just give up, roll over, and finally accept that his 27 disposal, 81% effectiveness, contested ball winning, superior goal assisting, leadership showing game yesterday was a wild and over-imagined figment of our rose-tinted Jonesy addled brains. He is a C-grader at best, rubbish with his decision making and disposal, and probably should see out his career massaging the feet of those better than him.

Posted

When I read this I wished I couldn't.

What exactly are you getting at?

Please re-read my original post CAREFULLY and tell me where I stated that Jones was in the same league as the others. I was simply intrigued that an outsider (probably from C'wood or Carlton) could bracket him with the others. I praised Jones for his attitude etc Do you understand now?

Posted

Please re-read my original post CAREFULLY and tell me where I stated that Jones was in the same league as the others. I was simply intrigued that an outsider (probably from C'wood or Carlton) could bracket him with the others. I praised Jones for his attitude etc Do you understand now?

I think it's you who needs to re-read the thread carefully, since I never asserted that it was your belief that Jones was in the same league as the others.

Posted

Ball and Kirk are two players he could become as good as, both premiership players and both of high value to thier teams.

The problem is that he thinks he's Gary Ablett - a man's got to understand his limitations.

Posted

To those who keep harping on about his skill errors he had a disposal efficiency of 81% today. Behind only Rivers on 90% and LJ on 83%...

This bloke will never get the credit he deserves from posters round here. Sylvia misses a target, Green misses a set shot and no one bats an eyelid, Jones misses one and he is a hack. Jones is one of the few Melbourne players who week in week out puts his body on the line and has a real crack. He hadn't been in great form before today but worked his way through the rough patch and was ONE of only a FEW players who stepped up when we needed.

I feel that many here like Hannabal can't see past the end of their nose and take the blinkers off to what blokes like he and Moloney bring to the team. YES in two years he/they might struggle for a game, but until our midfield group come on enough and actually show the same desire for the contest that he shows, he deserves his spot in the team.

You have my vote!

Posted

I think it's you who needs to re-read the thread carefully, since I never asserted that it was your belief that Jones was in the same league as the others.

'Rogue', you are indeed a puzzlement! Or are you just being argumentative for the sake of being argumentative. I am retiring from this discussion which is getting nowhere.

Posted

A & B graders produce those stats and hit targets week in week out. C graders don't. Jones doesn't.

Premiership teams produce A & B graders, mostly. C graders that perform a consistent role regularly also. Jones is none of these three and his role is still quite undefined.

He played well yesterday.

Posted

Paul Roos just mentioned on On the Couch that he considers Jones to be a very good midfielder and that he is very underrated at the Dees. I consider Roos to be one of the more astute judges and would have to agree with his assessment.

Posted
Paul Roos just mentioned on On the Couch that he considers Jones to be a very good midfielder and that he is very underrated at the Dees.

Did Paul Roos suggest that the Dees underrate Jones, or did you mean something slightly different?

Guest lambtotheslaughter
Posted

Paul Roos is a good judge

Jones is rated highly and justifiably so

Go chunky

Posted

Did Paul Roos suggest that the Dees underrate Jones, or did you mean something slightly different?

Yes, that is exactly what he suggested and what I meant.

Posted

Did he explain why he thinks the Dees underrate him? We've picked him in the seniors for pretty much every game in the past four years (22 in 2010, 20 in 2009, 21 in 2008, 21 in 2007) and we don't hide him in a back pocket either.

Posted

Did he explain why he thinks the Dees underrate him? We've picked him in the seniors for pretty much every game in the past four years (22 in 2010, 20 in 2009, 21 in 2008, 21 in 2007) and we don't hide him in a back pocket either.

I wasn't listening too closely as I was being distracted by kids, but he did say that he respected him enough to play Kirk (and one other he mentioned, but didn't catch the name) on him. I think the discussion may have been around underrated midfielders. Sorry, can't be any more helpful.

Posted

Healy asked Roosy who the most underrated player is in the comp and his answer was N Jones. Healy said Ben Johnson and Sheahan said James Kelly

Posted

Roos didn't say he was underrated by the Dees - just underrated in general. He rated him as a very good mid fielder - (as said before) so much so they usually put Kirk on him.

That would clearly put him above a C grader and at odds with Hannabal's view.

Posted
I think the discussion may have been around underrated midfielders.

Fair enough; sounds like Roos didn't actually say the Dees underrate Jones.

Posted

Fair enough; sounds like Roos didn't actually say the Dees underrate Jones.

I was actually positive taht he siad underrated by the Dees... but then again, as I said, I was distracted.

Posted

Roos didn't say he was underrated by the Dees - just underrated in general. He rated him as a very good mid fielder - (as said before) so much so they usually put Kirk on him.

That would clearly put him above a C grader and at odds with Hannabal's view.

Who, who's veiw? Hanna bal

Oh well, spose he'll be off to the alps in a few weak 's.

Maybe this is him?

482px-Comic_History_of_Rome_p_173_Hannibal_crossing_the_Alps.jpg

Driving his Ceratotherium home after the weekend chill.

;)