The Jackson FIX 3,512 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 He’s the voice for the ALFPA - his views are reflective of their self interest (arguing against longer pre-seasons another recent example). 2 Quote
gs77 4,616 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 2 minutes ago, The Jackson FIX said: He’s the voice for the ALFPA - his views are reflective of their self interest (arguing against longer pre-seasons another recent example). Not to mention his own self interest as an aging player. 29 2 2 Quote
Roger Mellie 4,205 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 I'd want shorter quarters too if I was his age. I recall he was pushing for this following the reduction in quarters during COVID. In some ways it's quite a reasonable request. Players are saddled with extra games now and it's too physically taxing to expect players to back up week after week, month after month. Something has to give. An extra bye might be an option. 5 Quote
Gorgoroth 13,220 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 Blah Blah Blah paddy ol son... Jog on! 5 3 Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,750 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 The NBA has reducing numbers, but the AFLs is increasing, so not sure why he’s trying to draw comparisons between the two. I hated the 2020 season and the shorter games. Give it a rest Danger and if you’re not up to it retire! 14 3 Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 48 minutes ago, gs77 said: Not to mention his own self interest as an aging player. It’s only 9.07 am gs77 but I award you the winner of the comment of the day! 1 3 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,871 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 interesting that the nha head honcho - the lizard-alike adam silver - has also recently floated that the nba could look at reducing quarters from 12 to 10 minutes i just wish they'd reduce games for both competitions; everyone should play each other once in the afl, alternating who has home and away rights each year, and just home and away in the nba it would be so much better 3 1 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,556 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 5 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said: interesting that the nha head honcho - the lizard-alike adam silver - has also recently floated that the nba could look at reducing quarters from 12 to 10 minutes Inspired by the NBL? In fairness to Danger I was expecting him to advocate the COVID 2020 length quarters which were quite frankly rubbish and I cringe looking back as some of those junior league football type scores. But even he admitted those quarters were too short and teams couldn't find a rhythm. Perhaps if we didn't call time on when the umpires bounced the ball, which can take up to 15 seconds then we'd cut out 5 minutes just there. 1 Quote
Clintosaurus 7,953 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 The discussion on SEN with Kane Cornes the other morning was interesting about how the players have a huge amount of time off and the high performance staff have around 9 weeks to prepare players for the season. This obviously does not include the programs given to players for the offseason, Christmas break etc but not every player is a dedicated as Trac or Pendles. So talk of shorter quarters on top of that - may as well have recliners instead of the bench. Danger looking our for Danger. NBA moving to FIBA timing would move in line with every other league. 6 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,871 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 2 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: Inspired by the NBL? In fairness to Danger I was expecting him to advocate the COVID 2020 length quarters which were quite frankly rubbish and I cringe looking back as some of those junior league football type scores. But even he admitted those quarters were too short and teams couldn't find a rhythm. Perhaps if we didn't call time on when the umpires bounced the ball, which can take up to 15 seconds then we'd cut out 5 minutes just there. i think inspired by the fact that a 48 min game is currently taking about 120 minutes to complete with the amount of timeouts and video reviews etc. etc. they're losing eyeballs to the tokkitikkies of the world 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 He's always wanted shorter quarters but not the shortening of pay to go with it. 5 1 Quote
sue 9,277 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 That 'reduce the supply and demand goes up' is about the silliest thing I've heard since turning on the news since 20 Jan. I suppose we'll also pay more for tickets if they reduce the supply. 3 2 Quote
Ghostwriter 5,483 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 9 minutes ago, sue said: That 'reduce the supply and demand goes up' is about the silliest thing I've heard since turning on the news since 20 Jan. I suppose we'll also pay more for tickets if they reduce the supply. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought this was silly. He’s not the brightest, is he. He usually only rears his greedy head when players’ pay is in question so I’m surprised he’s brought up an issue other than that. And don’t get me started on his grammar and punctuation; his first tweet contains only 21 words, yet there’s no less than five errors. I’m too scared to read his follow-up tweet 😅 Replacing him as the AFLPA head is long overdue. 4 1 Quote
chook fowler 19,778 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 Who cares what he thinks - overblown, overrated, self-important git. 2 1 1 Quote
BORNADO 17 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 Dan Gorringe was joking that we should increase the quarter length to a whole day and have Test Footy. 6 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,777 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 Start games at 7pm. That sees them finished before 10pm. I would not look at quarter lengths but I would be prepared to consider stoppage time. Ball ups would be the first to go and while you're at it get rid of nominated rucks. 3 2 Quote
Fat Tony 5,337 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 I favour shorter quarters, shorter half time and more games in a season. Dangerfield makes some good points about reducing the number of overlapping games in a round. The other advantage of shorter games is they finish earlier at night. As much as I love the current length of the Demon games, my interest in the other games fluctuates (I still would watch 5-7 games per week). Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,750 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 11 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: Start games at 7pm. That sees them finished before 10pm. I would not look at quarter lengths but I would be prepared to consider stoppage time. Ball ups would be the first to go and while you're at it get rid of nominated rucks. 100%. One of the worst rule changes they brought in. Would be a simple change and reduce delays in the game. 4 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,777 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 19 minutes ago, Fat Tony said: As much as I love the current length of the Demon games, my interest in the other games fluctuates (I still would watch 5-7 games per week). My limit is around three. Often I will watch the first quarter and then dip in again for the last ten minutes if it's close. Have some friends who will watch around seven games like yourself. We now have just under 200 games excluding finals. Considering that few overlap that's a lot of broadcast content. 1 Quote
BORNADO 17 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 22 minutes ago, Fat Tony said: reducing the number of overlapping games in a round I know it would be annoying for supercoach and tipping competitions, but having footy matches spread right out across the week would be huge for free to air TV and pubs. MLB and NBA have games across 6 or 7 days a week and works really well for them. It would also help a lot to support less popular teams like North Melbourne whose game is often overshadowed by another game playing at the same time. 2 Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,750 Posted January 31 Posted January 31 29 minutes ago, Fat Tony said: I favour shorter quarters, shorter half time and more games in a season. Dangerfield makes some good points about reducing the number of overlapping games in a round. The other advantage of shorter games is they finish earlier at night. As much as I love the current length of the Demon games, my interest in the other games fluctuates (I still would watch 5-7 games per week). I personally don't think shorter games will make me any more inclined to watch other games. I will generally watch a Thursday night and Friday night if I'm not doing anything and then maybe a Sunday arvo game. Do people really want to sit at home all day on the weekend watching 9 games? I doubt it. 1 Quote
Roost it far 10,160 Posted January 31 Posted January 31 I wonder if you reduced the game length and then had 35 rounds in a season with everyone playing everyone twice. 4 and 5 day breaks, footy on 7 days a week. It’s a no from me 2 1 Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,750 Posted January 31 Posted January 31 I would actually be for a shorter season, but there is zero chance the AFL will do that due to the broadcast money they would lose. Shorting the quarters you would think would also affect that, given it would be less available ad times.... Quote