View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

PRESEASON TRAINING: Monday 12th January 2026

51 minutes ago, binman said:

Spot on about Collingwood's defensive issues.

The fast, transition footy Mcrae implemented at the pies (designed to counteract the zone defence, contest heavy method that was in vogue) is now the template for how AFL is played.

The method requires the back seven to push up the ground, making it super hard to maintain an effective zone defence whilst also putting a huge emphasis on defenders (and mids, wings and HHFs) needing leg speed to get back on turnover.

Given they won flag with a so so defence, and didn't have super quick back seven, somewhat surprisingly the Pies actually had the best defence in the AFL for most of last season. They mitigated their lack of defensive leg speed by being the slowest in the AFL to play on after a mark or free kick, allowing their defence to get set behind the ball.

But late in the season, injury age and their lack of speed all compounded and their defence fell apart, and they got opened up on turnover.

We had exactly the same issues, though ours were season long. And unlike the Pies our defensive structures were all over the shop. Which meant, that for all the noise about our forward line, our biggest issue was our chronic inability to defend on turnover.

Given Basset was our defensive coach he was bloody lucky to escape any real scrutiny as were a mess defensively.

Goody could have mitigated those issues by setting the defence deep and not playing fast. But instead, we went fast - in fact we were one of the fastest teams in terms of ball movement from the back half and were the quickest at playing on from a mark or free kick.

Obviously, King's method will be more of the same. But King won't have to worry about having our two best mids being butchers, which will mean fewer turnovers to defend. And i really like the mix of defenders with real leg speed he has at his disposal, in particular Disco (who is sneaky quick and zones off aggressively), Xavier Taylor and AMW (who, if fit, will be a key for us).

Goodwin the tactician was up against it with our lumbering, bomb it long midfield who so often seemed to ignore everyone including possibly the coach.

13 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

Goodwin the tactician was up against it with our lumbering, bomb it long midfield who so often seemed to ignore everyone including possibly the coach.

Yep.

With Viney, tracc and Oliver we arguably had the worst kicking midfield in the AFL.

18 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

Not just the midfield ... who amongst our backmen were able to hit up targets further afield at pace? They bombed it, much like the midfielders

It's a ruse that we moved the ball quickly from half-back. Long bombs take less time to travel and that was our game plan

Meanwhile, the other teams were sharing the ball at pace but in effect, that takes longer to progress forward than the long bombs

Another useless stat that tells us nothing

3 hours ago, binman said:

in fact we were one of the fastest teams in terms of ball movement from the back half and were the quickest at playing on from a mark or free kick.

I recall hearing one of the commentators* later in the season, saying that we had become one of the top three sides for speed of ball movement.

*I can't recall who it was, other than a stats nerd (as opposed to a clown like BT)

Edited by Roger Mellie

Food for thought... a winning relay team needn't have the fastest runners.... they need the quickest changovers 😉

If we can transition "effectively" with pace we wont need to be the quickest players by foot... but we'll be an absolute handful for opponents. A lot of defending relies on poor inbounding as well as time to setup. Get opponents on the Blackfoot.... get into their heads that one slip up and we're scoring snags... you've half the game won.

Good going Kingy...

Edited by beelzebub

27 minutes ago, Roger Mellie said:

I recall hearing one of the commentators* later in the season, saying that we had become one of the top three sides for speed of ball movement.

*I can't recall who it was, other than a stats nerd (as opposed to a clown like BT)

I reckon it's a load of garbage anyway. Much like all the bs talk about loading

Efficiency of ball movement is key. And to judge that, the eyes have it

The last 5 premierships have been won by teams that move the ball extra-well with high efficiency (yep, that includes us in 2021)

The Tigers of 2017 - 2020 constantly moved the ball forward via the corridor. Perfected the handball forward which often resulted in a hot-spot shot for goal

2 hours ago, Macca said:

who amongst our backmen were able to hit up targets further afield at pace?

Bowey. Salem. Turner.

8 hours ago, RedLegs23 said:

Cheers Stinga, gates were locked mate so unfortunately from behind the fence.

Great work despite the handicap. Thanks.

12 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Food for thought... a winning relay team needn't have the fastest runners.... they need the quickest changovers 😉

If we can transition "effectively" with pace we wont need to be the quickest players by foot... but we'll be an absolute handful for opponents. A lot of defending relies on poor inbounding as well as time to setup. Get opponents on the Blackfoot.... get into their heads that one slip up and we're scoring snags... you've half the game won.

Good going Kingy...

Kicking skills and more kicking skills

If all our players could hit targets with 30 metre bullet-passes (forward), we'd be world-beaters

As it stands, how many have we got, with that skill, who also gets the ball a lot?

I'm reckoning a few of our youngsters (and future youngsters)

1 minute ago, monoccular said:

Bowey. Salem. Turner.

Too many dinky 15 metre sideways kicks from Salem ... holds up the play and allows the opposition to reset

Bowey getting there as is Turner. But I wouldn't call either as gun players who can bullet-pass 30 metre kicks to position. Not yet anyway

Kozzie isn't bad but in the future, Taylor, Windsor, Kolt, Langford & Lindsay are capable

40 minutes ago, Macca said:

Kicking skills and more kicking skills

If all our players could hit targets with 30 metre bullet-passes (forward), we'd be world-beaters

As it stands, how many have we got, with that skill, who also gets the ball a lot?

I'm reckoning a few of our youngsters (and future youngsters)

Bit like a handover in a relay 😉

Gotta be quick... but got to be fluid and not drop the bloody thing..

See where I'm going

8 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Bit like a handover in a relay 😉

Gotta be quick... but got to be fluid and not drop the bloody thing..

See where I'm going

There hasn't been a lot of chat about King and whether he might be able to coach the team to 10-12 wins or so

But I believe that if we're able to get to 10 or 12 wins (and by default, a possible spot in the top 10) then King will be largely responsible

Why? Because the consensus (here at least) is that a lot will have to go right if we're going to get close to a positive W/L record

To my way of thinking, if we qualify for the finals, it will mean that King is getting a fair bit out of our senior players

I doubt that qualifying for finals will be on the back of the youngsters performing extra-well (although, they of course, can be a decent contributing factor)

On 12/01/2026 at 21:38, Jjrogan said:

I think he is the single most important player on our list. If he kicks 30 and plays 20 games it unlocks Kozy for more midfield minutes which is worth i believe 3 to 4 wins above replacement.

Let’s not put too much pressure on a kid that’s never played a senior game

11 hours ago, Dannyz said:

Absolutely nothing. Information regarding anything has become scarce.

This is even more brilliant than Jack Dyer's, "I aint going to talk in case I say something".

10 hours ago, Harvey Wallbanger said:

AFL reports that 2026 draft prospects Xavier Ladbrook (another Xavier) and Darcy Szerszyn will be training with us. Anyone know anything about these lads. It does not seem that trhey are tied to us - i.e. via an academy?

blurbs in here on both, academy all get a run at afl level during preseaosn, usually assigned geographically

Aussie Rules Rookie Me Central
No image preview

26 in 2026: A look ahead to next year’s top prospects

The budding draft crop of 2026 is offers plenty of promise, with two club-tied talents leading a diverse pack of prospects.

13 hours ago, Dannyz said:

Absolutely nothing. Information regarding anything has become scarce.

I wish you could report something @Dannyz but on the other hand that is brilliant to hear no leaks inside the club for a change.

Compared to the last 5-10 years.

Premiership aside we leaked like a sieve.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

5 hours ago, Roger Mellie said:

Got a feeling it might have been Nathan B.

17 hours ago, hardtack said:

Confidence can often be misread as arrogance…I get the feeling that he has found a place where he feels comfortable and it’s starting to show in his approach to the game.

Spot on. Jai seems to feel “at home” with us. I suspect the WCE didn’t make him feel as valued as we do. Our faith in him has had the knock-on effect of a confidence boost which has translated to his form on the field which is only getting better and better.

11 hours ago, Macca said:

There hasn't been a lot of chat about King and whether he might be able to coach the team to 10-12 wins or so

But I believe that if we're able to get to 10 or 12 wins (and by default, a possible spot in the top 10) then King will be largely responsible

Why? Because the consensus (here at least) is that a lot will have to go right if we're going to get close to a positive W/L record

To my way of thinking, if we qualify for the finals, it will mean that King is getting a fair bit out of our senior players

I doubt that qualifying for finals will be on the back of the youngsters performing extra-well (although, they of course, can be a decent contributing factor)

King has definately started on the wrong foot with me for trading Clarry, and before anyone tells me to shut up and or get over it, the proof of redemption or at least part of it will be in WINS! You give me wins and I'll shut the furg up, and if Clarry has an outstanding season, then I'll start again.

20 hours ago, Harvey Wallbanger said:

AFL reports that 2026 draft prospects Xavier Ladbrook (another Xavier) and Darcy Szerszyn will be training with us. Anyone know anything about these lads. It does not seem that trhey are tied to us - i.e. via an academy?

another Xavier you say, that would make 3...

XXx | Poster By Nuansa Art

12 hours ago, Macca said:

Too many dinky 15 metre sideways kicks from Salem ... holds up the play and allows the opposition to reset

Bowey getting there as is Turner. But I wouldn't call either as gun players who can bullet-pass 30 metre kicks to position. Not yet anyway

Kozzie isn't bad but in the future, Taylor, Windsor, Kolt, Langford & Lindsay are capable

I only attended the one session prior to Christmas and things may have evolved otherwise since ( inviting other trackwatchers to interject )... but thinking back in nearly everything I watched... the impetus was on forward movements... can't say I recall any overly lateral time killing stuff.

Interesting now I think about it.

16 hours ago, binman said:

Yep.

With Viney, tracc and Oliver we arguably had the worst kicking midfield in the AFL.

Definitely— Thule change alone is HUGE and many won’t realise it until they see it live a few times

8 hours ago, Willmoy1947 said:

Got a feeling it might have been Nathan B.

It’d all from champion data and Hoyney. So what we became was a side that had no indecision and finally just started taking first option… fast fast footy so this will now be more explored with some better patterns behind it with Kingy as it’s his thing