Give him the captaincy

Mondê

Brent bleeds red and blue. I've mounted a case for him being our next skipper that I will put forward in the next few days, this just confirms my belief.

"We are on a straight line and we will not deviate . . . if you don't want to be on that straight line go to Carlton, go wherever," Moloney said.

There was no mention of McLean's name, but it was an obvious dig at the one-time captaincy candidate at Melbourne, who put up his hand earlier this month to cross to the Blues.

Moloney said it with almost an aggressive snarl, thrusting his thumb towards the back of the stage as if to say McLean was welcome to leave.

And the comment, made during a passionate acceptance speech for finishing runner-up to Aaron Davey in the Demons' best-and-fairest at Crown casino, won wide support in the room with some applauding.

McLean, who finished 11th in the best-and-fairest, was not at the function.

Soon afterwards as players gathered on stage for a rendition of the club song, Moloney showed his passion by grabbing the microphone and roaring the lyrics.

Full article here http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/dees...f-1225790210980

Edited by Mondê

• Replies 66

Can someone tell me which MFC players do not bleed red and blue?

We should really weed out those bad eggs immediately.

Some top quality early morning posting there RR. The first two of yours that I read cover the groundbreaking territory that you don't believe that Valenti is good enough for AFL and that "bleeding red and blue" is an irrelevant AFL cliche. I honestly had no idea that you felt this way and I'm glad that you went out of your way to belittle other posters without significantly adding to the discussion. Well done old chap!

FWIW Moloney shows an incredible passion for the club, came 2nd in the B&F and is in his mid-20's. He also displays a competitive spirit on-field and is hard at the pill. Tick, Tick, Tick, Tick, Tick. At this stage the next captain would likely come out of himself and Davey with Green possibly being a touch too old and Grimes (for all his reported leadership qualities) maybe too young.

Can someone tell me which MFC players do not bleed red and blue?

We should really weed out those bad eggs immediately.

I really hate that cliche too. I hate it immensely. However, if there's one player who really does "bleed red and blue" it's Brent Moloney.

Guest straussski

if you go back to the team songs when we win this year you will see how passionate he is when he sing the song...he looks like a crazy man

Some top quality early morning posting there RR. The first two of yours that I read cover the groundbreaking territory that you don't believe that Valenti is good enough for AFL and that "bleeding red and blue" is an irrelevant AFL cliche. I honestly had no idea that you felt this way and I'm glad that you went out of your way to belittle other posters without significantly adding to the discussion. Well done old chap!

FWIW Moloney shows an incredible passion for the club, came 2nd in the B&F and is in his mid-20's. He also displays a competitive spirit on-field and is hard at the pill. Tick, Tick, Tick, Tick, Tick. At this stage the next captain would likely come out of himself and Davey with Green possibly being a touch too old and Grimes (for all his reported leadership qualities) maybe too young.

I am glad your enamored with an irrelevant cliche. And FWIW, I dont believe it distinguishes one footballer from another footballer on any plausible basis.

I have neither belittled the poster or the player. Just highlighted a ridiculous concept. Not that you can work that out.

Yep, i will put my hand up and say that early doors i thought he was a bit of a tool, and just a dumb footballer who just kicks it long at every chance.

I am now a full member of the Moloney fan club, love his spirit, his stick up for his teammates attitude and he is getting smarter with his footy. I see him as the Todd viney / Powell that we have missed for a while now...

Not sure why some people feel there is a need to constantly question everything that people post on this site, but i'm with you 100% Monde, red and blue blood in his veins..

In a few games I went to this season, I could actually hear Beamer shouting instructions and pumping up his troops, while the ball was in the center. I sit behind the Punt road end goals usually and I could actually hear him quite clearly in the West Coast and Freo games. He is such a good leader and good on him for getting stuck into McLean at the B&F.

It's going to be really interesting to see who takes over JMac. Davey or Moloney are the likely candidates. Or even Col Sylvia, if he can build on this year, has become somewhat of a leader in the way he's been addressing the media and admitting he's underperformed for too long. I'd expect him to be a part of the leadership group next year.

I have neither belittled the poster or the player. Just highlighted a ridiculous concept. Not that you can work that out.

And that does not "belittle"?

Other than this nacre of wisdom, a great thread. Beamer is Melbourne through and through and if it's players like him that bond the group, then more power to his arm. I left the B&F night feeling proud of my club. And Jimmy and Beamer were the main catalyst for that feeling. For too long the clinical and sterile aspects of the MFC have bogged us down and if the odd cliche is needed to get the blood pumping, then I say why not.

I really hate that cliche too. I hate it immensely. However, if there's one player who really does "bleed red and blue" it's Brent Moloney.

It is an annoying cliche, but there are varying degrees of everything.

Some players are simply more passionate and more vocal than others. Moloney is at the top of that list, which doesn't necessarily make him captain material, but it does qualify him under the "bleeds red and blue" cliche.

The one thing I really admire about him, is his positive attitude. He always seems to have his head held up high, and pride in the jumper, and that's really important to have in a senior player.

I bought a MFC jumper and the first thing I did was put Beamer's number on it. I love this guy, It's amazing how young he looks in real life up close.

I guess its cos he is.

Good head on his shoulders though.

I often forget he's a good few years younger than me.

yes

I hope I don't get attacked for this - but I don't reckon Beamer should have a had a crack at Brock. Brock's gone. Don't give him the satisfaction of knowing that we care enough to highlight his departure in a public forum.

Beamer has the passion to be key member of the leadership group - but has he got the judgment to represent the club as its captain ? Perhaps he has ... and perhaps he will develop it.

Flash's speech was gracious and sincere - and he is passionate about the MFC. He's got to be a strong contender..... and I wouldn't write off Greeny who is clearly a a good on-field general

an annoying chiche !! omg...how terrible

no more ..bleeds red and blue..

no more ..one week at a time

no more.. we're building a team to go the distance..

and on and on

Football, sport..in general is full of often silly cliches... hardly a cause worthy of effort to belittle

Moloney may well become a good leader /captain. We will see his audition this coming season ;)

I hope I don't get attacked for this - but I don't reckon Beamer should have a had a crack at Brock. Brock's gone. Don't give him the satisfaction of knowing that we care enough to highlight his departure in a public forum.

Beamer has the passion to be key member of the leadership group - but has he got the judgment to represent the club as its captain ? Perhaps he has ... and perhaps he will develop it.

Flash's speech was gracious and sincere - and he is passionate about the MFC. He's got to be a strong contender..... and I wouldn't write off Greeny who is clearly a a good on-field general

A bit of passion never hurts especially in this day and age of micro-managed, mind your P's and Q's responses. I actually saw it as more of a dig a Carlton than at Chook, CJ etc. To me he seemed to be saying that Carlton was the place for footballers that put themselves before the jumper, and I don't see it as a comment that was that far off the mark. Anyway I wouldn't expect any less from a bloke that bleeds red and blue.