SUMMER TIME AND THE DRAFTING'S EASY - PARTS 1, 2, 3 & 4

Demonland is proud to announce that it has again secured the services of "Stevo" who knows the ins and outs of the Under 18 TAC Cup scene from an insider's point of view. He attended most of those of the National Under 18 championship games played in Melbourne and Geelong over the winter, has been involved with two TAC Clubs over the years and teaches physical education and sport. He discussed his views on the 2010 draft prospects from a Melbourne Football Club perspective with Whispering Jack (and yes, we know it's not technically summmertime yet but couldn't come up with another title) ...

SUMMER TIME AND THE DRAFTING'S EASY - PART ONE by Whispering Jack

There are only eight names standing between the start of this year's AFL National Draft and Melbourne's first selection at number twelve. The AFL's new franchise, the Gold Coast Suns, has virtually revealed its hand by already naming the first three players to be selected - David Swallow, Harley Bennell and Sam Day and our resident draft guru Stevo and every other draft analyst therefore already has them down as a given for draft day which will fittingly be held at the Gold Coast Convention Centre later this month.

Indeed, David Swallow, who finished fourth in the VFL's 2010 JJ Liston Trophy playing for the Suns, was nominated even before Melbourne's Barry Prendergast called out Tom Scully's name as Melbourne's first pick in 2009. There was no need therefore for Stevo to extol Swallow's virtues although the words "potential Brownlow Medallist" almost passed through his lips when he fleetingly mentioned his name.

The only mystery remaining is whether Bennell or Day's name will be called out for second choice. We decided to take the diplomatic line of alphabetic order in presenting you the Inside Football pen pictures of the two, who Stevo agrees, select themselves as the remaining Gold Coast initial choices:-

HARLEY BENNELL - midfielder, Peel Thunder, WA

Born: 2/10/92 Ht: [84cm Wt: 70kg "Harley's an indigenous boy who has the great natural talents and flair that the indigenous kids tend to have. Fantastic with the footy, great awareness of what's going on around him, got a good set of hands and he can just cover the ground. He can play as a running half-back or a wingman as well as on the ball and his ability to run and carry and link up, for an 18-year-old kid, is outstanding. Played the first two or three games in our seniors and was among the best before he went off to play for the state side. Got clean hands, he's got an extra sense of what's around, he finds space well he gets in and out of traffic really well and he's just a real, quality player. From our understanding he will go top three to the Gold Coast." - Peel Thunder coach Trevor Williams.

Larke Medal winner 2010.All Australian 2010

SAM DAY - forward, Sturt, SA

Born: 6/9/92 Ht: 195cm Wt: 94kg "Sam's an outstanding athlete who can play forward and back and in the ruck. A player who I would say is very similar to Nick Riewoldt in the way he goes about his footy and there's just a tremendous amount of upside to him. At the moment he's playing two or three dif¬ferent sports (baseball/basketball) and once he concentrates on one I think the potential for him to be an elite player at AFL level is pretty high. Balanced up football and study really well this year despite it being pretty hectic for him and I'd be surprised if he wasn't taken top three or four. He can play anywhere really because of his outstanding leap." – Sturt football manager Dwayne Massey.

All Australian 2010

There was no way that we could set Gold Coast aside in our discussions on the forthcoming draft. When we discussed the unpredictability of the top end of this year's draft compared to last year, Stevo agreed insofar as the top seven or eight were concerned (noting as we have already done that this year's top three picks are set in stone). In terms of Melbourne's first choice at 12, he sees the fact that one club (Gold Coast) holds four of the five preceding selections as a major determinant in that unpredictability and one that could work in the club's favour.

"The reason for this is that whereas the other clubs would almost certainly be focussing on that 'best available' player, the Gold Coast's embarrassment of riches in terms of the number of early choices available to it will, of necessity, lead it along different paths.

"I'm not giving away any secrets when I describe this draft as 'highly compromised'. Not only do the Suns dominate the top half of the first round of the draft but the draft pool itself has been compromised in a number of ways starting with the rule that allowed them to pre-sign a dozen 17-year-olds last year.

"They picked the eyes out of some exceptional talent in Josh Toy, Trent McKenzie, Brandon Matera, Maverick Weller and others but they do lack talent in key positions and could do with some more talls and specialist defenders.

"Their recruiters will therefore be tempted to look at needs with choices far earlier than other clubs might do in these circumstances."

Stevo was firmly of the view that most of the best players available in the top dozen are medium sized players, many of who will be "close to or ready to go in 2011". He is aware that Dean Bailey has hinted on a number of occasions about the club's need for a strong, tall marking forward but believes it's more likely that when the time comes for Melbourne to make its first selection, that player will be a "mid".

To support this, Stevo cites the following as medium sized candidates within the range of eight players after Gold Coast's initial three selections and pick twelve:-

Shaun Atley, Josh Caddy, Reece Conca, Andrew Gaff, Kieran Harper, Dyson Heppell, Ben Jacobs, Jayden Pitt, Jared Polec, Billie Smedts and Brodie Smith. That's on top of Mitch Wallis and Tom Liberatore who have both gone to the Western Bulldogs under the father/son rule but omits Dion Prestia who, at 175cm is a bit too short to qualify as medium sized in Stevo's estimation but still, a player who could go early.

I've gone on record as saying that I support the tall marking forward option and I expressed my disappointment to Stevo who pointed out that there were few talls around who he classed as having the ability of the players he had mentioned. There was South Australian Daniel Gorringe and the fast rising Tom Lynch and young ruckman/forward Scott Lycett but nothing much else on the horizon other than the player he termed "the draft's mystery man", Jack Darling, a player who he said "could go anywhere".

That's where we stop for the time being but I'll be back with more of Stevo soon.

TO BE CONTINUED ...

Demonland is proud to announce that it has again secured the services of "Stevo" who knows the ins and outs of the Under 18 TAC Cup scene from an insider's point of view. He attended most of those of the National Under 18 championship games played in Melbourne and Geelong over the winter, has been involved with two TAC Clubs over the years and teaches physical education and sport. He discussed his views on the 2010 draft prospects from a Melbourne Football Club perspective with Whispering Jack (and yes, we know it's not technically summmertime yet but couldn't come up with another title) ...

SUMMER TIME AND THE DRAFTING'S EASY - PART ONE by Whispering Jack

You call that easy?

It was easier when we had first pick in 2008 & 2009! :)

SUMMER TIME AND THE DRAFTING EASY – PART TWO by Whispering Jack

Our draft guru Stevo gunned me down when I suggested that Melbourne should be aiming for a tall key position player with its first selection at number 12.

"That can wait until later in the draft", he told me.

"The Demons aren't that badly off in terms of forward talent for the future. They invested first pick in Jack Watts two years ago and would no doubt expect him to blossom over the next couple of seasons. They have Liam Jurrah and Matthew Bate and Cale Morton, who could take any number of roles might one day be a key position player. Then there's Jack Fitzpatrick and Max Gawn waiting and developing in the wings.

"A good marking forward would be handy but there are other priorities and a number of midsized players who present themselves as strong candidates for selection in this draft after Gold Coast's three initial picks".

Well, that was reassuring but Stevo also added recent history to back up his point. He reminded me of last year's national draft which produced the following top twelve and which included only one tall key position player who, due to injury, has yet to make his AFL debut:-

1. Tom Scully – Melbourne

2. Jack Trengove - Melbourne

3. Dustin Martin - Richmond

4. Anthony Morabito - Fremantle

5. Ben Cunnington - North Melbourne

6. Gary Rohan - Sydney

7. Brad Sheppard - West Coast

8. John Butcher - Port Adelaide

9. Andrew Moore - Port Adelaide

10. Jake Melksham - Essendon

11. Jordan Gysberts - Melbourne

12. Kane Lucas - Carlton

"The first six selections were predictable, West Coast went for a local and many had Port Adelaide, which had consecutive choices, down as the one to take a tall with one of those picks. In many respects, I don't see things going much differently this year but with the new player in the Suns going with a diverse range when they exercise four out of five selections between seven and eleven".

"As things stand, the Suns have already chosen a tall forward in their nominated top three which includes Sam Day. I haven't seen much of him but the glimpses I got during the National Under 18 Carnival games I attended suggested he's deserving of such high selection."

Stevo has left aside the medium sized players for the moment to look at those who might come in and break the mould. His first target is the enigmatic Jack Darling, an All Australian from West Perth who twelve months ago would have been considered a likely inclusion in the Gold Coast top three after his All Australian selection at centre half forward.

Stevo says Darling has him and several draft watchers completely stumped.

"He could go to West Coast at four or he could slide to Fremantle at twenty. The kid has been questioned on a number of issues, not the least of which has been his behaviour and attitude arising from an incident while still at school. He has also had injury problems, form slumps which saw him miss out on back to back All Australian honours at Under 18 level and incurred a fractured skull in an off field attack. There are some question marks as to whether he's tall enough to play key position at the highest level and he has also been trying to establish his versatility in the midfield. And all that time he became a useful performer at WAFL level.

"I think he has the makings of a star and the Eagles must be sorely tempted to select the player who many think is a round peg in a square hole."

Here's how his WAFL team football manager described him to Inside Football -

JACK DARLING - forward, West Perth, WA

Born: 16/6/92 Ht: I9lcm Wt: 94kg

"Jack is tracking pretty well and there's been a fair bit written about him because he had such a great national championships last year as a 17-year-old. He certainly wasn't as dominant this year but he's still very young and I think people forget that. He was a key forward in our senior side this season. He's really hard it, he runs well, he crashes packs and he takes good marks. Had a bit of groin soreness at the start the year which hampered him but there's been a lot of interest in him and there has been for a good couple of years now." - West Perth football manager Brad Lukosius

All Australian 2009. WA representative 2010.

And while Stevo is impressed with Darling's strengths, he feels those off field weaknesses will have deterred a few clubs, including Melbourne.

The others who Stevo considers are capable of breaking the mid size mould for a top dozen selection in this year's draft are Dandenong Stingray Tom Lynch South Australian pair Daniel Gorringe and Scott Lycett. All can play as tall forwards but the Croweaters have also cut their teeth as ruckmen. Stevo believes that Lynch and Gorringe are likely to be taken before Melbourne's pick at twelve (most likely by the Suns) and Lycett might not be a priority for the Demons even if available.

Here are the Inside Football pen pictures of this trio of talls:-

TOM LYNCH - forward, Dandenong Stingrays, Vic

Born: 31/10/92 Ht: 197cm Wt: 90kg

"When we saw him in pre-season we thought 'gee wiz, we've got a Nick Riewoldt look-alike on our hands' - just his size. He's got a great motor and first year in our program this year he just jumped out of the ground and had some fantastic performances after getting injured early. Great below his knees for his size, workrate outstanding, hands terrific and came third in our best and fairest when he only played 10 games. Tall forward who presents up like Riewoldt. Played really well in theTAC Cup finals against good opposition. An accurate kick from shorter range but not a long, penetrating kick. If he's not a top 10 pick I'm not breathing."

- Dandenong Stingrays coach Graeme Yeats

Vic Country representative 2010.

SCOTT LYCETT - ruckman, Port Adelaide Magpies, SA

Born: 26/9/92 Ht: 202cm Wt: 95kg

"Scott's a ruck/tall forward who broke into the league side this year and did OK. A big unit who will likely take time, I would have thought considering his size, but has an enormous upside. A country boy from out Ceduna way who relocated a couple of years ago." - Port Magpies development manager Julian Farkas

SA representative 2010.

TO BE CONTINUED

I received an email form Stevo who wanted me to stress that he doesn't think Melbourne will select Jack Darling so I have added a sentence to convey that feeling. Pity really because he could have been a big hit with the MFC lady supporters on what I’ve heard.

However, Jack fans should not despair.

Stevo supplied me with the following list of names who might be available for those who appreciate that excellent name:-

Jack Frost, Jack Gray, Jack Hutchins, Jack Mahony, Jack Redpath and Jack Stephens, a few Jacksons and for those interested in recycling you can have former Croweater Jarhan Jacky

I received an email form Stevo who wanted me to stress that he doesn't think Melbourne will select Jack Darling so I have added a sentence to convey that feeling. Pity really because he could have been a big hit with the MFC lady supporters on what I’ve heard.

However, Jack fans should not despair.

Stevo supplied me with the following list of names who might be available for those who appreciate that excellent name:-

Jack Frost, Jack Gray, Jack Hutchins, Jack Mahony, Jack Redpath and Jack Stephens, a few Jacksons and for those interested in recycling you can have former Croweater Jarhan Jacky

Ah well ... if we must wait, I'll hang around for Jack Viney.

G'day fellow Demons supporters!

I would LOVE the Demons to get Sam Day from Sturt....but I know that isn't possible. :mellow:

As for who we should "consider" getting. It will all depend on who is the "best available" and if that "best available" is a tall forward or not. Personally I would like the Demons pick at least ONE of Jack Darling, Tom Lynch or Lucas Cook.

We also need to consider drafting a long-term replacement for (the now gone) Cameron Bruce perhaps?

Anyways, I would like to hear people's thoughts on WHO we should consider taking with our picks in the AFL National Draft and what your reasons are for taking those players.

GO DEMONS IN 2011!!!

From Supreme_Demon

It's interesting if you look at the Phantom Drafts, and the reviews given to all the players by the guys who formulated them and most would have you believe that there are 20 to 30 superstars waiting to be snapped up this year. Then you look at the Phantom Draft that Quigley submitted, courtesy of E25, and you get a different perspective altogether.

I must say I'd like to see us have a punt on Darling but only if the FD are convinced he has his head right. Apart from that I've only seen some short videos and I thought Lynch and Harper looked ok and if he was available Caddy.

Cook or Mitchell as second round if available.

The big 5 for me at pick 12 would probably be Atley, Smedts, Harper, Caddy and Lynch. Would be extremely happy to get any of those guys in the first round.

Atley, Caddy and Lynch yes, Smedts and Harper no. My reasoning is that we have plenty of HFF so no need for Harper, and Smedts only averaged 12 disposal at u18 championship (Darling averaged more), plus he's a player of many positions master of none. I'd love him at pick 33, but that won't happen. Of that list i'd love Atley, he has great disposal, strong player, great disposal, plays both inside and out and is great defensively. He would be great coming out of the back line. If we were to draft Atley @ 12 and Mitchell @33 i would be rather happy. If Atley is gone, i'd take the risk of Darling @12, because he'd offer something our forward line has been missing (minus Jurrah), offensive pressure, plus the big body (physically) will help greatly.

I'd love us to get Lynch, but the chances of his being around at 12 are slim to none. Smelts looks like he will be a quality player as well, and he is a chance to fall to us. Darling i'm not 100% sold on, but he can obviously play the game.

I hope we pick up Darling at 12, he's got that X factor and would compliment Liam & Watts. He can also play a midfield role when required.

I read that Essendon is targeting mids this draft -Bombers target mids at AFL draft

Hopefully means one of the quality talls does slip through to pick 12! The Lions (5) need mids (unless they want to pick up their next Brown) and GC is probably only going to use one of 7, 9, 10, 11 on a tall.

Has anyone heard anything about what the Eagles (4) and Tiges (6) are after?

It'd have to be Gaff or Heppell at those picks.

Rumours abound on twitter that the tiges are really into Reece Conca at pick 6, but I think the consensus seems to be that he's worth around pick 30.

The thing they are saying about this year's draft is that there should be a lot of surprises, because if a team is really keen on a guy, they will take him as early as possible regardless of his relative "worth" because there's a strong chance he won't be around by your next pick.

6 DAYS...

It is a bit like Christmas or a birthday as a kid isn't it. Some presents coming - probably the best one opened first and then no doubt some others that will be interesting later. There's a lot of things we'd like to get but who knows what we will?

Edited by old55

Rumours abound on twitter that the tiges are really into Reece Conca at pick 6, but I think the consensus seems to be that he's worth around pick 30.

So I guess that means they'll take him :-)

I'm obsessed with it.

After the last 2 years it was kind of understandable, but I thought this year I'd lose interest.

Instead, in spite of only having pick 12, I've been building up to fever pitch yet again.

I was even secretly hoping we'd lose our last game & the cards would fall our way so we got a pick ahead of Port & the Crows.

So I guess that means they'll take him :-)

You know, I wouldn't be too surprised.

I think there'll be a few shocks in this draft.

Can't wait.

I think we're in a good position because the balance of our list allows us to take best available.

Even though we'd like a big lump of a ruck/fwd, if we draft one, he'll take just as long as the undeveloped kids already on our list.

We can't solve that problem instantly with a draft pick.

Of course, really liking a kid isn't necessarily anything to do with needs.

Nor is it a bad thing.

Stephen Hill turned out ok for the Dockers... Just like Chris Masten did for WC.

Why is the draft so late in the year? with most if not all clubs starting their pre season it would be good to have the draft in October maybe. I hope we are able to get Lynch with our first pick. It is a bit like Christmas, to bad it's not on free to air.

They wait until the end of VCE exams, in fact the last exam is actually on Thursday 18th November.

this draft puts our last draft in 2009 into perspective so much, i mean we had 4 picks inside the top 20, wow soo much talent with sculls, trenners, jizz n tappsoctt.

SUMMER TIME AND THE DRAFTING'S EASY – PART THREE by Whispering Jack

Our draft expert Stevo has me convinced that the Demons will take a medium sized player in next week's AFL National Draft.

"That's where the best available talent lies in what's left of the draft pool after the new franchise gobbles up the best of the best.

"It's an even field among the medium sized players but don't let me give you the impression that they're all the same types. There are inside and outside midfielders, medium defenders and medium forwards and the beauty for a club like Melbourne is that there's an evenness among the bunch of players within the Demons' range so that the fact we're at pick 12 doesn't put us at that much of a disadvantage to say, Richmond's pick 6.

"I definitely subscribe to the view that the difference between the quality of say, pick 4 and pick 12 is not going to be all that great, if at all.

"There are four players within this mid range group of players who I think will be taken before Barry Prendergast gets his big chance to call out Melbourne's first selection in what, for him will be the rather unfamiliar position of pick 12. Although he had pick 11 last year, I say "unfamiliar" because this is his first selection while last year, he had already called out three names before he got to this juncture. Also, there was no first bite of the cherry then that removed the likes of Toy, Matera and company from the equation before things even got started.

"The four who will find themselves out of Melbourne's reach in my view are Shaun Atley, Andrew Gaff, Dyson Heppell and Jared Polec (I've already eliminated a few talls previously)."

Stevo says he hasn't deliberately resorted to the safety of alphabetical order. He really rates Atley highly and was a big fan long before this year's national championships in which, according to Stevo, Atley was the major contributor in Vic Country's triumph.

"He's 187cm tall, can play inside and out, has terrific endurance and is simply a no nonsense performer with lots of grunt.

"Gaff is a hard working accumulator of the football who kicks on both sides and like another draft hopeful in Dion Prestia, supports the Demons but won't be able to live the Jack Grimes dream of playing for the team of his boyhood dreams. In Gaff's case, he should be taken inside the top 10.

"Heppell played most of the year as a defender providing the Gippsland Power with run off half back and was Victoria's MVP in the championships and won the Morrish Medal in the TAC Cup Under 18's. When moved into the middle, he was instrumental in his team's upsurge in the TAC Cup finals and almost singlehandedly got them into the grand final with a 40 possession game in the Preliminary Final. That final series saw him rise in the ratings to a top six prospect.

"Polec is a class act who has played senior football in the SANFL since age 16 and had finals experience this year with Woodville-West Torrens. Beautifully balanced, a nice long kick on his left foot, he will be an excitement machine at AFL level - but alas, not with the Demons.

I sense that Stevo is homing in on the player or players who he believes will be selected by Melbourne at pick twelve. After all, he's eliminated almost a dozen players already.

He's narrowed it down to eight medium sized players and I would have liked to have provided the Inside Football pen pictures of all of Josh Caddy, Reece Conca, Kieran Harper, Ben Jacobs, Luke Parker, Jayden Pitt, Billie Smedts and Brodie Smith (alphabetical order intentional this time) but Caddy and Jacobs were ignored. In their cases, Stevo has provided his own in italics:-

JOSH CADDY – midfield, Northern Knights, Vic

Born:28/09/92 Ht: 186cm Wt: 81kg

A big strong midfielder who wins contested ball and averaged 24 Possessions in the 2010 NAB AFL Under-18 Championships. He's a strong mark and is dangerous going forward.

All Australian 2010.

REECE CONCA - forward/midfield, Perth,WA

Born: 12/8/92 Ht: 182cm Wt: 76kg

"Reece is a midfielder who played state 18s this year and was the vice captain of that side. Played 10 games of Colts footy and seven games of league footy. Playing midfield and half back and at Colts level he was the premier midfielder of the competition. He's a quick inside player with outstanding skills, exceptional speed and great ball handling skills. When he went up to league level he was able to perform like he had in the Colts and had a couple of best on ground efforts. There's a good chance he'll be top 10, I reckon." - Perth coach Damien McMahon

WA representative 2010.

KIERAN HARPER - forward/midfielder, Eastern Ranges. Vic

Born: 5/6/92 Ht: 187cm Wt: 80kg

"Kieran had an up and down year that started with getting appendicitis and plantar fasciitis and he had both of his hips done in the pre-season of last year. Probably didn't get into full training until a week before the season started but had a really good game for Vic Metro where he kicked four goals. Tested well at the camp, was an AIS graduate and he can play just about anywhere. Generally likes to play forward/midfield, he's very good above his head and he's got a lot going for him. I expect Kieran to be gone by about pick 17 or 18." - Eastern Ranges region manager Anthony Parkin

Vic Metro representative 2010.

BEN JACOBS- forward/midfield

9 January 1992, 186cm, 82kg, Sandringham Dragons/Brighton Grammar

A left footed half back who can go forward. He moves well, is versatile and known for his attack on the ball. He starred for Vic Metro in its Under 18 Championship victory over South Australia with 47 possessions coming off half back and averaged 29 possessions for the championships

All Australian 2010.

LUKE PARKER - midfield, Dandenong Stingrays, Vic

Born: 15/10/92 Ht: 182cm Wt: 83kg

"Luke is a really strong bodied, good endurance athlete who probably just tapered off a bit towards the end of the year but had a good . national carnival. An exciting player who can play midfield as well as a small forward, a terrific kick and decision maker. Really hard and tough. He was one player who was targeted by oppositions each week and he was manned up no matter what position he went to. But, to his credit, he handled that fantastically well." - Dandenong Stingrays coach Graeme Yeats

Vic Country representative 2010

JAYDEN PITT - forward/midfield, Geelong Falcons, Vic

Born: 7/10/92 Ht: 188cm Wt: 72kg

"Jayden Pitt was a bit of a revelation this year. He was really under developed last year and we only played him in one game but this year he developed into a really good player. Played across half back and on the wing, he made the state side and had a great carnival and was named All Australian. He's got a lot of development left in him, great skills on both sides of the body, great decision maker and look, I think he will be a pretty early draft pick. Just the modem sort of player with big upside." - Geelong Falcons region manager Michael Turner

2010 All Australian.

BILLIE SMEDTS - defender, Geelong Falcons, Vic

Born: 8/6/92 Ht: 188cm Wt: 78kg

"Billie will go pretty early I think - I reckon top 10. He was our best player last year in the finals despite the fact he hasn't accessed our program all the time because of school football commitments with Geelong Grammar. Had a few injuries this year which set him back with his state stuff, but he's a good player who can go forward and kick goals, play in the midfield and his best position might be back flank in the AFL Before he went to the draft camp 1 thought he would have been first round, but at the draft camp he was top 10 for the fitness testing protocols. He was No. I in mobility, top for speed, standing jump and speed repeac After those results I think someone will have to commit pretty early to get him." - Geelong Falcons region manager Michael Turner

Vic Country representative 2010.

BRODIE SMITH - defender, midfield, Woodville-West Torrens, SA

Born: 14/1/92 Ht: 189cm Wt: 80kg

"Brodie was solid all year and went away with the AIS squad at the start of the season and then played for SA in the state championships. We didn't get to see him a lot at the Eagles until after the national championships but he played a couple of games in the reserves and then got promoted to the seniors and stayed there. Had a really good finals series, including a great semi-final against Glenelg, playing mainly half back and in the back pocket on the smaller forwards in the league." - Eagles talent manager Shane Grimm

All Australian 2010.

I think I'm convinced by Stevo that it must be one of the above, but I ask the burning question anyway.

"Is there any tall key position player who might come under Melbourne's consideration at 12 assuming the club is inclined to go that way? Put more correctly, could any such player be considered to be best available at that stage?

Stevo thinks for a moment and says,

"Lucas Cook, Patrick McCarthy perhaps ... but the one I like from my list is Billie Smedts ... or maybe Smith ..."

Ignoring the comment about Smedts and Smith, I search for Cook's pen picture in Inside Football but it's not there ...

Next time, Stevo tells me why he can't enlighten us on who the remaining selections might be, although we can guess that it's just all too hard!

[TO BE CONTINUED]

I admit to not being a draft guru but I am warming to Lycett. We have some great young  mids, with Jack Viney to be added in the near future and I just feel that he will add something down forward and possibly develop as a good ruckman by the time Jamar is gone.

Don't howl me down for ignoring some talented mids.