53 minutes ago, 710 Asbury St said:

I won’t lie, I had to put my sunnies on for the song. Had some tears in my eyes and didn’t want anyone to notice :)

I didn’t shed a single tear.

Suspicious Monkey GIF by MOODMAN

8 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

But more importantly…

HOW BLOODY GOOD WAS THAT WIN !!!

All the emotions running amok but the main one was RELIEF. So, so proud of our boys.

PS: ‘twas my lucky Melbourne socks that did it.

YOU’RE ALL WELCOME!

Needless to say I’ll be wearing them every week.

Again, you’re all welcome 😁

YEAH THE MIGHTY DEES!

Look after those socks

Edited by Go the Biff
Double quote

1 hour ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Another reason we need to re-sign TMac ASAP: the Filth are probably lurking in the shadows, ready to throw five years and a complimentary cheeseboard at him the moment we blink.

Cheese from Aldi doesn't taste any good, he's staying

I just watched Goody's post match presser. I am sure it has been mentioned here but it was all class. A lot of people here like to knock his game day coaching performance but it must be acknowledged that he had a great day today. A fair few challenges with Turner going down. He hele his nerve leaving Petty forward...big respect for that!

More reinforcement arriving soon makes for a positive outlook.

Great win. So glad I was there. I was hoping for a four quarter effort and the Dees gave it.

25K turned up today. Dees supporters were loud! I lost my voice - again!

As others have said in this thread - that was fun to watch. The style is less hesitant and much more play-on. It caught Freo by surprise so often - and me!

I noticed also that at one stage late in the game, the Forward 50 tackle count was us 23, Freo 3. Forward 50 entries were fast and many. Good signs.

Let's bring this style and intensity on ANZAC eve against the Tigers.

GO DEES!

15 minutes ago, Go the Biff said:

Look after those socks

It was too hot for socks

I think Jonesy and the midfield crew need some praise, 20 - 11 in centre clearances today and 18-22 in the stoppage clearances.

Last year and for the first couple of rounds it felt like we couldnt buy a centre clearance so today's performance from a clearance perspective was great to see.

Sean Darcy got dominated by Gawn today to such an extent that he Might wake up in cold sweats dreaming of max grabbing it out of the ruck

47 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

I need to apologise for saying Kozzie was a late out. We had DA members at Casey and they announced it in our group WhatsApp and it spread like wildfire throughout the cheer squad. Sorry for worrying folks.

But more importantly…

HOW BLOODY GOOD WAS THAT WIN !!!

All the emotions running amok but the main one was RELIEF. So, so proud of our boys.

PS: ‘twas my lucky Melbourne socks that did it.

YOU’RE ALL WELCOME!

Needless to say I’ll be wearing them every week.

Again, you’re all welcome 😁

YEAH THE MIGHTY DEES!

Please Ghostwriter wear your lucky socks every week.

Something that was clear to me today at the ground was there was much better assessment of the setup when kicking out. It wasn’t May’s ‘kick it long to Gawn’ over and over. Instead they looked to create, looking for run and overlap at times and other times precision delivery to work it out slowly by our trusted kickers. Bowey is a great playmaker and I hope when May returns he doesn’t bully his way into taking every kick out.

19 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

Sean Darcy got dominated by Gawn today to such an extent that he Might wake up in cold sweats dreaming of max grabbing it out of the ruck

Man, he really pantsed him

Was great to be back at the 'G watching the Dees. I couldn't believe that we had kicked 12 goals to half time. More of that please. Goes to show what effort can reward. No big changes for mine; May for Disco if he is injured. Also, bring in McVee for just about anyone. Well done to Fullarton on his first game, sprayed a kick but presented all game. I can't really think of anyone that was bad. Such a good team effort. Well done to all involved.

Just now, Ditcha said:

Please Ghostwriter wear your lucky socks every week.

Oh Ditcha… make no mistake… I’ll be wearing those socks to every single match. This evening I found my Demon Army socks in my son’s sock drawer and guess what? I’m leaving them there! Wore them five times, we lost all five matches. Never underestimate the power of the sock 😅

4 hours ago, Adam The God said:

We kill the clock correctly in Round 1 and we're 2-4...

..and, even without that, we're still only 2 games and % outside the 8!

Maintain the rage, 'Landers!

5 hours ago, Garbo said:

Very even effort don’t think there was many passengers today, first time this year we have been able to lock the ball inside of 50 for periods of time

except for Sharp and Spargo

4 hours ago, Adam The God said:

We kill the clock correctly in Round 1 and we're 2-4.

We use present tense instead of past tense and we’re confused.

Soz ATG, but with such a good win there’s nothing else to pick on and without squabbling is this even really Demonland? 😁

3 hours ago, John Crow Batty said:

Tmac was always an elite defender before he went to play as a forward. Issue was we were a terrible side then and his efforts were never properly recognised.

You must have PTSD related amnesia about the heart in mouth short kicks out of defence early in Tommy’s career. That was always a wild ride

If I’m not mistaken, wasn’t he a forward when we drafted him? I thought that was what made his defensive work so good.

1 minute ago, Undeeterred said:

You must have PTSD related amnesia about the heart in mouth short kicks out of defence early in Tommy’s career. That was always a wild ride

Now that you mention it, T-Macs kicking has improved quite a bit over his career. He’s much more reliable than he used to be.

Petty is a forward. He just needs space. Give Kozzie whatever the hell he wants. He and Petty are a great combo.

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

12 minutes ago, David-Demon said:

except for Sharp and Spargo

You’re suggesting Spargo was a passenger today?

He was very good today.

1 hour ago, KLV said:

It was too hot for socks

Try telling that to a GWS player in long sleeves at Casey today!

A truly amazing game when you take in to consideration the previous games this season. In some respects it raises more questions that answers, but keep it coming and I'll forget all the questions.

The young brigade played a significant part today, Tholstrup, Rivers, Lindsay, Bowey, Langford and Windsor positively affected the game. Kozzie was extraordinary. All under 24. The future looks good. McVee still to come back.

How did we do without May & Lever?

Viney, Gawn & TMac leading the way.

Mild case of delirium.

Go Dees.

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

What did you think of the game today mate? Did it look like the pre season ball movement that some have said?

Thought we were so exciting. And of course Goody and Chaplin have been there before playing that way with earlier iterations of this team. Bassett's attacking defensive set up during his time at Port will be an interesting watch for the rest of the season.

Hopefully having May, Lever and McVee back in the back 7, we'll manage to win more 1v1s back there, but it felt like the easy scores against were a midfield problem. Either from too aggressive set ups or poor set ups or poor defensive transition.

I also hope having May and Lever back doesn't slow or [censored] our bounce off half back.

I reckon our half backs have been on an upwards trajectory all year with their ability to share the ball, switch and generate some footy through the corridor.

Langdon as a 4th mid from the half forward line, Tracc on ball and Kossie finally gave us some midfield speed and run so when the backs did take it on they had options.

Combine that with Petty providing a target and good energy from the smalls (best game Spargo has played in yonks, Kolt and Sparrow) across half forward everything was much more cohesive.

Midfield defensive transition and some parts of the defensive zone still scare me but Freo have waltzed through us for years so it was a big step forward.

4 hours ago, [email protected] said:

Did not see that coming well done all round Like they say its never as bad as you think. Beat Richmond pleaase Any one know how Fritsch went in the 2s ?? All that rubbish about players did not care.. they were trying last few weeks just skills and system was down. Goody said it will turn and it bloody did Great win

Further work required and maybe a decent nights sleep or two