Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

GAMEDAY: Rd 01 vs St. Kilda

I don’t expect to win this game. The saints have a more settled side, there coach has been around for a while and they beat us twice last year. On top of that they had a full game last week. Conversely we have a side with a lot of changes , a new coach, a new game plan and half a game lead up two weeks ago. A two goal win to the saints.

1 hour ago, Wodja said:

Revenge is best served in the first round.

It's said that revenge is sweet and also that it's a dish best served cold, which means that revenge is no different to ice cream.

It’s funny, today I am off to the G and it is forecast to be 30 deg. Feels like I should be going to a cricket match. Go Dee’s!

Has the round 0 club actually had that much of an advantage over the team that didn’t play?

1) Richmond objectively outplayed Carlton in the second half which is completely at odds with what people are concerned about - the rested team being out gassed towards the end.

2) does anyone actually think Essendon would’ve beaten or come very close to beating Hawthorn had they also played last week?

3) Adelaide completely debunked the theory by knocking off the match hardened Collingwood in a statement win. Whilst the Pies came back in the last quarter, the Crows were able to get that second wave of energy and kick a couple of late sealers.

4) the one game that may support this theory is Freo fading against Geelong. However, if Longmuir can’t defend a 35 point lead, he has bigger problems than AFL fixturing.

Furthermore, we played GWS in round 1 last year in the same scenario and took them all the way to the finish line in a fine performance, albeit a loss.

I made the four minute trip to the ground all with the intent purpose of returning the favour for all the people on here who have kept me updated over the pre-season! Time to return the favour.

melky a level above and he is so crafty up front. 4 goals and nearly 5 To half time. Evergreen.

Tommy Matthews a tough little bugger. makes me feel so old looking so young!

Tommy Mac down back is impenetrable.

sorry I have no idea who the casey blokes are but one (64) has done some nice things in the midfield.

AMW and Rickey mentha have contributed well. I haven’t noticed XT until late in second quarter when I returned from my caffeine fix.

Nice ground here and a ripping morning for a warm up game before I head into the g for the big game this arvo.

Let me know If you want an update on any players (except Casey ones you will have to give me a number!).

Oh yes no snakes spotted and bacon egg rolls are decent for anyone who was wondering.

2 minutes ago, Demonski3 said:

I made the four minute trip to the ground all with the intent purpose of returning the favour for all the people on here who have kept me updated over the pre-season! Time to return the favour.

melky a level above and he is so crafty up front. 4 goals and nearly 5 To half time. Evergreen.

sorry I have no idea who the casey blokes are but one (64) has done some nice things in the midfield.

AMW and Rickey mentha have contributed well. I haven’t noticed XT until late in second quarter when I returned from my caffeine fix.

Nice ground here and a ripping morning for a warm up game before I head into the g for the big game this arvo.

Let me know If you want an update on any players (except Casey ones you will have to give me a number!).

What position is AMW playing?

Appreciate the update.

Apologies I posted to wrong threa

Just now, dazzledavey36 said:

What position is AMW playing?

Appreciate the update.

No worries. He has been playing back mainly from my observation. Will keep a closer eye on him this half. But he is moving really well and starting to get more into the game as it progresses. I think he is a real talent and can’t wait to ses him Get some games in and back into the seniors.

1 hour ago, BDA said:

what if its a draw?

Damn. Choices I hadn’t considered! Like a double zero in roulette it won’t happen surely?

12 minutes ago, Demonski3 said:

Thanks for the update. Is bill playing as a mid or half forward and how has his game been so far?

3 hours ago, Where Demons Dare said:

Let's go Melbourne! I'll be watching on from the hospital. My wife just gave birth to our first child. ❤️💙

Can I suggest Latrelle as a wonderful name? 😉

15 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Has the round 0 club actually had that much of an advantage over the team that didn’t play?

1) Richmond objectively outplayed Carlton in the second half which is completely at odds with what people are concerned about - the rested team being out gassed towards the end.

2) does anyone actually think Essendon would’ve beaten or come very close to beating Hawthorn had they also played last week?

3) Adelaide completely debunked the theory by knocking off the match hardened Collingwood in a statement win. Whilst the Pies came back in the last quarter, the Crows were able to get that second wave of energy and kick a couple of late sealers.

4) the one game that may support this theory is Freo fading against Geelong. However, if Longmuir can’t defend a 35 point lead, he has bigger problems than AFL fixturing.

Furthermore, we played GWS in round 1 last year in the same scenario and took them all the way to the finish line in a fine performance, albeit a loss.

GWS last year ran all over us late. It was IMO the single biggest reason they won the match. We just slowed to a walk when they kept running.

Great to have the footy back, it felt like the longest preseason gap for many years.

Excited to see how we will play forward, defense and in transition. A new coach with a very different mindset, as well as bringing in 3 mature players from other systems means it might take some time to all come together. So I am more observant than expecting of great things. But having said that I do feel that our speed and flare might surprise.

I don't rate the Saints so think it will be close.

I am most interested in our forward play. In the preseason we were much more mobile, with lots more repeat leading, while both Latrelle and Culley add strong variation.

59 minutes ago, ghost who walks said:

Will be surprised if we dont win by 10 goals they will be tired after last weekdrunk GIF

I think we are a good chance to comprehensively clean this mob up. Haven't been this excited since Harmsy hit up Fritta.

41 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

@Bring-Back-Powell, Please resist and desist from posting rational, well thought through positions on Demonland. If you continue to bring facts and insights like this, you will be escorted to the border and told to go on your way by the Paranoid Police.

As if this PATHETIC excuse of state government could get any worse, stand by if you are on the Pakenham or Cranbourne lines YOU CANNOT get of at RICHMOND due to metro tunnel realingning. You need to get of at Caulfield to get on Frankston line which stops at Richmond. Otherwise get to Town Hall station. CAAAAAARYYYST THIS GOVT IS TOTALLY SHOT!

1 hour ago, old dee said:

I don’t expect to win this game. The saints have a more settled side, there coach has been around for a while and they beat us twice last year. On top of that they had a full game last week. Conversely we have a side with a lot of changes , a new coach, a new game plan and half a game lead up two weeks ago. A two goal win to the saints.

That's the spirit.

12 minutes ago, picket fence said:

As if this PATHETIC excuse of state government could get any worse, stand by if you are on the Pakenham or Cranbourne lines YOU CANNOT get of at RICHMOND due to metro tunnel realingning. You need to get of at Caulfield to get on Frankston line which stops at Richmond. Otherwise get to Town Hall station. CAAAAAARYYYST THIS GOVT IS TOTALLY SHOT!

i think building world class public transport infrastructure is the government doing something worthwhile for once

Edited by BDA

1 hour ago, old dee said:

We just bought in one player who:

• is ranked as the AFL's most reliable target inside 50, marking 90% of his leads. This was the highest rate in the competition among players with at least 15 leads.

• the Leading Goalkicker goal kicker at Collingwood's for five consecutive seasons (2019–2023).

• has averaged approximately 1.7 to 2.1 goals per game over recent seasons (2023–2025), maintaining a career average of 1.7 goals per match.

And another player who:

1. has maintained an elite tackling profile for nearly a decade. In the 2025 season, he ranked 2nd in the AFL with an average of 8.7 tackles per game.

2. is a dual All-Australian & Best and Fairest.

3. achieved the High Disposal Efficiency as a tagger while playing a defensive "run-with" role, recorded a phenomenal 97% disposal efficiency from 33 disposals.

And six exciting players drafted in the first round entering their second, third or fourth seasons.

And 13 players who have played in a premiership.

I'm expecting a win.

24 minutes ago, picket fence said:

A bit of a jog should be no problem to a svelte and finely tuned athlete like yourself picket !

So Saints have the advantage of playing last week and having a settled side. I can imagine how settling it would be knowing that you’ve spent 4.6 million on three players.

11 minutes ago, BDA said:

i think building world class public transport infrastructure is the government doing something worthwhile for once

Wonder how many billions will get syphoned off by corrupt Jacinta's bikie mates for the job.

2 hours ago, D4Life said:

Agree!

But pathetic from AFL to not have the 10 teams who played last week play one another, and the 8 who didn’t play one another! Typical AFL, little effort to make it a draw vs FIXture!

Go Demons!

Is there even one person who agrees with the round 0 concept? (Where not all the teams play)

Supporters like to be able to measure & compare, it's what we do

It's such a no-brainer to kick things off with 9 matches. There's no real alternate argument (of any standing)

The Saints definitely have an advantage as running out the game last week got the cobwebs out

Where as we'll be feeling it half-way through the 3rd quarter or at least, in the last quarter

There's a difference between fitness & match fitness

13 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

A bit of a jog should be no problem to a svelte and finely tuned athlete like yourself picket !

13 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

14 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Yes well in my playing days I was known as the "SVELVET SLEDGEHAMMER:"