Posted

Apparently Ah-mu is not NGA eligible for the Dees next year.  I’ve got a feeling like there is more to go here and the Dees cannot again bend over for the AFL (we already missed Mac Andrew due to the AFL flip flop rules). 

How many Polynesian players are there in the AFL? 

Most young Polynesian boys go into the rugby or league programs.  The AFL should wake up and see how they could attract such youngsters. Starting by including them in NGA eligibility.

As an aside, the AFL changed the rules to help the Bombers.  Suddenly top 40 picks for NGA can be matched. Why now flip flop? Kako’s parents, both born in Iraq, moved here in 1999 and Kako is one of three brothers. So how does he qualify as an NGA?

Dees need to push again and again to get access to Ah-mu …

A key objective of the NGA's is to increase the talent pool of Indigenous and Multicultural players, groups that are under-represented in the AFL comparative to the population.

Posted
On 21/10/2024 at 12:34, spirit of norm smith said:

Apparently Ah-mu is not NGA eligible for the Dees next year.  I’ve got a feeling like there is more to go here and the Dees cannot again bend over for the AFL (we already missed Mac Andrew due to the AFL flip flop rules). 

How many Polynesian players are there in the AFL? 

Most young Polynesian boys go into the rugby or league programs.  The AFL should wake up and see how they could attract such youngsters. Starting by including them in NGA eligibility.

As an aside, the AFL changed the rules to help the Bombers.  Suddenly top 40 picks for NGA can be matched. Why now flip flop? Kako’s parents, both born in Iraq, moved here in 1999 and Kako is one of three brothers. So how does he qualify as an NGA?

Dees need to push again and again to get access to Ah-mu …

A key objective of the NGA's is to increase the talent pool of Indigenous and Multicultural players, groups that are under-represented in the AFL comparative to the population.

How can we gain political power inside AFL House? We need insiders.

Posted
15 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

How can we gain political power inside AFL House? We need insiders.

Tell them we are the Geelong 2nds.

Posted

Absolutely bizarre how they change rules on a dime. Grandfather what's there for a year or two then change. 

Amateur hour, again and again

Posted
2 hours ago, Supreme_Demon said:

I would suggest that Brad Green the interim President considers making a formal complaint to the AFL about this matter.

It may not make any difference, but it can't hurt to try?

Time to show some spine as a club.

Posted

I believe Alix Tauru and Christian Moraes are both in the Hawks NGA but not eligible for draft concessions.

Then again, St Kilda have a kid who's parents were born in Switzerland.

It's inconsistent and frankly stupid to have advantages that don't include Pacific Islanders in Melbourne's South East, but some of the conspiracy whinging stuff is sooking.

Brad Green has enough to worry about before getting to NGA eligibilities.

Posted
3 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

I believe Alix Tauru and Christian Moraes are both in the Hawks NGA but not eligible for draft concessions.

Then again, St Kilda have a kid who's parents were born in Switzerland.

It's inconsistent and frankly stupid to have advantages that don't include Pacific Islanders in Melbourne's South East, but some of the conspiracy whinging stuff is sooking.

Brad Green has enough to worry about before getting to NGA eligibilities.

Agree.  Lennox Hoffman is in Saints NGA because his parents were born in Switzerland.  It’s all an inconsistent joke. 

Posted
24 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Agree.  Lennox Hoffman is in Saints NGA because his parents were born in Switzerland.  It’s all an inconsistent joke. 

I thought at least one parent had to be born in either Asia or Africa? Or have they changed it again? The academies are a rort anyway, just brought in to appease the Pies and other big clubs who weren't happy with the northern academies (which are also a rort).

They need to get rid of club academies, develop proper pathways for kids to play footy regardless of background and even up the draft. If that means getting rid of father son priority then do that too.

Posted (edited)

This can't be happening again?

What do we have to prove here?

Do they want these kids to play Rugby?

I take it his parents are born in Samoa? WTF is the problem then it's outside of Australia.

Club have got to fight this one to the death, this ain't right in the spirit, fairness and promotion of the game.

Think of the opportunities to promote the game in Samoa.

Why are there even Academies? yeah that's right, we know the reasons why!

If this was Collingwood, Carlton, Essendon, Richmond or Hawthorn a blind eye would have been turned no doubt.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges
Posted
9 hours ago, Fritta and Turner said:

A key objective of the NGA's is to increase the chances of shafting the Dees.

It's becoming a popular sport on how to shaft us royally.

Posted
On 21/09/2024 at 16:24, spirit of norm smith said:

MFC. Pert. Green. You must put your “kahunas” on the line.  The AFL needs to recognise the multi cultural pathways to include Polynesian origins.  Melbourne Storm pathways shows 30/32 kids in their under 16s/under 18s are of Polynesian background.  Yet AFL is failing in that cultural group and you fail to recognise the role model and development benefits of this ethnicity. AFL created academies for strong Northern state clubs like Swans, Giants and Lions. 3 of the top 5 clubs. Yet restrictions on other pathways for Melbourne based clubs.  Dees need to beat the war drums to get Polynesian kids included under NGA.  Not just for this kid but for others to start to come through.  

Send this to the Club. This is quality.

@spirit of norm smith

Posted

If he's Polynesian, how does that not qualify for multicultural?  If the Suns could bid on a bunch of clearly Australian born caucasian NGA players, why the hell can't we bid on a Polynesian player?

It makes no sense....

Posted
On 15/09/2024 at 15:22, Moonshadow said:

If his father is anything to go by, Biffen Jnr will become the AFLs millennium version of Mark Jackson

Heaven help the Bulldogs!

Too slow and too fat. But other than that .......