Posted
True. How good will it be when these boys have 20-30 games to there name. JG, JW, JS, SB, LJ,.....bring ..it..on!

Exciting times, to be sure.

• Replies 296

Posted
True. How good will it be when these boys have 20-30 games to their name. JG, JW, JS, SB, LJ,.....bring ..it..on!

.... and JB, KC, AW, NJ, JS (the other one) et al.

Posted

I can confirm that Jack Watts is "99% sure" that he's playing on QB. Without giving too much away, theres one minor issue that it is contingent upon but Im advised that it shouldnt be a problem.

Posted
I can confirm that Jack Watts is "99% sure" that he's playing on QB. Without giving too much away, theres one minor issue that it is contingent upon but Im advised that it shouldnt be a problem.

If that minor issue is mid-year exams, I would just like to say that:

1- I will happily tutor and/or sit his exams for him, especially if the exam is in psychology, which is a [censored] easy subject which I myself spent about 2 hours studying for

2- Suck it up Wattsy, we all have exams and you don't see us skipping the match :lol:;)

Posted

Postponement of exam?

Posted

Can u please hint in were your getting this from??

It really is getting my hopes up and i dont want it to explode in my face.

Posted

Dont think so mate

Posted
I'm torn. :lol:

This is the difference between a massive day for me & my family on Monday, including a great spread for lunch, beverages, footy, out for dinner. Huge spending spree. And Jack Watts v Collingwood.

Or,

A day at the footy with a mate and a luke warm meat pie....without Jack.

It's over to the selectors to determine my fate for Monday......please let it be the former alternative.....Because that way I'm not driving! :D

HT, Just another little bit of info for you. JW was scheduled to do a speech to his fellow Brighton GRAMMAR students on friday morning but HE has cancelled so he can train with the main group, Thus adding to my claim he is definately playing. He will also do a light run with the team at 10am on Sunday at the Junction oval.

My head is still out there and I'm tipping it will be still attached at 2.10pm on Monday !!!! GO DEES

Posted
HT, Just another little bit of info for you. JW was scheduled to do a speech to his fellow Brighton GRAMMAR students on friday morning but HE has cancelled so he can train with the main group, Thus adding to my claim he is definately playing. He will also do a light run with the team at 10am on Sunday at the Junction oval.

My head is still out there and I'm tipping it will be still attached at 2.10pm on Monday !!!! GO DEES

Cheers Steamin. Are you Hutchy's love child? :lol:

Posted
I'm torn. :lol:

This is the difference between a massive day for me & my family on Monday, including a great spread for lunch, beverages, footy, out for dinner. Huge spending spree. And Jack Watts v Collingwood.

Or,

A day at the footy with a mate and a luke warm meat pie....without Jack.

It's over to the selectors to determine my fate for Monday......please let it be the former alternative.....Because that way I'm not driving! :D

Hightower your family should pull their finger out and go support the dees with or without a Jack Watts debut

Posted
Hightower your family should pull their finger out and go support the dees with or without a Jack Watts debut

Agreed. Was going to add this earlier.

Posted

reading that article makes me think less of a chance considering exams are the next day.

Posted
I think I might just splurge anyway, drag the family along....more numbers.....bigger crowd...make a day of it....bugger it I will! It would be alot more exciting if JW took to the turf.

Think you & AdamFarr didn't read on from that post c above

Posted

Nah, I was questioning your indecision to bring them in the first place. That's fine though, no one has to go. :)

Posted
Nah, I was questioning your indecision to bring them in the first place. That's fine though, no one has to go. :)
For the record plans have been finalised and we're all going! Despite the weather forecast. Good choice of sig by the way. Very true.
Posted

G'day All

Sorry I haven't had a chance to post my thoughts on this earlier.

I was going to start a thread about JW debut this coming week, last weekend after the game but haven't been able to spare the time.!! So now I am depriving myself of some much needed sleep to do so.

Apologies if some of this has appeared somewhere in this thread. I only quickly glanced over most of what has been contributed.

My thread was not going to be based on my desire to see him finally play in the Red and Blue or the handful of media articles and comments (most that have come since last weekend) but purely on the reaction of our usually controlled, stone faced coach at the press conference after last weekends game.

No he didn't say JW would definitely debut, nor did he completely rule it out. He, as usual, delivered his answers with a straight bat in the same calm and considered fashion that we have come to know....BUT HE COULDN'T control body language or the little smirk that creep onto his face when giving his answers.

Check it out. http://bigpondvideo.com/AFLTV/147431

Among other things that we have heard before when questioned about JW's debut (consistency, school considerations etc.) he did mentioned that it was an advantage that JW was able to stand up and play against MEN in the VFL.

This, along with another 'good' performance on the weekend should 'put to bed' some of those who are still questioning whether he is ready.

When watching the press conference take into consideration it was held BEFORE JW played last weekend. All the coaches comments and articles that have come since only add weight to the idea of JW debuting next Monday.

IF he is picked to debut this weekend, and I get the impression everything is leading us the believe he will, it could be a marketing master stroke given the Wallet saga will be over and the media will be looking for an angle to promote the Queen's Birthday Monday game.

I'm convinced. Best of luck Jack.

Go Dees - Building for the Future

Posted

If the rumour is true then I just hope that he is really ready. I think he will be as he seems a pretty self assured young man, but to debut on the biggest stage we will play on this year, with the hopes and dreams of an entire football club sitting on his shoulders is a big ask for a kid.