We should look at getting James Hird for our next coach. We have to forget about the past Essendon drug cheating scandal. Hird has got a footy brain. Possibly Buckley or to Longmire. Currently Goodwin should be paid out. Richardson or Choko should take over as caretaker coach. Hogan and Ginnivan as players had issue with their previous clubs and are succeeding with GWS and Hawthorn respectively.

As with the Buddism belief the past no longer exists.

On 06/04/2025 at 04:54, Demonsone said:

Longmire would certainly bring culture but may be cooked losing 4 x GF

He may or may not be cooked.

But John Longmire may also be hungry for a fresh start at a new AFL Club.

I think if Simon Goodwin isn't coaching the Demons in 2026 that we need a fresh start with a new coach. However, that coach needs to be experienced and be able to command respect.

Ideally we need another Premiership coach, whether it is John Longmire, Adam Simpson or Luke Beveridge (if he is available).

Furthermore, we need yet ANOTHER full in-depth review of our entire football department at the end of this season. The primary goal should be building a team to win our next AFL Premiership for the Melbourne Football Club as soon as reasonably possible.

On 04/04/2025 at 21:55, Demon Disciple said:

Funny how since the players have been trusted more for their own fitness regimens over the summer, we can barely run out 3 quarters.

This new ‘love’ program needs to be torn up, players have gotten way too complacent. Time for the tough love approach, who cares if we put noses out of joint as something drastic needs to be done.

Replace the word “Love” with Respect

On 06/04/2025 at 05:04, Supreme_Demon said:

He may or may not be cooked.

But John Longmire may also be hungry for a fresh start at a new AFL Club.

I think if Simon Goodwin isn't coaching the Demons in 2026 that we need a fresh start with a new coach. However, that coach needs to be experienced and be able to command respect.

Ideally we need another Premiership coach, whether it is John Longmire, Adam Simpson or Luke Beveridge (if he is available).

Furthermore, we need yet ANOTHER full in-depth review of our entire football department at the end of this season. The primary goal should be building a team to win our next AFL Premiership for the Melbourne Football Club as soon as reasonably possible.

One thing for sure Horse's way wouldn't be a camp fire kumbuyah sing-along love-in !!

So that's a start I guess 🤔 🤣

On 06/04/2025 at 05:14, DiscoStu17 said:

I don’t care about respect.

I just want a BJ

I honestly think Goddard would make a great coach.

Respecting Club and Teammates is very important

How would you know if Goddard is a good coach

Personally i would love to see Jordan Lewis back as an assistant

Goodwin won’t last the year, so i hope the Search for a Senior replacement has begun behind closed doors

Simpson as Football Director

New Assistants bar Chaplin and Bassett

Best Assistant in the Kingsley mould as coach

Brad needs to tell Simon he's got 6 -8 weeks and he loses a week everytime he says love or vulnerable or they train with a soccer ball.

I'd be on the hunt for the next coach right now.

I'd also allow Goodwin 6-8 weeks to show he has the players.

On 04/04/2025 at 12:48, Supreme_Demon said:

BevoUnless Simon Goodwin can salvage a miracle to save his coaching career there will be a few possibilities for the next Demons coach.

1) John Longmire probably at the top of that list. Would definitely be keen to get him.

2) Justin Leppitsch is another possibility. Done some great work as an assistant coach at both Richmond and Collingwood after an unsuccessful stint at Brisbane.

3) Then Adam Simpson. He is a former Premiership coach after all.

4) Then Ken Hinkley. Who will be looking for a new job at the end of this season.

5) Unlikely, Nathan Buckley, who is probably keen on the Tasmanian Devils job.

6) Lastly, Luke Beveridge if the Bulldogs don't make the finals.

100% this is the list

Senior coach with authority to oversee the whole footy dept. And reinvigorate from the top down - can't see a newbie doing it.

I would have e equal top footing to Simpson and Bevo. Reckon Bevo needs a new project away fromthe kennel. Simmo has an aura - we need that.

Kenny, bucks and Leppa would all bring something - but as you say bucks probably has one foot in tassie. Not convinced by horse - he inherited rolled gold from Roos much like goody but with resource that we dont have

On 06/04/2025 at 01:05, junk said:

As with the Buddism belief the past no longer exists

That’s not true. Buddhism doesn't deny the existence of the past, but rather emphasises the importance of understanding its influence and learning from it without being held captive by it. 

On 06/04/2025 at 01:05, junk said:

We should look at getting James Hird for our next coach. We have to forget about the past Essendon drug cheating scandal. Hird has got a footy brain. Possibly Buckley or to Longmire. Currently Goodwin should be paid out. Richardson or Choko should take over as caretaker coach. Hogan and Ginnivan as players had issue with their previous clubs and are succeeding with GWS and Hawthorn respectively.

As with the Buddism belief the past no longer exists.

hird or buckley have been removed from modern football for some time and i am not convinced either will ever return to afl coaching ranks

neither achieved much of note other than ruining the fabric of their clubs

no thanks

Goodwin has got to go, he is just no good and never has been, get rid of him now, replace him with Buckley, Longmire, Hird anyone, interview Hird, or bring in a young one from another, ask Yze if he wants to come home, Geezuz there’s gotta be heaps better than Goodwin!

On 06/04/2025 at 05:44, Roost it far said:

Simpson as Football Director

New Assistants bar Chaplin and Bassett

Best Assistant in the Kingsley mould as coach

Brad needs to tell Simon he's got 6 -8 weeks and he loses a week everytime he says love or vulnerable or they train with a soccer ball.

I'd be on the hunt for the next coach right now.

I'd also allow Goodwin 6-8 weeks to show he has the players.

We will not win 5 games this season, Petracca and Kossie will leave, Max & May might retire, Lever should be captain coz Viney has had it, his legs are slow

Firstly I think if you ask a lot of the other coaches out there if they could re-invent and re-invigorate many of our players the answer would be yes. If you believe this and I do, then already other clubs are starting their approaches to get hold of our players. Take Fritsch for example who has lost all confidence or Viney, who has become a turn-over merchant under Goodwin. Oliver who has lost his speed and couldn't keep up with Danger on Friday night but is still about 5 years his junior and still has a lot to offer (most likely with another team). Petracca who is frustrated and believes it is everyone else's fault. Kossie who is a simple genius and doesn't want to deal with all this negative introspection. All these players and more are ready to listen to the sweet dealings of other suitors.

Under Goodwin we will be a year or two behind Richmond in a short time and with Tassie on the horizon it is not a time to be sinking to the bottom of the ladder and with Melbourne's inability to hold off the evils of the media we will be preyed upon very quickly. This will already be happening and it may be too late to change our ill fortunes.

But we do need to act quickly. Whether you are a glued on fan of Goodwin or not the situation has moved beyond him. The club I think needs to change. It needs to turn a leaf. We are mired in such a funk that if we continue there is no avoiding a full blown bottoming out and possibly years in the bottom four. We need someone new to re-establish the faith. The incumbents have had their chance and their story has become our reality.

I would be approaching Longmire with the biggest selling point being our home ground is the MCG a ground that was a stumbling block to his ambitions as a coach. I think he would love to master the MCG. Melbourne might be that club.

• Author

So it looks like it's a race between Goodwin, Voss and Hinkley to be sacked first.

I wonder how the odds are atm? 🤔😅

On 06/04/2025 at 23:04, ElDiablo14 said:

So it looks like it's a race between Goodwin, Voss and Hinkley to be sacked first.

Hinkley would have to be leading given he's already leaving end of year.... He may step aside early if they lose a few more.

Goody and Voss it's really who has more losses first!

On 06/04/2025 at 23:04, ElDiablo14 said:

Goody won’t be sacked during the season, it ain’t happening.

He might not see out his last year, which will be a “mutual” decision of course.

On 06/04/2025 at 05:44, Roost it far said:

Brad needs to tell Simon he's got 6 -8 weeks and he loses a week everytime he says love or vulnerable

Fine but I expect that our new coach does all his press conferences without using the letter E

On 06/04/2025 at 23:08, Redleg said:

He might not see out his last year, which will be a “mutual” decision of course.

In theory I agree ...he's our only living premiership coach. But what if we're 0-12? I mean do we let this year progress from bad to terrible under his guidance? If we get to even 3-9 I think he might see it through...but in your opinion in a worst case scenario of 0-12 or even 1- 11 does he remain.

On 06/04/2025 at 23:08, Redleg said:

I agree he us unlikely to be sacked.

I don't rule out serious conversations being had that might get him to stand aside.

If we're winless after KBW then he has no future at the club. ( im thinking he's skating on thin ice atm )

On 07/04/2025 at 02:34, beelzebub said:

I agree he us unlikely to be sacked.

I don't rule out serious conversations being had that might get him to stand aside.

If we're winless after KBW then he has no future at the club. ( im thinking he's skating on thin ice atm )

I said on a different thread (i think) that at some point you have to start thinking about the damage to season '26. I mean this year is just about done, but there is a risk that this [censored] storm continues into next year and if that happens, then we are in dire straights and we shouldn't be in with our current list. We dont have an age profile like Collingwood. Interestingly we did play older than the Cats on the weekend.

Edited by GS_1905

On 23/03/2025 at 06:36, ElDiablo14 said:

Who would you like to see as our next coach?

Any exciting young coach available?

Discuss. Cheers.

Who died and made you king? I’ll wait for the club to decide on these matters before making any comments, I love Goody and the hard work he’s put into the club.

The club made very strong statements about expecting to return to finals after the review last year. So reckon Goodwin is in a bit of trouble on that alone.

On 07/04/2025 at 02:36, GS_1905 said:

I said on a different thread (i think) that at some point you have to start thinking about the damage to season '26. I mean this year is just about done, but there is a risk that this [censored] storm continues into next year and if that happens, then we are in dire straights and we shouldn't be in with our current list. We dont have an age profile like Collingwood. Interestingly we did play older than the Cats on the weekend.

Wholeheartedly agree. Short of a miracle 25 is in the bin already. I say that as I can't see how we escape the current spin repeat cycle if much simply remains the same. I don't see where the circuit breaker comes from.

As you allude there's not only the damage already done, the damage currently being foisted upon the playing group by putting them through the weekly ringer with no real chance of favourable outcomes and this then compounds and so somewhere you need to hit the mercy switch.

At what point do you you indeed call 25 a lost cause and refocus on the following season and just use the remainder of the season as live trials.

I know there are some who'll always revert to the notion that we're dealing with people. I get that. But so are all teams. I'd contend that scoreboards, premiership cups, flags and to a large degree fans find the 'personalities' attached to their team a very distant second to any actual success. Our success was fleeting. It's gone.

Sometimes a canvass gets so mucked up any semblance of the original vision has long been lost among the brush strokes. You start again.

Melbourne needs to start again. The first step is removing whatever is causing the mess.