Posted

We're not over with Phantom Drafts yet. Here's mine for the PSD (based on teams passing and the fact that WCE will delist Cousins by November 30):

1. Richmond - David Gourdis

2. Carlton - Ryley Dunn

3. Melbourne - Tom Bellchambers

4. Bulldogs - Scott Welsh

5. Essendon - Andrew Renton

6. Fremantle - Clayton Collard

7. West Coast - Patrick McGinnity

Posted
We're not over with Phantom Drafts yet. Here's mine for the PSD (based on teams passing and the fact that WCE will delist Cousins by November 30):

2. Carlton - Ryley Dunn

What about the Rookie Phantom Draft......

Posted
What about the Rookie Phantom Draft......

Not a bad idea. I've been working on the first Phantom Draft for the 2008 AFL National Draft and here it is up to position # 5

1. Priority Selection Carlton - Nick Naitanui (Western Australia)

2. Carlton - Michael Hurley (Vic Metro)

3. Collingwood - Daniel Rich (Western Australia)

4. West Coast - Steven Gaertner (Vic Metro)

5. Richmond - Nick Suban (Vic Country)

I hope this is revisited in 12 month's time to test my accuracy :lol: .

Posted

wow good effort WJ

-just a little fact a bit off the topic, my dad spoke to Paul Gardner last night and he said that one of the criteria for melbourne picking up players is that they must have either captained a side or had leadership responsabilities some time in their life, which i thought was interesting

Posted

West Coast wont finish that low

They will still push for the top 4

I reckon the Bombers will be picking first in next years draft

Posted
West Coast wont finish that low

They will still push for the top 4

Yeah but that pick will be the one they get in exchange for Brad Ebert when he demands to go home. ahhahah :lol:

Posted
wow good effort WJ

-just a little fact a bit off the topic, my dad spoke to Paul Gardner last night and he said that one of the criteria for melbourne picking up players is that they must have either captained a side or had leadership responsabilities some time in their life, which i thought was interesting

I picked this a couple of years ago. In almost every players' bio in recent years it has said "leadership potential," or "potential captain," which I find interesting. With the exception of Morton and Maric who don't fall into this group, we have players like Grimes, Jones, Dunn, McLean, Frawley, Bartram, Davey and Petterd who all fit the bill nicely. In positive terms this partially solves the leadership issue at the club in the coming years, and ensures that attitude will never be the downfall of one of these players... but it also means that you have a LOT of leaders and not so many followers.

I think it's a great theory, and one of the chief reasons why CAC has been able to pull so many smokies from low in the draft as they seem to rely on guts and determination, as well as pride to get themselves into AFL footy earlier than expected.

Posted
wow good effort WJ

I have no doubt that the club gives credence to this, but I also have no doubt that in the early part of the draft they pick 'best available'.

Posted
I have no doubt that the club gives credence to this, but I also have no doubt that in the early part of the draft they pick 'best available'.

I'd suggest that "leadership" is one of the criteria in determining "best available". Potentially as highly as "speed", "skill", or "football smarts" depending on the existing crop.

Posted

2. Carlton - Ryley Dunn

I think Melbourne would be crazy to not take Sampi. The guy can play. Yeah, he might not be slim and teriffic at the moment and he might not have played at all last year. But he is only 23 (i think) and worth another shot. Give the guy a go. He has talent to burn and he would definitely add to our forward line. Marric wont play much next year so why not. After all he is not going to cost us too much as he has stated he would play for minimum salary.

Posted
I think Melbourne would be crazy to not take Sampi. The guy can play. Yeah, he might not be slim and teriffic at the moment and he might not have played at all last year. But he is only 23 (i think) and worth another shot. Give the guy a go. He has talent to burn and he would definitely add to our forward line. Marric wont play much next year so why not. After all he is not going to cost us too much as he has stated he would play for minimum salary.

I tend to agree a bit, i still think he may be worth the punt. There is a couple of guys that slipped through the draft that sound alright too, is Kangars eligible to be taken in the rookie draft?

Posted
Who will we trade to get that pick?

Wont need to trade, Ash

The formula is simple

Add 1 Matthew Knights as coach

Allow Matthew Lloyd to remain captain

Lose 1 James Hird

Lose 1 Kevn Sheedy

The finished product will look like a shiny wooden spoon

Posted
Wont need to trade, Ash

The formula is simple

Add 1 Matthew Knights as coach

Allow Matthew Lloyd to remain captain

Lose 1 James Hird

Lose 1 Kevn Sheedy

The finished product will look like a shiny wooden spoon

Excellent, I thought you'd say that. Actually, I was hoping you'd say that.

I now know that we are one team that won't win the Wooden spoon next season.

Yze_Magic strikes again. Awesome stuff mate.

I assume in your opinion we are no chance to play finals then.

Posted
Excellent, I thought you'd say that. Actually, I was hoping you'd say that.

I now know that we are one team that won't win the Wooden spoon next season.

Yze_Magic strikes again. Awesome stuff mate.

I assume in your opinion we are no chance to play finals then.

To bring some sense to it Ash, you are as much a chance to play finals as anyone else. Your chances will depend like most others on injury and the season that your senior players in Lloyd, Lucas, Fletcher and McPhee have, as well as your ageing midfielders in Peverill, Johnson etc. If your key forwards and Fletcher are out or have bad years the season is over in my humble opinion. Not really much different to everybody else.

Posted
To bring some sense to it Ash, you are as much a chance to play finals as anyone else. Your chances will depend like most others on injury and the season that your senior players in Lloyd, Lucas, Fletcher and McPhee have, as well as your ageing midfielders in Peverill, Johnson etc. If your key forwards and Fletcher are out or have bad years the season is over in my humble opinion. Not really much different to everybody else.

I agree entirely. Really, we are in a rebuilding stage. We won't have Fletcher, Johnson, Lloyd, Lucus etc around forever, and despite what alot think, we actually have a bit of young talent on our list, but it's the middle age players we are missing. Those 80-150 game players that seem to make up the bulk of most premiership teams.

I doubt we'll play finals in 2008 to be honest, but I doubt we'll win the spoon either.

Still, if Yze_Magic could just confirm for me that in his opinion we are no chance of playing finals, I'll go into the season with a little more confidence. ;)

Posted
Still, if Yze_Magic could just confirm for me that in his opinion we are no chance of playing finals, I'll go into the season with a little more confidence. ;)

After reassessing the Bombers list and the brilliant football mind of Knights, I am now tipping the Bombers to win the flag in 2008

Posted
After reassessing the Bombers list and the brilliant football mind of Knights, I am now tipping the Bombers to win the flag in 2008

[censored]!! :o

We're screwed now.

Posted

QUOTE(Chelly @ Nov 25 2007, 07:06 AM)

2. Carlton - Ryley Dunn

Looks perfect. I'd be very happy to pick up Bellchambers, the two above are credible, the remainder seem to fit club needs too.

And even if Sampi looks ok (he's not going to reach 'impressive' in two weeks from his current performance) I'd rather select for a particular need at this stage, and get the young ruckman.

Not a bad idea. I've been working on the first Phantom Draft for the 2008 AFL National Draft and here it is up to position # 5

1. Priority Selection Carlton - Nick Naitanui (Western Australia)

2. Carlton - Michael Hurley (Vic Metro)

3. Collingwood - Daniel Rich (Western Australia)

4. West Coast - Steven Gaertner (Vic Metro)

5. Richmond - Nick Suban (Vic Country)

I hope this is revisited in 12 month's time to test my accuracy :lol: .

Ballsy. Tipping the top five players AND the bottom four of the ladder in one go, a year out.

I don't know about the players, but the ladder bottom actually looks good, except for West Coast, they still have 'Subiaco Oval' playing for them so would really have to bum out to hit bottom four.

Posted
And even if Sampi looks ok (he's not going to reach 'impressive' in two weeks from his current performance) I'd rather select for a particular need at this stage, and get the young ruckman.

Ballsy. Tipping the top five players AND the bottom four of the ladder in one go, a year out.

I don't know about the players, but the ladder bottom actually looks good, except for West Coast, they still have 'Subiaco Oval' playing for them so would really have to bum out to hit bottom four.

If any of our trackwatchers have been to training lately has Sampi shown any signs of being selected or is he istill injured and overweight?

Posted

1. Richmond - David Gourdis (Subiaco)

2. Carlton - Ryley Dunn (Fremantle)

3. Melbourne - Ashley Sampi (West Coast)

4. Bulldogs - Scott Welsh (Adelaide)

5. Essendon - Clayton Collard (Fremantle)

6. Fremantle - Trent Dennis-Lane (Subiaco)

7. West Coast - Brad Smith (Subiaco)

8. Essendon - Matthew Quinton (Northern Knights)