10 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Stats is your thing.

I’m purely going on what I’ve watched, and nothing we’ve produced comes close to that of Collingwood or the Dogs. Their pressure around the ball carrier has been relentless. Stats don’t take into account the quality of opposition and how certain teams can maintain their KPI whilst missing key personal through injury or in Collingwood’s case by at times resting players. We’ve got some big games remaining this season against Pies x 2, Crows at AAMI, Suns at Metricon, Carlton, Dogs & Hawks at the G so we will be tested.

Whilst it’s great we’re winning and evolving the way we play I believe we’re still a bit of the pace of some teams. I’d like to see us use the corridor more after we’re created a turnover.

So your evidence supporting your assertion 'our pressure had not even come close to that what Collingwood brings' is your personal observations.

Seriously, that's it?

To be honest I'm really struggling to avoid responding with sarcasm or irony.

I'll resist that urge and simply say that your argument is, on many levels, unpersuasive- not least because of the high likelihood of confirmation bias given your well documented opinion of where we are at as a team.

Why don't you at least do some research to check if the data begween roundv6 and 11 supports your vibe?

If you are right the data will support your assertion, not contradict it.

By the by, stats aren't 'my thing'. My thing is trying to understand the game, and I find a combination of observation, looking at the data, curiosity and taking on board the many smart, well considered opinions of many posters on Demonland is really helpful.

7 hours ago, Katrina Dee Fan said:

Vonnie is so lovely :)

Does she also have the Zero Fade Blue Rinse??

28 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Stats is your thing.

I’m purely going on what I’ve watched, and nothing we’ve produced comes close to that of Collingwood or the Dogs. Their pressure around the ball carrier has been relentless. Stats don’t take into account the quality of opposition and how certain teams can maintain their KPI whilst missing key personal through injury or in Collingwood’s case by at times resting players. We’ve got some big games remaining this season against Pies x 2, Crows at AAMI, Suns at Metricon, Carlton, Dogs & Hawks at the G so we will be tested.

Whilst it’s great we’re winning and evolving the way we play I believe we’re still a bit of the pace of some teams. I’d like to see us use the corridor more after we’re created a turnover.

I’m not a huge stats guy but all the important stats have us comfortably in the top handful of clubs atm. We had Hawthorn on toast bar our kicking for goal and the last 10 mins of the match. We then beat Brisbane at the Gabba playing a relentless pressure game, we literally wore them out. Now we’ve completely and utterly dismantled Sydney, could have won by 80 plus points with off the charts pressure, sure they’re not at their best but rarely do you see a side do that to Sydney. They had no answers, none. Seriously what games are you watching? We’ve been more than impressive the last 3 weeks both in pressure and tactics. Not only that we’ve also been improving.

Edited by Roost it far

I purposely stayed off the SwansV Dees pregame thread and game day thread, however having tipped the Dees to win, it was just so good to be sitting at the G watching a huge fantastic victory over a team that has had our measure. We arrived early had lunch in the eatery called the Paddock on ground level, then wandered up to our seats on Level 1. Lots of familiar faces but there was a difference everyone was smiling and chatting away, got a few friendly waves and smiles as we settled into our seats, lots of kids in their Dee colours around us, warms the spirits.

Then it was on, building steadily through the 1st, 2nd and third too many points but we were winning all over the ground . Max lead the charge backed by Kozzie on fire, Claz smokin, Tracc being Tracc, Salo turned back the clock, Ed linking up, Bowey Wowey all day, Riv, The Duke, XL, Bison and Chin working hard, Steven, Rick, the Judd and Disco doing their thing, Milkshake, Fritta, Spaz and Petts putting on a Master class, Spargs in everything until felled unfairly, AJ was throwing his weight around and with some deft touches assisted with at least four goals that I counted. Then enter Harry Sharpe’s just as the game really heated up and he added two and assisted with a couple more in our frenzied eight goal last quarter to finally put the game well out of the Swans reach despite their final five.

The game just kept going and going I said to my daughter what’s going on, she said it’s almost 40 minutes, Melksham kicks a miracle goal and finally the siren sounds and we sing the song repeatedly then watch Tracc carried off by Salo and Clayton. Bravo Dees. It was an animated trip home with the fam and two grandkids, that was one to remember. ❤️💙👍😁

1 hour ago, DEE fence said:

One of the many things I rate about the coach and the team is the respect at the end of the game from our team to opposition. Grundy left, but quite clearly didn’t burn any bridges. There was some ‘heavy’ traffic involving Grundy both ways. Yet I saw him pick up one player in play and Clarry giving him [censored] about the grey whiskers in his beard after the game was fun. It didn’t work but that the separation was graceful shows heaps of class.

And kudos to Grundy who went out of his way to say hello to some of our support staff on the boundary post game.

He is a genuinely nice man, and I wish him the best. Except for when he plays us because Gawn is and always be the better player.

Sorry to drag up the AJ stuff again, and I largely agree with the combination of all posters.

1. He's probably not good enough

2. He's doing a serviceable role

3. As soon as JVR shows some form he comes back in

4. His skills so far have been comically bad

BUT did want to add the context of 'imposter syndrome'. As a mature age recruit there's probably a lot of this going on in AJs head, where clangers are exacerbated by a feeling of not belonging. It all must be very surreal for AJ playing alongside Petracca and Pickett, the same for Henderson. Only way he will feel he belongs is by playing.

14 minutes ago, HarpenDee said:

Sorry to drag up the AJ stuff again, and I largely agree with the combination of all posters.

BUT did want to add the context of 'imposter syndrome'. As a mature age recruit there's probably a lot of this going on in AJs head, where clangers are exacerbated by a feeling of not belonging. It all must be very surreal for AJ playing alongside Petracca and Pickett, the same for Henderson. Only way he will feel he belongs is by playing.

Totally agree, not to mention just playing at the MCG, he must pinch himself nightly.

6 minutes ago, HarpenDee said:

That's a reasonable assessment. I particularly like your insight about imposter syndrome. While AJ will never be silky skilled, if he ever has a game where he takes a few marks and kicks a few goals, that confidence will likely result in his skills improving. Just feeling like you belong (in any situation) helps you to be calm and make better decisions. Right now, it looks like he's trying to do everything too quickly (in what he sees as an attempt) to keep up with the speed of the game.

19 minutes ago, HarpenDee said:

He did a few good things yesterday. He cracked in, chopped Max out and set up at least 2-3 goals. He is doing everything that can expected and will only get better imo

We kicked 13.6 in the second half

even with only the second half we beat them by a goal

Should have been an 80 pt drubbing!

23 hours ago, deegirl said:

Did anyone see that huge flock of black cockatoos that flew over the ground during the third quarter. Haven’t seen black cockies in Melbourne since 2021…just saying 😂

Yellow-tailed Black Cockatoos, Zanda Funerea, Latin name for their dark plumage and mournful cry, as if going to a funeral. Appropriate seeing as Sydney was slowly dying out there.

1 hour ago, binman said:

So your evidence supporting your assertion 'our pressure had not even come close to that what Collingwood brings' is your personal observations.

Seriously, that's it?

I'll resist that urge and simply say that your argument is, on many levels, unpersuasive- not least because of the high likelihood of confirmation bias given your well documented opinion of where we are at as a team.

Why don't you at least do some research to check if the data begween roundv6 and 11 supports your vibe?

By the by, stats aren't 'my thing'. My thing is trying to understand the game, and I find a combination of observation, looking at the data, curiosity and taking on board the many smart, well considered opinions of many posters on Demonland is really helpful.

The other thing is that in Collingwood and Footscay games this year the umpires seemed to want to let a heap of decisions go past because both these clubs play the fastest and are coached like that to boot.

Got a feeling this bloke had more but there was a guy at Geelong who had a few deficiencies at the start of his league career but ended up playing in a flag team.

8 minutes ago, Demonised said:

Yellow-tailed Black Cockatoos, Zanda Funerea, Latin name for their dark plumage and mournful cry, as if going to a funeral. Appropriate seeing as Sydney was slowly dying out there.

Again... they are big buggers. Not talking you're everyday annoying sulphur crested fella. These would have headlined for 'Hitchcock' had he known. They sit in the trees down here ( Bass Coast ) and mock you. Kinda like the Grim Reapers of the feathered world. Harbingers of doom.... they caused Sydney's demise ... then came to gloat !!

( we need to make friends with these things...lol )

Inside 50’s in the 2nd Q

23-5

That’s a mauling

And we kicked one goal more than them

22 hours ago, Wodja said:

Got a little over excited did we? 😉Understandable. Go Dees

Gross

42 minutes ago, Demonised said:

What’s their indigenous name, I wonder?

How was Mills’ bump ONE WEEK??!

Left the ground, elected to bump, could have concussed Spargo, may have?

What a joke.

Koz got 3x that for Moore diving into his hip.

9 minutes ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

What a joke.

Yep it’s difficult to work out what Mills thought he was doing. It didn’t look like a “football act” to me. The Pearce Freo hit, to me was an unavoidable, unfortunate football act. What exactly was Pearce to do with the opponent running back with the flight of the ball?

The one week is because Spargo wasn’t concussed I guess but I can’t remember was Moore actually concussed from the Kossie bump?

The commentators, e.g. Bartel, Hird are saying the MRO findings are injury outcome based.

18 minutes ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

What a joke.

AFL at its finest..

B.S. meter about to explode

1 hour ago, binman said:

Seriously, that's it?

90% of posts on this site are based purely on people’s personal opinions and the majority of us including myself are for lack of a better term are mug punters who share not only a common love of footy but ultimately this club. The stats are not going to tell me the difficulty of the draw for a particular block of the draw (unless I’m looking purely against top 8 clubs) or if a club has chosen to rest key players or missing them through injury. Yes all the games make a season but certain wins mean so much more for various reasons. I’ve watched enough footy to know that as good as our wins against Freo, Brisbane and Sydney were l don’t believe that we’ve maintained a level of pressure for the whole game in the same manner that Collingwood did when they played Freo and Brisbane. When Collingwood is on their pressure is relentless, we’re building but we’re not there yet. Many will disagree and that’s fine, we play the Pies in two weeks so it will be a great test for us. I also believe Collingwood’s ball movement is better than ours, no stats to back this up just what I think. As I said earlier I’d like to see us use the corridor more but it’s harder to defend the turnover, so we’ve been working the boundary then looking in board as we go inside 50. The last few weeks opportunities have presented themselves to go more direct but we’ve resisted.

44 minutes ago, Earl Hood said:

Yep it’s difficult to work out what Mills thought he was doing. It didn’t look like a “football act” to me. The Pearce Freo hit, to me was an unavoidable, unfortunate football act. What exactly was Pearce to do with the opponent running back with the flight of the ball?

The one week is because Spargo wasn’t concussed I guess but I can’t remember was Moore actually concussed from the Kossie bump?

The commentators, e.g. Bartel, Hird are saying the MRO findings are injury outcome based.

Absolutely, didn’t look like a football act to me, either. And agree re Pearce. Stiff.

Yeah Moore was concussed. Ugh It’s a really lazy way of addressing high contact, non-football acts.

Pretty chuffed with myself that I predicted that this would be our biggest win of the season to-date yesterday morning on the game day thread. The belief in this group is really growing. I actually feel we've got a real level of trust with how we play, which was completely absent in 2024.

I get the love for AJ because he's just a competitive beast that will scrag and do anything to compete (even with giving away free kicks) but he's probably one of the least skilled AFL players on a list at the moment

The opportunity is right there for JvR to jump up and take that spot. I would trust JvR for a shot after the siren on a tight angle, I wouldn't trust AJ from the goal square.

I agree with PF on this one. Our best 23 has JvR over AJ.

10 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

against [censored] like Maynard, but he's also someone who drops chest

Thank you.

Here's hoping he gives Maynard a warm reception.

But I've been teetering between AJ and Jvr for selection this week. It's not an easy call. Those for Roo argue his marking prowess was back at Casey v AJ who you adroitly mentioned struggles in this area.

I think with Jvr he may get down on himself in games when struggling so he gets worse. But with AJ I wouldn't say he doesn't care but he seems like he's just happy to be out there.

I know who I'd prefer to have a beer with at least if that helps. No disrespect to Roo.

I like the fact that AJ probably intimidates defenders more. And I'm not saying Jvr doesn't give his all but I do reckon you can definitely say AJ does.

48 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Pretty chuffed with myself that I predicted that this would be our biggest win of the season to-date yesterday morning on the game day thread. The belief in this group is really growing. I actually feel we've got a real level of trust with how we play, which was completely absent in 2024.

I get the love for AJ because he's just a competitive beast that will scrag and do anything to compete (even with giving away free kicks) but he's probably one of the least skilled AFL players on a list at the moment

The opportunity is right there for JvR to jump up and take that spot. I would trust JvR for a shot after the siren on a tight angle, I wouldn't trust AJ from the goal square.

I agree with PF on this one. Our best 23 has JvR over AJ.

Any more big wins coming up in the near future?? Asking for a friend.