Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 03 vs Carlton

3 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

I was extremely close in writing Lever off but I'm glad I said it on the forum and to myself that I was going to give him a month to get some form back.

On the third time of asking he has played a game that Jake, the coaches and supporters would be proud of.

Let's hope he can maintain that level.

Well I woulda dropped Sparrow before Rivers.

10 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

Perhaps he wasn’t invited.

Wow wee, goodness me.
Perhaps he wasn't.

He also might've been abit apprehensive of his reception from the faithful

I watched the replay.

This might seem hyperbolic but after quarter time we actually had shades of our 2021 team.

Dare, well calculated risks, strong defense, composed under pressure... I even saw some of those shades in the Freo game, some passages that were just awesome to watch.

We had 56 points with 12 minutes left in the last. We ended with 100. We haven't seen something like that since the '21 Grand Final. Few teams have done that. Just absolutely blew them away. And EVERYONE standing up.

We are still going to cop it a few times this year. And that first quarter was pretty flat... but wow, our turnaround after quarter time was mesmerising. Even only kicking the one goal in the second, you could tell we were picking up the pace.

1 hour ago, Demonstone said:

Carlton have unveiled their new mascot this morning.

0i4VYTI.jpg

Fixed

0i4VYTI#9.jpg

Edited by Sydee

19 minutes ago, praha said:

I watched the replay.

This might seem hyperbolic but after quarter time we actually had shades of our 2021 team.

Dare, well calculated risks, strong defense, composed under pressure... I even saw some of those shades in the Freo game, some passages that were just awesome to watch.

We had 56 points with 12 minutes left in the last. We ended with 100. We haven't seen something like that since the '21 Grand Final. Few teams have done that. Just absolutely blew them away. And EVERYONE standing up.

We are still going to cop it a few times this year. And that first quarter was pretty flat... but wow, our turnaround after quarter time was mesmerising. Even only kicking the one goal in the second, you could tell we were picking up the pace.

And well you might...

As we were succumbing to the Pups that day the lads were encouraged, ne emplored to play "footy" .. there's no next week to worry about, play to your strengths, your instincts. We won because we effectively ditched the playbook of the time.

FFWD >>>

King's ethos and edicts: Yes there's a few 🙄 different ideas about setups and plays etc but the underlying ethos is to go out and play to your strengths....and a bit of follow your gut. Trust the basics, trust your team-mates , .... trust yourself

( same as on that 2021 day 😉 )

and there might have been shades of bang Bang BANG out there yesterday 🤔D

Edited by beelzebub

14 hours ago, Anti-Saint said:

DOF -

my Top 5 wins prior to today and not necessarily there and not in order:

1987 triple-treat: Rd 22 v Dogs, EF v North, SF v AFLney

1994 QF v Tankers

2021 triple treat: Rd 23 v PBP, PF v PBP, GF v Dogs

1990: B2B Rd 22 v The Family Thuggers, EF v same

1988: PF v Tankers

today v Tankers

No win against Freo where we came back from over 50 points down? Can’t recall the year, but early 2000’s I think it was.

1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

May your neighbours continue to hate you every week deep into September 😀

1 hour ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

So do mine. 😂

Are yours like mine, Carlton supporters 🤗!

?

Watched the replay. I think the big structural change was putting Windsor to the back of the stoppage and using a half forward (often Chandler) at the drop.

That gave us protection on the defensive side but also speed to run out of the stoppage. Once we ran out of stoppage we hit targets inside 50.

Carlton had a strong patch early in the first, then it was an arm wrestle at 18-1, then they had another run late in the first. But it wasn’t a 6-0 goal quarter.

Otherwise for most of the first half we just fluffed chances to have plenty of goals on the board. We should’ve had 5-6 by half time.

18 minutes ago, hardtack said:

No win against Freo where we came back from over 50 points down? Can’t recall the year, but early 2000’s I think it was.

2008!

2 hours ago, old dee said:

I already have, neither has senior level talent.

You heard it here first, Jeffo WILL be offered another contract soon!

Just seen some vision of the carlton players going down the race. The abuse they copped from their supporters was sick. No player deserves that

1 hour ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

I was extremely close in writing Lever off but I'm glad I said it on the forum and to myself that I was going to give him a month to get some form back.

On the third time of asking he has played a game that Jake, the coaches and supporters would be proud of.

Let's hope he can maintain that level.

Might’ve been mentioned before, but it amazes me a little when a player spends 100% on the field like Lever did yesterday. Not a single minutes rest.

3 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

I’m sorry but this isn’t about slightly negative comments my point on the game day thread is the personal attacks on players especially the whipping boys like Sparrow, Lever and Kolt.

We have the resident peanut going on about Clarry not being in there as the reason for yesterday and we have supporters stating King has destroyed our defensive capabilities in a few months.

How long have we all been involved in or watched footy, judging by our supporters demographics I’d say the answer for most of us is a long time. So by all means vent, fumbles, poor efforts at contested loose ground balls, players not attacking the aerial ball coming in, getting smashed at the clearance and skill errors that’s fine.

Don’t get personal and King is what 9 quarters into his coaching career when these comments were made, Give him some time to prove he can change things or not. We’ve put it out there how we’re going to play and opposition teams aren’t just going to allow us to do that, they’ll put work into us to prevent the run and we have to work through challenges and figure it out. Carlton had 17 days to go away and work on a plan to stop our run and win the game

Maybe see what King and the team can do to counter what Carlton bring

The smashing at the clearance yesterday was obvious to all of us, and as I said we have the old Clarry and Trac whingers saying I told you so, well the boys need to learn the hard way and exposure does this as it did for the Hawks when the moved Mitchell and O”Meara to expose the youth. Well I think yesterday Sparrow, Kossie and Windsor worked their way through it and with Steele adding far more structural wise to our midfield I think the new brigade can continue to develop.

The defence struggled early yesterday but who wouldn’t have the way we were getting dominated at the clearance and couldn’t create any run from our D50 meant they were under siege. Well done to Lever and Tmac who stood tall and to Kolt and Howes who both turned around shaky starts.

Anyone who has sat in a coaches box understands identity what’s happening, stay calm and try to work through what’s been presented. It won’t always work but at least see how a coaching group responds

So kudos for yesterday and we move on to Gold Coast who’ve also had time to counter our game they present a huge challenge with their ability to win contested footy, run 2 ways and impact the scoreboard.

Vent if you want but keep it reasonable

Very well said PSD.

I actually didn't have you in mind when I said that it was more aimed at the one liner "Who wants to apologise for saying xxx" that so many do to get a cheap hit.

Getting personal with players is not on though I agree, I can't support that and will be the first to slam it.

And yes we probably did learn a lesson about what the new regime could bring. It catches teams off guard and the better we get, will keep us in matches as a team that can score quickly.

If nothing else, we are seeing how much work King has done in a short period of time.

19 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Just seen some vision of the carlton players going down the race. The abuse they copped from their supporters was sick. No player deserves that

Link?

6 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Matty Lloyd suggested Carlton should trade Cripps after yesterday 😂 bet we would take him

I bet we wouldn’t. After his early goal he was basically a tackling dummy for Steele.

I suspect King only wants 2 out of his 4 main mids to be bigger bodies, one as a defensive mid and one as an explosive type. At his best Cripps had some explosion, but for a while now he’s just a big lump who gets little value for his possessions.

Cripps would be great in a good side but the days of him carrying that rabble are done. He’s been a fantastic footballer who deserved a lot better than being selected by carlton.

Just now, Roost it far said:

Cripps would be great in a good side but the days of him carrying that rabble are done. He’s been a fantastic footballer who deserved a lot better than being selected by carlton.

i honestly don't know who would want cripps in the modern football environment

very few teams at the pointy end need a player of his type - perhaps the crom is the one exception, who really lack a big bulky contested clearance beast (which assuredly is why they have expressed interest in oliver and petracca in past off-seasons)

cripps will finish his career as a carlton great, but it's hard to see him having much success in his career - their side is just not set up for finals footy in the way the modern game is played

their best bet to have success was the year they knocked us off due to our inaccuracy; easy to forget their were 5 goals up on the bears in the prelim in 2023 before going down by about 3 goals

since 2024, the game has been markedly different, which is why our old system and style of play fizzled from that year on

Watching the last quarter where Carlton have just scored their final goal. From that moment we score 44 points and they score 1 point in the final 14 minutes. The same 43 point differential they held on us earlier in the game. Also the moment Max came back onto the ground to put on another rucking clinic.

Edited by Rab D Nesbitt

15 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

I bet we wouldn’t. After his early goal he was basically a tackling dummy for Steele.

I suspect King only wants 2 out of his 4 main mids to be bigger bodies, one as a defensive mid and one as an explosive type. At his best Cripps had some explosion, but for a while now he’s just a big lump who gets little value for his possessions.

Yeh good point.

I guess Steele and Viney are enough for our “bulls”. Wonder who we go for when those two hang up the boots?

We certainly have the speed already, they just need to polish their craft.

In saying that, we have Kozzie who put on heaps of beef in maybe 1 or 2 seasons. Wonder if he can teach the other young boys like Windsor and co how to stack it on.

Edited by GawnOfTheDead

5 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

I reckon Carlton coaches have copped too much criticism over the years. Not saying they don’t deserve any criticism, but it’s been at the expense of looking at Carlton’s on field leaders.

Cripps has been an awesome player, but he (and other current and Carlton’s previous leaders) are part of the problem. Individually very good players that can’t actually calm the nerves of the teammates they lead. Nobody looks composed when pressure is put on them and it spreads.

Explains partly why they look a million bucks in one half and turn to a mess the next half.

Matt Lloyd said if Kozzi was in a better team he would be talked about as the best player in the league by end of the season.

How does the quality of your team indicate the quality of a player? If anything, it's the opposite. Harder to look elite in an average team.

Probably just Lloyd trying to have a subtle dig at us. We are not a poor team, the bombers are. We are decent, thank you very much.

38 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Link?

Sorry just popped up on my phone. Can't find it again

16 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

i honestly don't know who would want cripps in the modern football environment

very few teams at the pointy end need a player of his type - perhaps the crom is the one exception, who really lack a big bulky contested clearance beast (which assuredly is why they have expressed interest in oliver and petracca in past off-seasons)

Agree. Crows and maybe Freo are the only competing teams that might be tempted by Cripps. I'd say Cripps would be tempted to leave Melb to get away from the nuffies

Blues need a rebuild. They have some kids and some coming next year. No idea why they didn't sack Voss last year. It's just a matter of time now

9 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Yeh good point.

I guess Steele and Viney are enough for our “bulls”. Wonder who we go for when those two hang up the boots?

We certainly have the speed already, they just need to polish their craft.

In saying that, we have Kozzie who put on heaps of beef in maybe 1 or 2 seasons. Wonder if he can teach the other young boys like Windsor and co how to stack it on.

It might take until Steele moves out but Langford mostly needs some work on his defensive pressure and tackling, if/when that happens he’ll move inside.

I wouldn’t totally rule out Kolt, they’re giving him the tagging jobs for a reason and he has moments that look like a strong midfielder.

Windsor has already added lots of size, he’ll end up a strong boy. He’ll never be a bull but hopefully he learns a few more ways to win contested ball. Kozzie has all his spins, taps and weaves to win clearances without relying on strength.