Supreme_Demon 4,141 Posted October 10, 2024 Posted October 10, 2024 We might be more likely to get Wade Derksen if Jake Stringer leaves Essendon and goes to GWS. But we shall have to wait and see what happens... 4 Quote
BAMF 4,483 Posted October 10, 2024 Posted October 10, 2024 Meh. I would remind GWS that we were easy to deal with and reasonable to deal with when we traded Bedford to them. If they don't trade Derksen for a packet of chips then I hope we dig out heals in the next time it comes to trading with them. 2 1 1 Quote
Garbo 1,567 Posted October 11, 2024 Posted October 11, 2024 Really hope this happens we need as many tall options as we can get and he is ready to go, one will work out eventually 3 Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted October 11, 2024 Posted October 11, 2024 (edited) On 10/10/2024 at 15:22, Redleg said: Not sure how highly they really rate him. Do you think they rate him ahead of Hogan, Cadman, Taylor, Buckley, Himmelberg, Riccardi, Brown and or Gruzewski? Given they are all staying and he hasn't got a game ahead of them yet, unless a few go down with injury, he is probably still not getting a game ahead of them. I forgot Aleer and we should all hope they get Jake Stringer, as that will be 10 ahead of him and make it easier for them to clear WD to us, which I think will happen. Edited October 11, 2024 by Redleg 5 Quote
Ugottobekidding 1,244 Posted October 12, 2024 Posted October 12, 2024 Derk for 4th rounder is about right 2 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted October 12, 2024 Posted October 12, 2024 4 hours ago, Ugottobekidding said: Derk for 4th rounder is about right Yes probably pick 54+ is likely. It’s going to be a game of poker and bluff!! 1 1 Quote
manny100 1,625 Posted October 12, 2024 Posted October 12, 2024 Pretty ordinary stuff by GWS if they hold him. Derks has a partner and kids and is on ordinary money at GWS. The Dees deal would be good for him and his family. 7 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted October 12, 2024 Posted October 12, 2024 Agree @manny100 Derksen is trying to do the best for his family and himself. Giants are being stubborn preventing a young player who they haven’t played in 2 1/2 years. 4 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,334 Posted October 12, 2024 Posted October 12, 2024 3 hours ago, manny100 said: Pretty ordinary stuff by GWS if they hold him. Derks has a partner and kids and is on ordinary money at GWS. The Dees deal would be good for him and his family. Reckon we walk away from this unfortunately. GWS very adamant he stays and we've got far more pressing needs such as obtain another pick in the first round. 4 Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted October 12, 2024 Posted October 12, 2024 12 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: Reckon we walk away from this unfortunately. GWS very adamant he stays and we've got far more pressing needs such as obtain another pick in the first round. If they get Stringer they will have 10 players ahead of him, then why on earth wouldn't they let him go for more opportunities and better pay? If Jake comes he goes imo. 5 Quote
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,823 Posted October 12, 2024 Posted October 12, 2024 (edited) 4 hours ago, manny100 said: Pretty ordinary stuff by GWS if they hold him. Derks has a partner and kids and is on ordinary money at GWS. The Dees deal would be good for him and his family. It's friggen disgusting what BWS are doing to that lad, 4 mouths to feed and they are holding him to a bare minimum deal. Deplorable ethics being displayed by a so called "family" based club. Let the lad earn a bit more money and security for his family whilst actually getting a decent crack at AFL footy. Case and point is what we did with Bedders, we let him leave without fuss as that was his wish. Some of these clubs have the memory of a goldfish, a club is good to you on previous occasions so you would think BWS reciprocate the same honour. Greedy Prix! Edited October 12, 2024 by YesitwasaWin4theAges 6 1 Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted October 12, 2024 Posted October 12, 2024 If we want him as a forward what does that say about Jefferson? Quote
Roost it far 10,136 Posted October 12, 2024 Posted October 12, 2024 44 minutes ago, old dee said: If we want him as a forward what does that say about Jefferson? With May and McDonald nearing the end we need some more talls. Both Petty and Turner may end up back so all Jefferson needs to do is keep improving and hopefully find a bit of mongrel. Even I thought the back end of his season was ok! 1 Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted October 12, 2024 Posted October 12, 2024 (edited) 1 hour ago, old dee said: If we want him as a forward what does that say about Jefferson? And Kentfield, given they are probably not going to play Fullarton. I think we will move Petty back when May and Tom go, so we probably see Wade as insurance forward and back. It may say something about Adams: Edited October 12, 2024 by Redleg 2 Quote
picket fence 18,184 Posted October 12, 2024 Posted October 12, 2024 14 hours ago, manny100 said: Pretty ordinary stuff by GWS if they hold him. Derks has a partner and kids and is on ordinary money at GWS. The Dees deal would be good for him and his family. Define "ordinary" money? 1 Quote
Great Sage 129 Posted October 12, 2024 Posted October 12, 2024 On 11/10/2024 at 01:12, BAMF said: Meh. I would remind GWS that we were easy to deal with and reasonable to deal with when we traded Bedford to them. If they don't trade Derksen for a packet of chips then I hope we dig out heals in the next time it comes to trading with them. I thought Bedford was a free agent. Something to do with no of years on rookie list. We offered him a 3 year deal but he liked the vision GBW painted for him after not getting much game time with us. 1 Quote
godees 913 Posted October 12, 2024 Posted October 12, 2024 1 hour ago, Great Sage said: I thought Bedford was a free agent. Something to do with no of years on rookie list. We offered him a 3 year deal but he liked the vision GBW painted for him after not getting much game time with us. He definitely was not a free agent 3 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,675 Posted October 13, 2024 Posted October 13, 2024 7 hours ago, old dee said: If we want him as a forward what does that say about Jefferson? Is there any evidence they want him as a forward? He was out of contract last year and we didn’t get him. Maybe his defensive form is the interest? 1 Quote
Great Sage 129 Posted October 13, 2024 Posted October 13, 2024 4 hours ago, godees said: He definitely was not a free agent Just looked it up. You are correct. 2 Quote
Adam The God 30,730 Posted October 13, 2024 Posted October 13, 2024 On 08/10/2024 at 12:30, rjay said: They were also using Spencer ahead of him in the ruck at Casey... Which I was for at the time. I got Max completely wrong. Spencer was servicable IMV. 1 Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted October 13, 2024 Posted October 13, 2024 Just now, Adam The God said: Which I was for at the time. I got Max completely wrong. Spencer was servicable IMV. It held Max's development back...wasn't a good move by the the FD but then not much was good from them at the time. 1 Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted October 13, 2024 Posted October 13, 2024 If Giants get Stringer, Wade needs to ring McCartney and say "do you honestly believe I play ahead of these blokes, Hogan, Cadman, Taylor, Buckley, Himmelberg, Riccardi, Brown, Gruzewski, Aleer and now Stringer?" If he hasn't got a game in 2 years before Stringer joins, how the hell do his chances improve? Then say " you are affecting my family and that will affect my footy". 7 1 Quote
old55 23,860 Posted October 13, 2024 Posted October 13, 2024 2 hours ago, Great Sage said: Just looked it up. You are correct. Yes. 44 for Bedford. 1 Quote
Roost it far 10,136 Posted October 13, 2024 Posted October 13, 2024 1 hour ago, Redleg said: If Giants get Stringer, Wade needs to ring McCartney and say "do you honestly believe I play ahead of these blokes, Hogan, Cadman, Taylor, Buckley, Himmelberg, Riccardi, Brown, Gruzewski, Aleer and now Stringer?" If he hasn't got a game in 2 years before Stringer joins, how the hell do his chances improve? Then say " you are affecting my family and that will affect my footy". "Hey kid, you signed a contract" Might be the response. I get your point though, I'm still thinking the deal gets done but you're hardly losing sleep not getting Wade Derksen to the club. Quote
bing181 9,473 Posted October 13, 2024 Posted October 13, 2024 AFL: "Melbourne has a suite of selections that includes picks No.5, 28, 40, 49, 54 and 65, but it's unlikely the club will have any luck in attempting to change the minds of GWS officials by Wednesday's deadline." 1 Quote