Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 03 vs Carlton

39 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

Its going to be a long season - why wear ourselves out unnecessarily turning up for 4 quarters when we only need one half to beat them?

There was a season under Daniher - I think 2002 - where we routinely gave away a four-goal start just to keep things interesting. Personally I prefer a good start and then a gradual extension of the lead, but everyone has their own tastes.

3 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

I wonder every week do people ever look back with embarrassment on their posts

PFffffft!!

2 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

Pretty sure he had 11 tackles to half time, when it was going belly up. He dug in in that first half.

St Kilda are fools for letting him go. He just gives his all. We’re lucky to have him.

I was speaking to 2 maturagad Saints supporters yesterday morning.Both were annoyed that the Saints dumped him for a less skilled Doggies player

Wow what a game... I'm speechless

At the ground i couldn’t watch us have a set shot so nervous one of if not the best games I've been to live.

Kossi is next level wow

Maxy just willed us back into it.

What an evening! I’m playing video games with the full replay next to the Tv while watching the dudes go off on “The Jumper Punch Emergency Meeting” Carlton podcast on YouTube. 😂

Edited by VNightCityLegend

My favourite quote from Big Footy (Carlton)

• good quarter

• bath water

• lose

• Author
7 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Funny you mention that, at half time when looking at the job ahead, I thought back to that game in 2008. The Aussie Wonaeamirri game. This was definitely up there with that.

The Geelong one was special too because we took out the Minor Premiership and it set us up for the flag run.

I have never been a big Howes fan, but he was great today. Enjoyed seeing he, Sparrow, Kolt and Sharp excelling under the new gameplan.

10 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

Pretty classy of Andy at the siren to say ‘Well done Max’.

Agree it was classy from him.

He’s a rusted on Blues man that has had enough of all the talk and not much action coming from his club. It’s the build up of hope and subsequent failures that becomes so demoralising. We’ve been in that position before and know how it feels.

Footy is a funny game. Great when your team is going well, depressing when it isn’t with no apparent way out. The wheel eventually turns, we just don’t know how or when.

I take no pleasure in schadenfreude unless it’s against the filth and McGuire. Stay the course Andy, as it will feel great when your time comes again.

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

The Saints must be delighted

Their fans knew right from the beginning losing Steeley would hurt. When it was first announced, their cheer squad head honcho messaged us saying you’re lucky to be getting Jack, we’re gutted to see him go. We will miss him, please look after him, he’s a wonderful human being.

1 minute ago, Garbo said:

Had heard from inside the club it was for not meeting certain standards on field last week, not sure why he was singled out as he couldn’t have been the only one

Well lets hope he sticks to it ,in seasons gone past it was the same old every week ,it is my perception the gap between the 1sts and 2nds is more mental than psychical ,if there is incentive for the fringe players to a least get a game with the big boys ,and they get a taste of the big time , we have drafted so many players in the past only for them to never even get a game ,to just rot a Casey

Fritta was lucky in the end 4.1 was a bit of lipstick on the proverbial... He stopped and waited 3 times and got spoilt, very lazy attack on the ball - junior footy skills taught to run through the oncoming ball

Petty does some good things, but ffs makes some consistently bad errors with ball in hand

Patty Cross 183cm, attack on the contest in the last - 1 vs 3 often and threw his body at it hard.... Loved it ❤️💙. But someone else should be playing full forward

3 hours ago, Demon_spurs said:

Patrick Cripps shoved Kolt to the ground after a decent goal, totally unnecessary! Always a folly to crow early, but I hope sometime Kolt reminds him of the final result. I enjoyed the Kama..

I thought I saw Kolt help Cripps up off the ground soon after that goal. Om 🙏

Next thing he’ll be snatching pebbles out of people’s hands.

And the AFL announced today that Kylie will be the half time entertainment on Grand Final day.

Kylie, should Demons members be signing up for a Grand Final Guarantee membership?

Kylie Minogue Yes GIF by Magic Radio

10 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Their fans knew right from the beginning losing Steeley would hurt. When it was first announced, their cheer squad head honcho messaged us saying you’re lucky to be getting Jack, we’re gutted to see him go. We will miss him, please look after him, he’s a wonderful human being.

Every Saints fan I know said exactly the same thing. They were gutted that he was discarded. Their loss. Our win.

It's days like today as to why I do not read gameday threads; although I understand the anger at halftime.

I just watched the replay and apart from celebrating TMac and Max I was pleased to see good performances from the young brigade (Langford, Lindsay, Tholstrup, Howes) and need another 20 plus games before we see consistent efforts and feeling comfortable with Kingball.

As for Carlton:

Goodfellas: Ray Liotta's Iconic Laugh Is A Lot More Than Just a Meme | Den  of Geek

Edited by Jibroni
error

Couldn't go - was away. Just finished watching the replay. Go redleggers!

9 minutes ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

Fritta was lucky in the end 4.1 was a bit of lipstick on the proverbial... He stopped and waited 3 times and got spoilt, very lazy attack on the ball - junior footy skills taught to run through the oncoming ball

Petty does some good things, but ffs makes some consistently bad errors with ball in hand

Patty Cross 183cm, attack on the contest in the last - 1 vs 3 often and threw his body at it hard.... Loved it ❤️💙. But someone else should be playing full forward

Got to admit in the first half I was having some very uncharitable thoughts towards Fritta

What a day for emotions.

Full of optimism with Max and TMac playing their 250th Paddy playing his first game.

1st Q Fumbles, wrong options, free kicks, dropped marks, no run - ready to give it away and not watch the rest

2ndQ Back in the game but no-one can kick straight, but at least competitive

3rd and 4th quarter complete turn around with huge pressure and one of the best come from behind wins for years

Just on pressure it is a telling stat - against Freo we had 49 tackles and lots of players getting none. Today we had 82 tackles and every player except one had a tackle.

I hope JVR gets back to running all over the ground as in pre season and against the saints. Trying to go one on one static doesn't suit him.

Never been a fan of Carlton you always hear they’ve got the next big thing and seemly have wasted a lot of high end talent over the years, I’ve never rated Cripps as highly as some people do, whenever he got compared to Oliver I always thought he couldn't even tie Oliver’s boots in terms of pure impact. it brought me a lot of joy to see him get nailed twice holding the ball at critical points of the last quarter after his carry on at the start of the game.

What a memorable game for cross to debut in. Quarter time he was probably thinking oh gee this is tough to total excitement in the end, especially after kicking his 1st goal which came at a very important time. He did well to crash packs & bring the ball to ground.

He set up a goal in the 3rd quarter by doing it & how special to be part of 2 massive milestone moments

Fantastic feeling to win like that, but now I have the quandary of not knowing how to feel about our next game against the Suns… they are possibly the most in form team in the comp, and not just a little better, but way ahead of every team!

Did we show form that can see us matching them, or are we, like in the Fremantle game, going to capitulate without so much as a whimper?

I’d love to think that we will be able to match it with the Suns, but unfortunately my MFCSS is making a resurgence.

In the meantime I’ll just bask in the afterglow of this victory!

5 minutes ago, AB10 said:

Never been a fan of Carlton you always hear they’ve got the next big thing and seemly have wasted a lot of high end talent over the years, I’ve never rated Cripps as highly as some people do, whenever he got compared to Oliver I always thought he couldn't even tie Oliver’s boots in terms of pure impact. it brought me a lot of joy to see him get nailed twice holding the ball at critical points of the last quarter after his carry on at the start of the game.

Commentators love Cripps, he throws the ball time and time again and they fawn over his elite hands. Clarry used to do the same and they were all over him