Posted

This thread has struck me in a weird way - I want to assemble some kind of 'team of the century so far' entirely of players who were never in the top echelon of the team they were in. The depth team of the century? No, that's not quite it. And I don't mean useless, overrated, or draft failures. Players who warrant respect but were definitely never stars. The kind of team captained by Nathan Brown. There's also a few who are in on the basis that if they'd had any kind of a run at it, or if their career hadn't been Neeld'd, they might have been that much more.

So, here's a first sketch at it on a few minutes' effort;

B:      Troy Broadbridge   Alistair Nicholson   Neville Jetta (vc)

HB:    Clint Bizzell     Adam Tomlinson    Paul Wheatley

C:      Simon Godfrey  Nathan Brown(c)   Joel MacDonald,

HF:    Kyle Cheney   Cameron Pederson   Aaron Vandenberg

F:       Steven Armstrong    Ben Holland       Brad Miller

FOLL: Paul Johnson  Jack Trengove   Jordie McKenzie

INT:    Clint Bartram   Dean Kent   Colin Garland   Matthew Warnock

Respectfully noting that Guy Rigoni misses out only because he was more a 90s player. And I just... looking at past player lists and remembering how promising and earnest Troy was, I had to include him. Jared Rivers was disqualified by winning the Rising Star award. Contradicting myself a bit, Trengove was included despite being a top pick because he was just so personally unlucky and this team was really in desperate need of mids.

Note also that I support the case for Neville Jetta being in the 'other' team. The living embodiment of underrated.

Of our current list I'd nominate Dan Turner, Taj Woewodin and Jake Bowey as very likely to force their way onto this team and to improve it significantly.

Posted
7 hours ago, Roost it far said:

Jeremy Howe?     Get fckued

Frawley instead? All Australian 2010

Posted
33 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

This thread has struck me in a weird way - I want to assemble some kind of 'team of the century so far' entirely of players who were never in the top echelon of the team they were in. The depth team of the century? No, that's not quite it. And I don't mean useless, overrated, or draft failures. Players who warrant respect but were definitely never stars. The kind of team captained by Nathan Brown. There's also a few who are in on the basis that if they'd had any kind of a run at it, or if their career hadn't been Neeld'd, they might have been that much more.

Bate and Bail on the wings instead? And Hannan and Petterd in the forward line?

Posted
3 hours ago, Wizard of Koz said:

Yep me too. Particularly when were 90 odd points down and then he would kick a couple of cheapies at the end to only lose by 80 or maybe even high 70's.

Seems like a ripper guy and he definitely had some magic but on the balance of output, offensively and most definitely defensively he isnt even close to Kozzie. 

Anyone that can't see that doesnt deserve to see.

Robertson was a great player.

Posted

All you can do is marvel at the brilliance of Buckley to identify that Howe should be a forward. 

Posted

I stand with Robbo.

Posted
4 hours ago, dice said:

Frawley instead? All Australian 2010

Hmm. Woewodin didn't make the team, did he? A Brownlow's more important than an All-Australian

Posted
8 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

I stand with Robbo.

Me too. Great player. And in that highlights reel, looking at the scoreboard in a number of the shots gives the lie to the comment that he only kicked junk-time goals.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Ollie fan said:

Me too. Great player. And in that highlights reel, looking at the scoreboard in a number of the shots gives the lie to the comment that he only kicked junk-time goals.

Yes he was. If we look at his record compared to Garry Lyon's it is almost identical.

Lyon 226 games 426 goals. Robbo 228 games 428 goals. 

Garry is considered one of the greats and Robbo gets little respect from many.

Weird!

Posted
20 hours ago, Wizard of Koz said:

Russell Robertson must have written the article. 

To have him in front of Koz is a joke. But who cares really its just a digital click bait [censored] burger.

That's extremely disrespectful to Robbo. Kossie has only played 5 seasons and may deserve his position in future years but the facts are Robbo  has the score on the Board and is one of our top goal kickers with over 400 second or third to Neita. 

Yes Kossie does a lot as well as score goals and is a very magical player but he needs to be more accountable with his footy. I believe he can be an A grader for the rest of his career but must kick more goals from snapshots plus not be suspended ( unlucky and robbed over Moore nevertheless) and playing on the ball will help his further development. 

If you are including Kossie in your team then Fritta should not be far off it also. 

But both should play even better footy from now on and come into discussions about 2030. 

Posted
19 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Brayshaw to Half Back, Howe can sit on the Bench

Aaron Davey on the wing

Agree 

Posted
9 minutes ago, 58er said:

That's extremely disrespectful to Robbo. Kossie has only played 5 seasons and may deserve his position in future years but the facts are Robbo  has the score on the Board and is one of our top goal kickers with over 400 second or third to Neita. 

Yes Kossie does a lot as well as score goals and is a very magical player but he needs to be more accountable with his footy. I believe he can be an A grader for the rest of his career but must kick more goals from snapshots plus not be suspended ( unlucky and robbed over Moore nevertheless) and playing on the ball will help his further development. 

If you are including Kossie in your team then Fritta should not be far off it also. 

But both should play even better footy from now on and come into discussions about 2030. 

Apologies I forgot that Fritta is already in  the team. Who could ever forget his 2021 Granny Masterclass? I was privileged to be there to witness it! 

Posted
8 hours ago, Go Ds said:

Hmm. Woewodin didn't make the team, did he? A Brownlow's more important than an All-Australian

It not about individual honours in one year but a succession of years is needed. 

Posted
15 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Not sure about the following:

- Howe’s best B&F finish was just 6th and spent the entire 2015 season sooking it up at P Roos for playing him as a defender.

- Schwarz didn’t even give us 3 completed season in the 2000’s. He was more of the 90’s side.

- Rivers might be a touch premature. However he’s given us some great service so far with a 50 odd consecutive streak of games.

I am trying to think of half back flankers instead of Riv ( bit premature perhaps) and definitely Jeremy Howe who  only played a season or two at most in defence. 

Reckon Angus Brayshaw deserves a HB spot for his versatility and courage and team ethos. I’d be happy with Jetta back pocket and Davey on HBF or either the other way.

Trent  on bench or EM  Will be in this playing team soon  no doubt. 

Was Jamar good enough for an EM spot?

Posted
21 hours ago, Demonstone said:

Did Aaron Davey ever play a single game in the backline?  Odd selection for back pocket.

I remember him playing a fair bit of halfback around 2009-10 as a running defender. I definitely would've selected him as a forward though considering he pretty much invented the concept of forward pressure

Posted
2 hours ago, Loose Men Everywhere said:

Yes he was. If we look at his record compared to Garry Lyon's it is almost identical.

Lyon 226 games 426 goals. Robbo 228 games 428 goals. 

Garry is considered one of the greats and Robbo gets little respect from many.

Weird!

To be fair Lyon was also an inspirational leader who could drag his team over the line, he could swing back or onto the ball when needed. Robbo was a great forward but as a footballer he wasn’t in Lyons orbit.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

To be fair Lyon was also an inspirational leader who could drag his team over the line, he could swing back or onto the ball when needed. Robbo was a great forward but as a footballer he wasn’t in Lyons orbit.

Good point, I was just trying to highlight the lack of respect for Robbo by many posters. 

Posted

If I disregard the 90s and only considered performances this century, my team would look something like this…

Jetta              May          Frawley   

Brayshaw     Lever         Salem   

Bruce            Oliver         Yze   

Petracca       Hogan        Pickett    

Davey            Neitz          Fritsch  

Gawn            Viney          Woewodin 

Int:  J.McDonald  Jones  Robertson    Green

Sub: Hibberd 

T.McDonald, Langdon, Johnstone, White, J.Rivers, Vince and Whelan all unlucky.

Posted
1 hour ago, Loose Men Everywhere said:

Good point, I was just trying to highlight the lack of respect for Robbo by many posters. 

Robbo extracted the very best out of himself as a footballer. He kicked goals and entertained us with his excellent marking. He deserves any recognition he gets. Down playing him is showing a lack of understanding of the game.

Posted

THE team of the 21st century:

Hibberd    May    Lever

Rivers    Petty   Salem

Brayshaw  Petracca  Langdon

Neal-Bullen  McDonald  Sparrow

Spargo   Brown  Fritsch

Gawn  Oliver  Viney

Harmes  Jackson  Pickett  Bowey  (Jordon)

And no, I’m not being a smart a*se but they all achieved legendary status as premiership players, that players who came before them, no matter how talented they were, didn’t.