Posted

Sure, this incident didn’t look great, but I think it’s not what everyone thinks it is.

I reckon Maysie came to say something nice to Max along the lines of it’s ok mate, and Max was so bitter and angry with himself that he told Maysie along the lines of wtf? It’s not ok, I [censored] up.

I believe this because when Max made that blunder he was visibly absolutely filthy on himself. In fact, before Maysie even approached Max, Disco was already trying to comfort Max, but his gesture wasn’t verbal, an arm around the shoulder is less ‘triggering.’

Also, the push wasn’t aggressive. Had it been an aggressive push Maysie would’ve shown in his body language some form of anger/retaliation or at the very least, offence.

Max walked straight off the ground and straight through the rooms and probably straight to the only place with no cameras… the toilets. Because that’s the best place to be when you’re crying. Because yes, Max looked like someone who was trying hard not to burst into tears.

It’s something to consider as a possibility. I firmly believe it’s the accurate summation.

It’s one of the most nothing incidents I’ve seen the media harp on about. Doesn’t matter if May said “you fffing moron, you always kick to me in those situations” It’s 2 blokes who are deeply frustrated at what just occurred, not only today but this season. We had them, we absolutely had them. I was filthy and I was just watching.

Edited by Roost it far

5 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

It’s one of the most nothing incidents I’ve seen the media harp on about. Doesn’t matter if May said “you fffing moron, you always kick to me in those situations” It’s 2 blokes who are deeply frustrated at what just occurred, not only today but this season. We had them, we absolutely had them. I was filthy and I was just watching.

Gives them something to talk about (read: Milk) Tuesday-Wednesday before the round begins on Thursday.

Channel 7 claiming exclusive footage of May doubling down is beyond belief. It's laughable to suggest that he then went back for another go. Collingwood are having a shot for goal after the siren, I'd have thought the logical place for the full back to be is in the goal square.

Mountain out of a molehill.

i think the important thing is that it gives the afl medja something to focus on that is not the appalling decision making of and then complete unaccountability for the ineptitude of the maggots officiating the game

20 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Sure, this incident didn’t look great, but I think it’s not what everyone thinks it is.

I reckon Maysie came to say something nice to Max along the lines of it’s ok mate, and Max was so bitter and angry with himself that he told Maysie along the lines of wtf? It’s not ok, I [censored] up.

I believe this because when Max made that blunder he was visibly absolutely filthy on himself. In fact, before Maysie even approached Max, Disco was already trying to comfort Max, but his gesture wasn’t verbal, an arm around the shoulder is less ‘triggering.’

Also, the push wasn’t aggressive. Had it been an aggressive push Maysie would’ve shown in his body language some form of anger/retaliation or at the very least, offence.

Max walked straight off the ground and straight through the rooms and probably straight to the only place with no cameras… the toilets. Because that’s the best place to be when you’re crying. Because yes, Max looked like someone who was trying hard not to burst into tears.

It’s something to consider as a possibility. I firmly believe it’s the accurate summation.

I also read, that he was filthy with the umpires for calling him to play-on and/or 2 Pies players encroaching the mark.

may would have still done this if we were 50 points up, he is a perfectionist that’s just how he goes about it plus he is a massive hard [censored], we have much bigger problems then this atm media will pile on this as usual tho

46 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

With respect, I think your view is a stretch at best.

Steven May has a history being directly demonstrative to players on field immediately after they've made an error in game. And whilst he wasn't visibly demonstrative to Max post turnover, I'm not sure Max would have responded like that had May said something like "head up Maxy, forget about it". In fact I'm quite sure he wouldn't have. He didn't push Turner away for getting over to support. And as history shows, May has an inability to compose himself after a team-mate makes an error. I think it's much more likely that May suggested there were other options available to kick to, or something along the lines. Which clearly Max didn't need to hear in that moment.

I think taking your view also shifts the responsibility and focus away from something that May needs to eradicate from his game altogether. No other senior full back within the AFL berates his own team-mates in the way May does. Not only is it a [censored] look, it's simply not in any way constructive, especially on young players like Lindsay from the weekend. (and many others over the journey).

And on top of all of this is that May is a culprit for consistently making huge blunders himself so half the time he doesn't have a leg to stand on, yet he still does it.

And as far as the talk of 'care' goes. I mean, I wish people would scratch the surface a bit more. Screaming at your own team mates immediately after they've [censored] up is not showing care. It's showing an inability to self-regulate and adult one's self. There are several other options available to May that would show far more 'care' post mistake.

May shows a great lack of maturity, leadership and care in my eyes when he screams at team mates, especially out young guys. And frankly, he needs to grow up.

If nothing else, the footage of Max pushing him away and the media talk back around it will hopefully see him reflect on this pattern and instigate the change that is necessary.

4 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

And meanwhile Disco Turner is providing encouragement and positive reinforcement to Max.

Liking this guy more by the week.

Agree, and what a contrast. May should take a leaf.

Edited by Howard_Grimes

1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

The media has something against May.

The Beer incident back in 2019.

The malice at Entrecôte in 2022.

The alleged situation from this past off season.

Now this.

Nice fanfic OP. May has always loved to have a crack at others when he thinks they've let down the team. You've got Disco comforting Max and trying to push May away. Pretty obvious he was giving Gawn some feedback and Max didn't want to hear it. May is just a hothead and really should have waited until they were in the rooms to bring it up but I reckon both of them got over it pretty quickly.

1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

I think this is exactly what it was.

I think it's been said that Max didn't even hear what he said. May can be direct but I think the very nature of seeing a direct character's face approaching you can make you react this way especially when emotions are high.

Could be right, could be wrong, think it's a storm in a teacup though.

May has plenty of form in berating teammates, earlier in the game he looked to be absolutely blasting Xavier Lindsay?

If this is what you're focusing on today, you are focusing on all the wrong things.

Find me 2 more competitive guys, who are in the twilight of their careers, and who care passionately about winning.

If May gave Gawn negative feedback, then he did it in the heat of the moment. Remember how YOU, as a supporter who exerted 0 effort yesterday, felt watching that kick, and then think about players feeling that time 100 + adrenaline.

Do you really think Max is going to give a single [censored] about receiving feedback? He is a big boy and nothing anyone could say to him would be worse than what he would be feeling in that moment. Which is probably why he reacted the way he did.

As much of a non story as Trac losing it post game versus Geelong.

11 minutes ago, BW511 said:

May has plenty of form in berating teammates, earlier in the game he looked to be absolutely blasting Xavier Lindsay?

Barassi had plenty of form blasting teammates... thank God this group doesn't have to put up with such a plick! Oh, wait on...

1 minute ago, Jaded No More said:

If this is what you're focusing on today, you are focusing on all the wrong things.

Find me 2 more competitive guys, who are in the twilight of their careers, and who care passionately about winning.

If May gave Gawn negative feedback, then he did it in the heat of the moment. Remember how YOU, as a supporter who exerted 0 effort yesterday, felt watching that kick, and then think about players feeling that time 100 + adrenaline.

Do you really think Max is going to give a single [censored] about receiving feedback? He is a big boy and nothing anyone could say to him would be worse than what he would be feeling in that moment. Which is probably why he reacted the way he did.

As much of a non story as Trac losing it post game versus Geelong.

Well put.

There was a lot of genuinely interesting stuff to talk about after that game. Parts of the footy media have, yet again, decided to put a spotlight on something superficial and barely notewothy, then frame it as sensational 'drama'. It's A Current Affair level 'reporting': assuming the audience are bordering on vegetative.

1 minute ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

Well put.

There was a lot of genuinely interesting stuff to talk about after that game. Parts of the footy media have, yet again, decided to put a spotlight on something superficial and barely notewothy, then frame it as sensational 'drama'. It's A Current Affair level 'reporting': assuming the audience are bordering on vegetative.

They are obsessed with our culture.

May didn't need to do that in front of the cameras, but likewise he's a very emotional guy and he was upset. I doubt he thought it would even be shown on camera.

Oliver was right in front of us, and he got down on his hands and knees and punched the ground when Max miskicked. He was that upset.

Give me this level of passion and anger at losing, over Fritsch giggling every time he misses a shot on goal!

May is a hot head, always has been, and it's why he's one of the best defenders in the league. He gave Elliot, who is in superb form, a total bath yesterday. If May was having a go at a first year player, I would be getting stuck into him. But Gawn gives as good as he gets, and those two are senior players who should absolutely demand more from each other.

And the most laughable thing is those who think that the coaches are giving these guys hugs and kisses everytime they make a mistake. Like they don't hear hard truths and negative feedback all the damn time!
I reckon Jones yelled at Gawn plenty when he was a young player stuffing around.

If May was giving that feedback to Lever, nobody would bat an eyelid. But because Gawn is Gawn, it's a story. How dare anyone give the great Gawn feedback?!

Ever notice how every week there is one or two incidents that seem to be the media’s focus that week? It’s not an accident. It’s by design. The sooner you tune all of it out the better.

We all know what May is like on field - saying something after someone stuffs up is certainly nothing new. However, what really surprised me was Max’s reaction. If Max hadn’t shoved May, there’d be nothing to see. For Max to react like that is really out of character and probably shows how disappointed he was with himself rather than what May may have said. Both would’ve so much wanted to win this game, and both know we lost it, rather than the pies actually winning it.

Disappointment can make us do strange things.

3 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

It’s a pity May doesn’t hold himself to account like he does his teammates.

Weird assumption.

He's absolutely filthy with himself whenever he makes a mistake or error. I always see him putting his hand up or is visibly frustrated with himself when he stuffs up. Have also seen him bring up his mistakes in pressers.

Perhaps he gets a little too emotional at times in the heat of the moment. However, he simply holds himself and his teammates accountable. Why is this a bad thing? I think anyone who knows or has seen interviews with Maysy off the field knows what sort of supporting team first character he is. I have no doubt he would have been wrapping his arms around Lindsay and Max post game when the dust settled.

Edited by Young Blood

7 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

And the most laughable thing is those who think that the coaches are giving these guys hugs and kisses everytime they make a mistake.

This is an important point.

Saying "Whoa! Look. Players yelled at each other! What a story!" is fine in a vacuum. In the context of elite level sport, it's a preposterous thing to give more than five seconds of attention to. It pales into the palest insignificance when you put it against the things that would be said behind closed doors - even, or maybe especially, the things said without aggression or in the heat of the moment.

Imagine working for years and years to become an AFL footballer, getting drafted, doing brutal pre-seasons and then being taken into a room at the end of your third season, without having played a game, and told "You're not good enough. We're delisting you. We hope you can find another club, but we doubt it."

Or imagine being at the centre of one those ridiculous "honesty sessions" that were big a few years ago, but were nothing more than soviet struggle sessions dressed up in idiotic corporate language? Just being told "you're soft and nobody trusts you" in front of 40 peers.

Or imagine being told you need to harden up and get back on the ground even though your ribs are broken.

But no. Let's find a sixth camera angle of May saying "What the [censored] was that kick?" and Max telling him to "[censored] off".