Posted
12 minutes ago, adonski said:

Disco a shining light last season now can't get a gig. Quite shocked!

I mean, it wasn’t shining all that brightly! Couple of cameos aside from the Suns game. But the footy department did like what they found.

And I really thought he looked the best of our tall forwards this summer. Certainly moves the best.

At the same time I never liked the idea of AJ, Disco and JVR. Had to have one of the talls (if we played 3) with some mobility and goal kicking nouse. 

I still think Jeffo is going to fill the role McAdam was going to play. Fritsch was always going to be tried more up the ground at times.

AJ’s outplayed Disco for the CHF role and JVR’s demanded the full forward role is how I see it.

With GWS rucking Keefe we should also ruck AJ a lot and chuck Max forward far more than he usually would as a lone ruck. 

Posted

I love this . This is the time to play our young stars ..showcase our talent. It’s the first round (for us) they’ll be fit and hungry. A win is always important but I’m really keen to see how they stack up against a good team . Remember GWS are also playing young players due to suspension & injury. AJ to add physicality in our forward line & back up ruck ..Henderson a mature small forward (desperately needed) Langford mid/forward & Lindsay sub would be my thinking. I’m excited..Go Dees 

Posted

I'm going Lindsey as sub with AJ or Jeffo to be subbed out pending no in game injury.

If they'd prefer a first rounder to start the game, then Henderson will be that sub rather than XL.

Given we lack some small forward options without Koz, ANB and Spargo who have been our mainstays, I wouldn't mind seeing Henderson start the game and see what he's capable of.

Posted
13 minutes ago, Greg Schneider said:

But binman said we don’t need to go after Oscar Allen because we have disco 

Maybe Disco is being held back for a heavy training phase and managing his loads 

Posted
1 minute ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I'm going Lindsey as sub with AJ or Jeffo to be subbed out pending no in game injury.

If they'd prefer a first rounder to start the game, then Henderson will be that sub rather than XL.

Given we lack some small forward options without Koz, ANB and Spargo who have been our mainstays, I wouldn't mind seeing Henderson start the game and see what he's capable of.

With 3 talls and Fritsch forward and 5 mids (Viney, Tracc, Oliver, Riv, Langdon) I think we need to start both Sharp and Lindsay on the wings and Henderson across half forward.

Langford is the sub for mine.

You need a plan for Lachie Whitfield and co that isn’t serving up a one paced 19 year old midfielder at half forward on debut.

Posted

Wowee.

Not only am I shocked that Jefferson's getting a debut after his pre-season, I'm equally shocked that Billings has missed out despite appearing to be in the A team all pre-season. 

As @DeeSpencer has reasoned, it looks like AJ's beaten Disco to the second tall forward role, Jefferson and Fritsch are going to be the third tall with Fritsch pushing higher up the ground, and a combination of Sharp, Lindsay and Henderson/Langford are going to have to rotate half-forward and wing.

I do quietly like that JVR won't have to ruck, but when the ball hits the deck in a forward line of JVR, AJ, Jefferson and Fritsch, and without Pickett...jeepers...

Posted
2 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

but when the ball hits the deck in a forward line of JVR, AJ, Jefferson and Fritsch, and without Pickett...jeepers...

Can only assume one of those three will be on the bench at any given time, and one of the latter two will be subbed out to address the issue.

Posted
1 minute ago, titan_uranus said:

do quietly like that JVR won't have to ruck, but when the ball hits the deck in a forward line of JVR, AJ, Jefferson and Fritsch, and without Pickett...jeepers...

Should only be 3 of them down there at any one time. Apart from the ruck advantage I think AJ’s ability on the deck is actually better than Disco, who for a really mobile tall and great tackler down back doesn’t seem to offer the pressure he should. He got walked around against Freo and not by the world’s quickest half backs. AJ won’t exactly catch many but he’s sneaky athletic moving laterally.

The big question that we will seemingly never know is just how did Jeffo go at Casey v Sandy. I suspect he kicked a bag. And not only that I suspect he did some good ground level stuff. His defensive work at Casey last year went from complete zero to kind of promising, hopefully he’s taken it up a notch. 

Posted
31 minutes ago, demoncat said:

I like Disco but he had two practice matches to forget

Perhaps Jefferson has trained better since then and the FD is happy to roll the dice?

My thoughts exactly. Goes missing for too long in matches

I thought MJ hadnt done enough but we got to blood the kid sometime....

Posted
9 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Wowee.

Not only am I shocked that Jefferson's getting a debut after his pre-season, I'm equally shocked that Billings has missed out despite appearing to be in the A team all pre-season. 

As @DeeSpencer has reasoned, it looks like AJ's beaten Disco to the second tall forward role, Jefferson and Fritsch are going to be the third tall with Fritsch pushing higher up the ground, and a combination of Sharp, Lindsay and Henderson/Langford are going to have to rotate half-forward and wing.

I do quietly like that JVR won't have to ruck, but when the ball hits the deck in a forward line of JVR, AJ, Jefferson and Fritsch, and without Pickett...jeepers...

I reckon you've gotta play Viney and Henderson as small forwards/half forwards for significant chunks.

Posted
52 minutes ago, Greg Schneider said:

But binman said we don’t need to go after Oscar Allen because we have disco 

What do you even mean ? Disco is still a light bodied forward ..makes no sense to have 2 of them hence AJ in got that physicality. We also don’t want JVR throwing his body around too much just yet …I def don’t want Oscar Allen & his knees …

Posted
54 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Lot of pressure calling a kid The Magician.

I've been trying to push the nickname 'Starship' for the last two years to no avail.

Posted
1 hour ago, Demonland said:

I'm looking forward to some cunning stunts.   <checks, rechecks and triple checks spelling>

• Haha 5
Posted

Brilliant idea to announnce the debutants as interruptions to the coach trying to detail his plans vs GWS.

Posted

Maybe it’s because he can disappear in games.

Sorry Picket only joking. You know I have been a Jeffo fan since we got him. Hope the wet comes and goes before the game to give him a chance to show his best. I must say though I am surprised we picked this game with the weather predicted to debut him.

Good luck Jeffo and take a Valium before the game Picket just in case.

Posted

JEFFFFFFO! WELL DONE MAGICIAN! Take the chance lad!😇🤩😂😎🤠👍🏉

Posted
1 hour ago, M_9 said:

@WERRIDEE you're asleep at the wheel mate.

Where's our team that has the six newbies included?

My guess is the 'outs' are Billings, TMac and one of Petty, JvR or ? hasn't come up.

B: Lever, May, Bowey

HB: Salem, Petty, Howes

C: Langdon, Petracca, Windsor

HF: Sparrow, Johnson, Viney

F: Fritsch, van Rooyen, Chandler

FOLL: Gawn, Oliver, Rivers

IC: Jefferson, Henderson, Lindsay, Langford

SUB: Sharp

Posted
1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said:

Should only be 3 of them down there at any one time. Apart from the ruck advantage I think AJ’s ability on the deck is actually better than Disco, who for a really mobile tall and great tackler down back doesn’t seem to offer the pressure he should. He got walked around against Freo and not by the world’s quickest half backs. AJ won’t exactly catch many but he’s sneaky athletic moving laterally.

The big question that we will seemingly never know is just how did Jeffo go at Casey v Sandy. I suspect he kicked a bag. And not only that I suspect he did some good ground level stuff. His defensive work at Casey last year went from complete zero to kind of promising, hopefully he’s taken it up a notch. 

I think we have to assume he dominated that VFL game. It’s still hugely surprising that, even if so, that was enough to displace Disco who struggled but at least at senior level, but I’m certainly all for rewarding form at selection.