Posted

R11-Match-Info-Hero.jpg

Round 11
Melbourne v Adelaide
Saturday 1 June, 7.10pm ACST
TIO Stadium, Darwin

Ticketing.jpg

Members need to purchase a valid ticket to attend.

Tickets to the game can be purchased via NTix.

Getting-There-Header.jpg

Public transport

Public buses operate the number 5 service along Abala Road with a stop at TIO Stadium.

For information, including route details and timetables, visit the Northern Territory Department of Transport.

Car parking

Free public car parking is available at a number of locations around TIO Stadium at both the Ah Mat and Bonson Gates, Marrara Sporting Complex and surrounding streets.

Seating-Header.png

View a map of TIO Stadium HERE.

Broadcast-v2.png

TV times

All broadcast info in local times.

Melbourne: Seven + Fox Footy – 7.30pm
Sydney: Fox Footy – 7.30pm 
Brisbane: Fox Footy – 7.30pm 
Adelaide: Seven + Fox Footy – 7.00pm 
Perth: 7mate + Fox Footy – 5.30pm 
Tasmania: Seven + Fox Footy – 7.30pm 
Canberra: Fox Footy – 7.30pm 
Darwin: Seven + Fox Footy – 7.00pm 

For all other regions and radio info, refer to the AFL Broadcast Guide.

Online Coverage.png

Mobile app

Live scores, stats and match highlights are available at the tap of a finger in the club's mobile app.

Download it for iOS or Android.

Social media

Match hashtag: #AFLDeesCrows

Follow the club on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for live match coverage and a behind-the-scenes insight into match day.

Casey-Info-Header.png

VFL Round 9

Werribee v Casey
Saturday June 1, 2.00pm
Avalon Airport Oval, Werribee

Admission prices

Melbourne/Casey Demons Members: $5 when you present your card on entry
Adult General Admission: $10
Concession/Pensioner General Admission: $5
Children Under 15: Free

VFLW Round 4

Casey v Southern Saints
Sunday June 2, 12.00pm
Casey Fields

Admission prices

Melbourne/Casey Demons Members: FREE when you present your card on entry
Adult General Admission: $10
Concession/Pensioner General Admission: $5
Children Under 15: Free

Coverage

Social media: Follow the Casey Demons on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter for behind-the-scenes + live coverage of the match.

POINT OF NO RETURN  by The Oracle

Conventional wisdom says that a club reaches the point of no return in the AFL competition if it has won less than four matches at the mid point of the season. 

What this means for Melbourne is that in order for it to remain in the race for a top-eight position, it must start winning games now. Moreover, It's not enough to win the next game but it must also start stringin g wins together to make up for its deficit in both wins and percentage. 

With so much at stake there will be no excuses for another lacklustre performance of the s ort displayed by the Demons in the first three quarters of their game at the MCG last Sunday against the GWS Giants. Injuries, you say? All clubs suffer injuries throughout a season but the strong can overcome that diversity and fight back against the tide. Collingwood suffered a suitcase lo ad of them in 2018 and still came to within a sniff of taking off a premiership.

Melbourne’s immediate opp onents are the Adelaide Crows at TIO Stadium in Darwin where the club has had mixed results in the past. It destroyed the Dockers there last year but succumbed to the Crows at tha t venue two years ago. 

We are likely to see a restructured lineup for this week’s game but Simon Goodwin needs to get far more out of his midfield than he had been getting over the past month or so. Adelaide itself has displayed some flakey form of its own but will be tough to b eat at close to full strength. 

I’m reminded however, of that game at Adelai de Oval in 2017 when the Demons came from a fair way back and essentially reinvented themselves to win big against the then flag favourites. This is Goodwin’s old club and it will be his mission this week to overturn the conventional wisdom about his new club being totally cooked for the season and to come up with some magic and another reinvention into to kickstart its 2019 campaign and to avoid it reaching the point of no return.

Melbourne by 1 point

THE GAME  

Melbourne v Adelaide at TIO Stadium Darwin Saturday 1 June, 2019 at 7.40pm  

HEAD TO HEAD  

Overall - Melbourne 15 wins Adelaide 24 wins   

At TIO Stadium - Melbourne 0 wins Adelaide 1 win  

Past five me etings - Melbourne 3 wins Adelaide 2 wins   

The Coaches - Simon Goodwin 3 wins Don Pyke 1 win   

MEDIA  

TV - Channel 7 Fox Sports 3 Live at 7.30pm    

RADIO - Triple M SEN   

THE LAST TIME THEY MET  

Melbourne 13.12.90 defeated Adelaide 10.17.77 Round 19, 2018 at Adelaide Oval  

Melbourne started slowly in Jordan Lewis' 30 0th game before putting on the afterburners to take a comfortable 32 point lead at the final break . In the last quarter, the Crows were dominant in the wet conditions but they were unable to peg back the lead and failed by a margin of 13 points in the end. Clayton Oliver was the Demons’ best.

THE TEAMS  

Screenshot_2019-05-30 AFL Team Line Ups - AFL com au.png

Injury/Suspension List: Round 11  

Nathan Jones (head) – available 
Christian Salem (concussion – available  Michael Hibberd (collarbone) – test 
Kade Kolodjashnij (concussion) – test 
Jake Lever (ankle ) – test 
Steven May (groin) – test
Alex Neal-Bullen (concussion) – test 
Harry Petty (knee) – test 
Jordan Lewis (suspension) – 1 week  
Corey Maynard (concussion) – 1 week 
Joel Smith (groin) – 4-6 weeks 
Aaron vandenBerg (foot) – 4-6 weeks 
Jake Melksham (foot) – 5-6 weeks 
Neville Jetta (knee) – 6-8 weeks 
Guy Walker (shoulder) – indefinite 
Aaron Nietschke (knee) – season   

Posted
47 minutes ago, Deeminion said:

Call me crazy but I have a good feeling about this week and just maybe it will kick start our season.

yep I'm crazy.

We are 8-3 in our past 11 interstate trips. Think positive, it might not be that crazy.

Posted
2 hours ago, ArtificialWisdom said:

We are 8-3 in our past 11 interstate trips. Think positive, it might not be that crazy.

Now don't break my heart here - I've been hurt before.

Posted (edited)
34 minutes ago, Monocology said:

Now don't break my heart here - I've been hurt before.

We've also won 3 of the last 4 games against the Crows to make you feel more optimistic.

Their best win was at home against Freo, other wins have all been against bottom 8 sides: an injury ravaged Port, Suns, Sydney and an injury ravaged St.Kilda. 

Edited by At the break of Gawn
Posted (edited)

This was written on fox website for this week's preview:

The midfield mix changed all day against GWS last week. Angus Brayshaw spent full quarters in the forward line, then the midfield, then defence. James Harmes had a quarter in all three areas too. Nathan Jones returned to the midfield having been a wingman or defender for almost the entire season; Jack Viney remains in the midfield even though he’s having his worst season (per the AFL Player Ratings) since his debut.

Did anyone notice the musical chairs for Brayshaw and Harmes last week?  Its damn difficult to get 'connection' with forwards if the midfield is being moved around every 30 minutes especially when we are playing new faces each week due to injuries.

It looks like Goodwin has reverted to the hybrid mid/fwd roles of early last year when players were often played out of position.  iirc the hybrid was abandoned after the mauling by the Hawks.  I would prefer players be mainly in their natural positions to develop cohesion and be predictable to each other.  Surely, the much sort 'midfield connection with forwards' would improve.

Posted

anything could happen.  we usually play better the week after being pathetic.

Adelaide are no great shakes but they will probably win

Salem in is massive.  he is moving up the ranks of our most important players

would friggen love to win though.  bit of excitement going into QB and the bye

Posted
1 hour ago, dees189227 said:

Mitch Hannan apparently on board to darwin and so is salem 

I reckon hannan is one of the important players we have been missing this year. 

He totally is. And there is 8 or so others 

Posted

I feel like in the blizzard of disappointment the fact that weed is not in the team has been skimmed over a bit, here on dl and in the media.

Much was expected of weed this year and for a young player he is inordinately important to us given he is one of only two key forwards we have.

He gets dropped for form and to work on his craft. Yet to return despite our inability to score and huge injury list. 

He hasn't looked fit and part of me hopes that is due to carrying an injury as the alternative is he hasn't done the work he needed to have done.

He has the talent, is still young and may well be carrying an injury so the alarm bells are not ringing. Yet. 

Fingers crossed he is back soon and delivering on his talent.

Posted
1 hour ago, dees189227 said:

Mitch Hannan apparently on board to darwin and so is salem 

I reckon hannan is one of the important players we have been missing this year. 

I wonder if Hibberd and Hore were on board?

Posted

Im off to Darwin tonight to lend some support .Can any posters advise where we congregate to have a drink in Darwin ?The anecdotal evidence from the Gold Coast function is that we imbibe at the Boat Club but I haven't been able to confirm this .I would hate to wander in to some Crows haunt and be never seen again .Any info is appreciated

2 hours ago, dees189227 said:

To the melbourne fans who have travelled to Darwin lucky you. Enjoy the warm weather. 

Posted

I’m honestly stunned as to what the FD see in smith over the Weid. He’s played 2 vfl games and dominated in both of them. 

Posted (edited)

Smith has been our best contested mark in his games this year. He needs to do more, but I’m not concerned by his selection.

Im baffled at Spargo getting another game. He has been awful this year. Needs to go back and try and get his hands on the footy a bit.

Edited by Forest Demon