Does anybody have the inside word on who our sub will be?

You would think it will be a debutant. Kind of hoping it’s Sharp as I hate the notion of somebody playing their very first game in the AFL as sub.

Sharp could be an absolute weapon coming on when all others are tiring, cutting up the opposition with his speed. Would make sense to replace one of the talls in Johnson or Jeffo.

Good Evening Dees fans.

A while since I posted but hope you've all had a great "off season."

All the best for 2025! (and before this thread gets nasty...) Let's remember they're a good side and we've got 6 debutants! Lots can go wrong, but fingers crossed for a W.

Go Dees!

200.gif?cid=bdfa2d1f2y994xtcn5ol3poerd4s

Scenes from Sunday Too Far Away at the 'G

Idolaters from Sin City beware.

4 minutes ago, JTR said:

Is Turner injured, or just not picked?

Illness is what I recall reading somewhere.

It's showtime, and your ever reliable Uncle Bitter is manfully shaking off a number of ailments to head to the G today.

My first action will be to pick up a footy record in order to identify half our team. It's certainly exciting times in terms of team development but we will need these new dees to earn their keep if we are to beat GWS.

It's just as well @picket fence is currently on a beach far away as his presence would be a certain danger to nearby spectators if Jeffo slots one.

Max will be the key to our mids getting first use so I expect we get plenty of opportunities inside 50. The points of interest will be just how and where we deliver it, and who steps up to convert. Kozzie has left a glaring and , no doubt , very costly hole.

Our experienced forwards must lead the way. I'm sure Trac will spend a lot of time forward and I reckon he'll need to kick or create 4 to give us a show. Hopefully Fritter can rediscover some form. JVR is also in for a testing day.

Hopefully, if those experienced players can produce that will ease the pressure and create opportunities for the new faces to hit the scoreboard.

This is a big test first up but geez a win would really kick start our season.

I'm tipping the Dees will surprise and sneak the 4 points.

In any event, the whips will be cracking at The Manor tonight!!!!

It seems teams that played opening round have a massive advantage over those the didn’t play. 
To have had run and to clear away the cobwebs makes such a difference.

Not only is opening round plain stupid it also skews the ‘fairness’ of an already compromised draw. Infuriating  

3 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

It's showtime, and your ever reliable Uncle Bitter is manfully shaking off a number of ailments to head to the G today.

My first action will be to pick up a footy record in order to identify half our team. It's certainly exciting times in terms of team development but we will need these new dees to earn their keep if we are to beat GWS.

It's just as well @picket fence is currently on a beach far away as his presence would be a certain danger to nearby spectators if Jeffo slots one.

Max will be the key to our mids getting first use so I expect we get plenty of opportunities inside 50. The points of interest will be just how and where we deliver it, and who steps up to convert. Kozzie has left a glaring and , no doubt , very costly hole.

Our experienced forwards must lead the way. I'm sure Trac will spend a lot of time forward and I reckon he'll need to kick or create 4 to give us a show. Hopefully Fritter can rediscover some form. JVR is also in for a testing day.

Hopefully, if those experienced players can produce that will ease the pressure and create opportunities for the new faces to hit the scoreboard.

This is a big test first up but geez a win would really kick start our season.

I'm tipping the Dees will surprise and sneak the 4 points.

In any event, the whips will be cracking at The Manor tonight!!!!

Welcome back BBO wondering where you were ,maybe in exile or strapped down if you know what I mean🤭

Move over All holidays and special occasions....

ITS GAME DAY.

At last.

20 minutes ago, forever demons said:

Welcome back BBO wondering where you were ,maybe in exile or strapped down if you know what I mean🤭

I don't really know why I gave your post a shocked emoji.

35 minutes ago, Oxdee said:

It seems teams that played opening round have a massive advantage over those the didn’t play. 

Not only is opening round plain stupid it also skews the ‘fairness’ of an already compromised draw. Infuriating  

Didn't help Sydney much, but I admit, Essendon took a while to get things going as opposed to the Hawks. I think the rain will actually help us

37 minutes ago, Oxdee said:

So very, very true. Just another unfairness overlay,  AFL reminding anyone who didn't already know of their incompetence. 

10 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

I don't really know why I gave your post a shocked emoji.

either do I🤫but i think we all understand

46 minutes ago, Oxdee said:

Yes it appears to be unfair for us this year but we benefited from this exact compromise in round 1 last year vs Bulldogs.

We played opening round last year, Dogs didn’t. We won easily.

Connor McDonald from Hawthorn didn’t hold back in declaring that it was a clear advantage for Hawthorn over Essendon the other night.

1 hour ago, Oxdee said:

This.

The issue I can foresee if that we are absolutely terrible at playing football in wet conditions...

23 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Yes it appears to be unfair for us this year but we benefited from this exact compromise in round 1 last year vs Bulldogs.

We played opening round last year, Dogs didn’t. We won easily.

Connor McDonald from Hawthorn didn’t hold back in declaring that it was a clear advantage for Hawthorn over Essendon the other night.

Brisbane who probably had the worse preparation going around with not been able to train, seem to adjust fairly well though.

I feel like a kid on Christmas morning, it's been a long summer. Urge as many fans to get the G as possible, It's bad weather but we've been waiting months for this.

I'm no great weather forecaster but there is currently some rain and bluster ( not only mine ) at The Manor. This , combined with a look at the radar and an examination of a hapless chook's innards convinces me that inclement conditions will be all gone by this arvo.

Edited by Bitter but optimistic

I'm

2 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

I'm no great weather forecaster but there is currently some rain and bluster ( not only mine ) at The Manor. This , combined with a look at the radar and an examination of a hapless chook's innards convinces me that inclement conditions will be all gone by this arvo.

That's foul. But maybe you could organize a live stream to the BOM.

4 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

I'm

That's foul. But maybe you could organize a live stream to the BOM.

Too late deever ! The Manor's attack dogs have just breakfasted.

1 hour ago, Oxdee said:

I was thinking that watching the start of the swans lions game.

Lions were as rusty AF early on.

I'm preparing to be quite horrified early on in this game before we try and claw a GWS lead back in the 3rd.

I agree it's a huge advantage to those teams who played last week.