10 minutes ago, jackaub said:

Goodwin was threatened????? What with?

Social media post, which in my view, was more an attempt on dark humour than a real threat. In any case, it was reported that the MFC sent it to the AFL for review.

1 hour ago, pitmaster said:

Pert was the AFL's choice. Collingwood had booted him and it was a job for a member of the boys club I believe.

Richo too

28 minutes ago, jackaub said:

senior players are wagging the dog

Thats why "The love machine" and goodys great friends claim with this lot has been so damaging

He cant manage them any more

I place the blame with the dysfunctional board who should not have extended him and instead supported a new coach and foooty department

Good managers aren't loved, they're respected

9 hours ago, Adam The God said:

We are now back to being an embarrassment. After all that hard work that so many people put in.

The appointment of Gary Pert was an utter disaster, and when you've got a pathetic CEO and rudderless board, you're in big trouble.

People have to vote for an alternative ticket.

I remember the year after our flag @Mach5 wasn’t happy with the board and felt they weren’t doing enough to cash in on our success. Most on here were quick to dismiss his posts. Maybe he was onto something.

1 hour ago, ElDiablo14 said:

In my own experience and point of view, the fact that they are silent and they actually erased some social media posts makes me believe something is definitely happening behind closed doors. What's the extent of that? Who knows really but if Demonland is anything to go by, I'd expect their membership department is being flooded with calls of angry members that won't renew.

It might have been the head of comms making a sudden decision to remove some posts. In my experience I don't think there is anything in that. It is just risk and brand mitigation 101. Do what you can to minimise damage as much as possible. No matter how small.

Edited by praha

I have not supported the appointment of the current senior coach since inception given his association with the Essendon scandal. As things progressed, I also didn’t consider him to be an astute tactician and was rather invariant to the dynamics of the game. He also seems to have set views on certain players irrespective of the perceived reality.

I also have struggled to see evidence of the so-called ‘game plan’ that he talks about relentlessly in his learning this and learning that diatribes.

I wondered whether the game plan was flawed and/or the players had not been educated sufficiently to embrace and execute it and/or the education had failed because the students did not have the capacity to absorb and implement it (even if the plan was in keeping with the ‘industry’ standards).

Obviously as an outsider, we cannot easily discriminate between these different conjectures.

But the last minute or so at yesterday’s game gave us some real-time evidence that suggests the players despite being well paid are really not that smart (in a football sense), which might help understand why it is hard to see the ‘game plan’ in action and why the disconnect should have been addressed by the senior coach eons ago.

The two Saints protagonists displayed serious football intelligence in those few seconds while the Melbourne players looked like they were being blinded by headlights. NWM consulted the free kick taker, they worked out a strategy, there were signals to other players who understood and obeyed (and remember the Saints are a much less experienced team than MFC), and then the plan was executed to perfection. I was really impressed by their intellectual capacity to do that under pressure, not to mention their physical skills.

What about MFC players? If they really were clever they would have flooded the metre in front of the 50 metre arc rather than concentrating in the centre area. What the hell was Viney doing on the wing as if it was a centre bounce?

That told me that the players are not that smart in terms of understanding the dynamics and possibilities of the game.

Which then suggests their poor performance over the last few years reflects a dissonance between the complexity of the game plan and the capacity of the players to comprehend it and implement it under pressure.

Which means despite all the ‘love’ between coaches and players the two groups have not really connected.

There has been ample evidence of that disconnect. But those last seconds yesterday helped me understand why.

1 minute ago, William said:

I have not supported the appointment of the current senior coach since inception given his association with the Essendon scandal. As things progressed, I also didn’t consider him to be an astute tactician and was rather invariant to the dynamics of the game. He also seems to have set views on certain players irrespective of the perceived reality.

I also have struggled to see evidence of the so-called ‘game plan’ that he talks about relentlessly in his learning this and learning that diatribes.

I wondered whether the game plan was flawed and/or the players had not been educated sufficiently to embrace and execute it and/or the education had failed because the students did not have the capacity to absorb and implement it (even if the plan was in keeping with the ‘industry’ standards).

Obviously as an outsider, we cannot easily discriminate between these different conjectures.

But the last minute or so at yesterday’s game gave us some real-time evidence that suggests the players despite being well paid are really not that smart (in a football sense), which might help understand why it is hard to see the ‘game plan’ in action and why the disconnect should have been addressed by the senior coach eons ago.

The two Saints protagonists displayed serious football intelligence in those few seconds while the Melbourne players looked like they were being blinded by headlights. NWM consulted the free kick taker, they worked out a strategy, there were signals to other players who understood and obeyed (and remember the Saints are a much less experienced team than MFC), and then the plan was executed to perfection. I was really impressed by their intellectual capacity to do that under pressure, not to mention their physical skills.

What about MFC players? If they really were clever they would have flooded the metre in front of the 50 metre arc rather than concentrating in the centre area. What the hell was Viney doing on the wing as if it was a centre bounce?

That told me that the players are not that smart in terms of understanding the dynamics and possibilities of the game.

Which then suggests their poor performance over the last few years reflects a dissonance between the complexity of the game plan and the capacity of the players to comprehend it and implement it under pressure.

Which means despite all the ‘love’ between coaches and players the two groups have not really connected.

There has been ample evidence of that disconnect. But those last seconds yesterday helped me understand why.

Or was it all deliberate? Just re-watch the last 10 minutes of that game, players just blatantly leaving acres of space everywhere.

1 minute ago, William said:

It would be fairl to say the intelligence shown by Saints players was a reflection of those charged with their football education..

As was ours

3 minutes ago, William said:

I think you and I have shared these views. It's refreshing to hear someone else voice them.

There is no accountability. None. Zilch. Zero.

I cannot think of another successful or 'ruthless' club that would have accepted 2 straight sets exits after that flag with the list, to then hit the lows of 2024...and yet, in 2025 with 4 games left - he is STILL here.

1 hour ago, DemonOX said:

Do any of the posters who seem to have some sort of contact within the club have any info to share on what will or might happen with the coach?

The noise from the club is deafening.

I have a contact who works at a big network station and works with the partner of someone inside the club.

And I can say that earlier in the year when things weren't looking great, Buckley was someone that we had a word to, sounding out his interest.

I get tidbits but I can also say that Buckley has pulled out of the Tassie gig if it were to get off the ground.

As far as the Goody situation goes right now, no idea.

Obviously the club will be looking at the potential financial loss of having another year next year where membership drops, attendance to games is poor, the potential of players wanting out at end of year etc etc vs the payout that comes with sacking him.

My hope is that we part ways with him, bring in someone like Buckley with some strong line coaches. It's the only way I see our current core having a spike.

You don't have quarters like yesterday with a club that isn't fractured. We are fractured, regardless of what the blindly positive posters think.

Edited by Howard_Grimes

Longmire is our man. I would think a 3 year deal similar to Roos to transform the culture and curate the list.

22 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Or was it all deliberate? Just re-watch the last 10 minutes of that game, players just blatantly leaving acres of space everywhere.

Release the Files!

/jk

21 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

It would be fairl to say the intelligence shown by Saints players was a reflection of those charged with their football education..

As was ours

Astute point. RL is a widely underrated tactician. I'm sure this will receive the obligatory 'vomit' and 'laugh' reactions, but what I would give to have someone of his calibre in charge of our list...

45 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Social media post, which in my view, was more an attempt on dark humour than a real threat. In any case, it was reported that the MFC sent it to the AFL for review.

Nah. You don’t take a photo of someone’s car, and then post it to social media, and then throw out a threat of violence for good measure.

That wasn’t dark humour. That was someone who deserves to never go to another game of footy ever again.

4 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

Nah. You don’t take a photo of someone’s car, and then post it to social media, and then throw out a threat of violence for good measure.

That wasn’t dark humour. That was someone who deserves to never go to another game of footy ever again.

Was it really Goodwin's car? At Marvel or a different location? I thought the guy has just used a random picture for the post.

7 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Gawn punching cbds fwd against a team whose hb’s are running towards the contest with nothing to lose. Basic 101 stuff keep it in close repeat stoppage.

Max's tap work in the last was atrocious. I kept saying the same thing. Keep it in close. Stop going for broke in centre clearances.

1 hour ago, BDA said:

Maybe not

Our supporter base is quite docile. The few tragics on this site are not representative. There will be no revolt from the faithful just a shrug of the shoulders I reckon.

Have read or do you have access to Facebook or other Demon sites the fallout and commentary has been absolutely brutal.

This is the most angry reaction I have ever seen from Demon supporters.

7 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Have read or do you have access to Facebook or other Demon sites the fallout and commentary has been absolutely brutal.

This is the most angry reaction I have ever seen from Demon supporters.

I’m not on social media

Hopefully the blowtorch comes from the media as well

1 minute ago, BDA said:

I’m not on social media

Hopefully the blowtorch comes from the media as well

I'm sure it will, you cant hide what happened yesterday.

It was like it was a directive to not apply any pressure or play with energy to finish them off properly.

It looked and felt like we tanked in the last.

Very sad times.

Our main issue are our experienced players (namely the premiership players)

So it's 70% player personnel issue & 30% coaching

These same premiership players are slow, lazy, no hunger, weak at the contest, no edge, low skilled, set in their ways, frontrunners, no fight back qualities, well paid and lack leadership qualities

And it's been that way for at least since the 2023 finals

As for the coaching, we could change things up but we'd still be left with an group of players who lack self-motivation

Need to cut a swathe through the list

28 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Was it really Goodwin's car? At Marvel or a different location? I thought the guy has just used a random picture for the post.

C’mon dude, you don’t need the whole “death threats aren’t a joke” thing explained to you, right?

24 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Max's tap work in the last was atrocious. I kept saying the same thing. Keep it in close. Stop going for broke in centre clearances.

There’s certainly a ‘body of work’ that suggests we want the thinking kept as far away from our senior players as possible in these situations.

Gawn’s had a couple of very bizarre moments in the dying moments this year.

I've tried to be positive with Goody. But I've come around to the need to replace him ASAP. Even with the financial penalty.

I follow the Edmonton Oilers in the NHL. Last year, they replaced their coach during the season. They are ruthless in their pursuit to get results, particularly making sure the club is successful enough to keep two big names in their lineup. Ended up making the Stanley Cup finals two years in a row.

It's time for us to get ruthless... I don't think our list is as bad as some, just need a better focus.

I sat through the Grand Final in 1988 and 2000. Thank goodness I was overseas for 186, however I'm still gutted from yesterday. Things need to change.