Posted

Can’t just be me but Jefferson doesn’t look anywhere near afl level. Imo throw him into the deep end rd 1 just to give him a taste. He gonna take time but he will still be good

Posted
16 hours ago, picket fence said:

Hayden young reinjures a hammy????? Gaawd do we rush back players detrimentally to their wellbeing?? Just asking but know the answer🤯

They are taking the long term approach of getting all his persistent soft tissue injuries done early so he can have a clean run at the final 8 years of his contract.

Posted

If @greenwaves doesn't read replies or reactions how does she know what we are talking about?

Asking for a friend.

Not that anyone really cares 🙂

Posted
12 hours ago, Tarax Club said:

Lachie Schultz has mercifully gone, Walters is closer to retirement, but Switkowski and Frederick must be licking their chops. Last line of defence is looking like a re-run of the eighth series of Are You Being Served?

Steven May, Big Man’s attire, Captain Peacock look-a-like Rick Lever, Smalls and Talls? and Tmac back pocket, with barely a hankerchief to cover Darcy and Jackson.

Nice analogy but who is Mrs Slocum & who plays Mr Humphries?

Posted
1 hour ago, Rooooooooooo said:

Can’t just be me but Jefferson doesn’t look anywhere near afl level. Imo throw him into the deep end rd 1 just to give him a taste. He gonna take time but he will still be good

Confused Britney Spears GIF

Posted
5 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Guess which club had the longest list.

Brisbane looking at that, of the players they have listed for us the actual list is:

AMW SEASON

McAdam SEASON

Kentfield TBC

Hore TBC

Tholstrup mid season

McVee: Round 4

Kozzie (Susp) Round 4

The rest are all playing or in training. Not great but not terrible. That’s 2 best 22 players NA through injury and suspension early and two fringe players out. Many other clubs the same. 

Posted
13 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Guess which club had the longest list.

Sure, but its padded out with players who are ready to go - Chandler played last week, ditto Koz, Trac could have and will play this week, ditto Viney. And it's kind of weird including suspended players.

Key is how many best 22 are on the list i reckon.

Leaving aside Chandler, Viney, Tracc (who are all good to go) and Koz by my reckoning there are only two best 22 locks - Windsor and Mcveee (Kolt is probably close to best 22 too i guess). 

Posted
1 hour ago, ManDee said:

If @greenwaves doesn't read replies or reactions how does she know what we are talking about?

Asking for a friend.

Not that anyone really cares 🙂

Dunno.

All I know is that we're going to have to login with our email address' soon..

Posted
16 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

Play Kossie

B: Lever, May, McDonald

HB: Salem, Petty, Windsor

C: Sharp, Rivers, Langdon

HF: Petracca, Turner, Pickett

F: Fritsch, van Rooyen, Jefferson

FOLL: Gawn, Oliver, Viney

IC: Bowey, Sparrow, Langford, Chandler, Lindsay, Billings, Howes, Woewodin

EMERG: Henderson, Laurie, Campbell, Culley

McDonald has played in the B team all preseason.

Langdon hasnt played wing all preseason

Sharp played fwd all Nth game.

If we play 4 tall backs and 4 tall fwds against GWS it will be all one way traffic

Posted

So is Ed playing on the ball this season?

if not wing, where? 

Wing seems easily his best position imo

Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, DubDee said:

if not wing, where? 

all the talk is that he'll play inside, to give us some speed around the stoppages - alike to butters, naicos etc.

we tried last season to have salem around stoppages to give us a better ball user out of packs and i think it lasted about three weeks before he was stationed back on the flank

let's see how long #positivelingers lasts on-ball

Edited by whatwhat say what

Posted
1 hour ago, Garbo said:

Most will be fit for round 1, just hope this hasn’t impacted there pre season to much 

That's my concern too.

For most of last pre season we had a shocking list of unavailability throughout the entire pre season, however we managed to get a full squad aside from Melksham available for the Sydney opening round game. For the first 8 weeks we were up and about, but by mid to late season all we were talking about was how bad a pre season we had. The lack of pre season seemed to be the number one reason as to why we fell in a hole after round 12.

To be honest, I don't see how this pre season has been much better, in order to be confident that we'll be firing in the more important half of the season.

Whilst Clarry has had the pre season of his life which is a massive boost and our pre xmas period was very healthy, two of our best three players have been in rehab for 4 and 6 weeks at a time, we've copped numerous medium to long term injuries and we've had niggles aplenty to established best 23 players in Chandler, Viney, Windsor, Turner and McVee (in addition to his hammy) that have seen those boys miss multiple weeks of full training.

Posted
2 hours ago, binman said:

Sure, but its padded out with players who are ready to go - Chandler played last week, ditto Koz, Trac could have and will play this week, ditto Viney. And it's kind of weird including suspended players.

Key is how many best 22 are on the list i reckon.

Leaving aside Chandler, Viney, Tracc (who are all good to go) and Koz by my reckoning there are only two best 22 locks - Windsor and Mcveee (Kolt is probably close to best 22 too i guess). 

Yes but each club had the same categories, some best 23, some depth, some season, some earlier.

Posted
2 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

all the talk is that he'll play inside, to give us some speed around the stoppages - alike to butters, naicos etc.

we tried last season to have salem around stoppages to give us a better ball user out of packs and i think it lasted about three weeks before he was stationed back on the flank

let's see how long #positivelingers lasts on-ball

thanks mate

not sure it’ll work as he is such a natural winger. And accurate kicking is not his strong suit. 
Id prefer Kozzi, Rivers, Langford spend time in there over Ed

Posted
25 minutes ago, DubDee said:

thanks mate

not sure it’ll work as he is such a natural winger. And accurate kicking is not his strong suit. 

more rotations seems to be the name of the game - less predictable

Posted
3 hours ago, BangBnagBang said:

McDonald has played in the B team all preseason.

Langdon hasnt played wing all preseason

Sharp played fwd all Nth game.

If we play 4 tall backs and 4 tall fwds against GWS it will be all one way traffic

Glad someone else has been paying attention 

Posted
42 minutes ago, DubDee said:

thanks mate

I suspect Langdon’s midfield time will decrease once Pickett is back from suspension, or at least his centre bounce time will.

Rivers will be playing plenty of mid unless we rack up more backline injuries.

Wait and see on Harvey, I suspect his contested work has a bit of a way to go but I also wonder if he’s really doing smart stuff across half forward. Didn’t learn too much against north, we’ll learn more against Freo. 

Posted
5 hours ago, DubDee said:

if not wing, where? 

Have you seen him play anywhere else?

Posted
5 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

That's my concern too.

For most of last pre season we had a shocking list of unavailability throughout the entire pre season, however we managed to get a full squad aside from Melksham available for the Sydney opening round game. For the first 8 weeks we were up and about, but by mid to late season all we were talking about was how bad a pre season we had. The lack of pre season seemed to be the number one reason as to why we fell in a hole after round 12.

To be honest, I don't see how this pre season has been much better, in order to be confident that we'll be firing in the more important half of the season.

Whilst Clarry has had the pre season of his life which is a massive boost and our pre xmas period was very healthy, two of our best three players have been in rehab for 4 and 6 weeks at a time, we've copped numerous medium to long term injuries and we've had niggles aplenty to established best 23 players in Chandler, Viney, Windsor, Turner and McVee (in addition to his hammy) that have seen those boys miss multiple weeks of full training.

We had a terrible 2024 preseason ..so many players were either injured or sustained injuries & possibly made the team because we didn’t have a lot of choice . 2025 most players have done 80..% of the running .. late season ending injuries to McAdam & AMW ( depth players ) but no best 22 injuries that will impact their preseason