"Very sore" Max Gawn in doubt for next Saturday vs Essendon

56 minutes ago, Flowergirl said:

If you're referring to Grundy, last time we played Essendon he was owned by Draper. 

Grundy at the time was unfit and could not run from contest to contest

I don’t get why grundy didn’t want to stay with us and play for Casey all year and then step in for 2-3 games

• Haha 9

7 hours ago, Whispering_Jack said:

The sum of all of our fears is here.

best wishes Max, hope it is only a short-term rest.

44 minutes ago, DEE fence said:

Incredible is not the word that comes to mind. [censored] Gawn being down for three weeks. I have decided that this is the acid test for us as a club, we do not want to be a one trick pony. We have adjusted to the changes in the mids, we can adjust to no Gawn. He can go and get right and be fresh for finals.

The next three rounds are a mountain no doubt, I haven't stopped believing yet.

Except they arnt playing finals

4 hours ago, jnrmac said:

it means the mids can just rove to Goldy or Draiper and hunt the ball

Ken oath. Our game against the Weagles, if it can be duplicated with a step-up by the mids, will annihilate the Bombers. 

3 hours ago, dees189227 said:

They just said on ch10 he has a chipped bone. Ugh

Calcium, skim milk by the gallon, vitamin D for bonding, elevation, rest, anger - and don't forget the fish oil, Max. 

9 minutes ago, IRW said:

You're supposed to say "we" IRW, are you Robert Hannsen?

17 minutes ago, IRW said:

Hello is that Dr. D ?

Better that Max has a rest now than round 23 onwards. 
Not rocket science. 
2 choices. 
The menu is Cream or Fish.
I would usually advocate for a new player being tried for several matches, however this is more of a “break glass in case of emergency”.
If he’s out for more than 1 week and the first one doesn’t work, then try the next one. 

1 hour ago, drdrake said:

100%, you can't ruck your best tall forward and best tall defender from yesterday.

Fullarton just needs to compete, how knows maybe our mids can read the ball better off the opposition ruckman hands.  You watch Clarry will dominate.

Big one for Clarry makes sense. Rivers and he should talk nothing but clearances this week, feeding detonators to Viney and possibly Kozzie to get the running breaks. Nice chance for the Kolt to set a few records in forward defence to prevent turnovers. 

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Deeoldfart said:

Just give Draper & Co the kind of the treatment that Max cops week in / week out.  They’ll sook about it, and go to water!

Like it. Bang into them at every chance, get them around the ribs, no straight lines to the next contest, no more nice

We are dealing better than expected with the loss of Brayshaw and Tracc, with Clarry down on his previous standard. We'll do the same with the ruck. Chance for us to try out new midfield set ups. Max won't be around forever!

Edited by Moonshadow

41 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Grundy at the time was unfit and could not run from contest to contest

Draper had a pretty good night. Booted 3.0. He will need 'minding' in regard to his ability to kick goals.

13 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

Big one for Clarry makes sense. ...

Clarrie had 41 (16&25) against them last year. He'll remember that.

Max’s value isn’t in the ruck, it’s in his innate ability to always park his giant frame at the right place at the right time. We all laugh at Maysie going for him but why wouldn’t you? The opposition always kick it to him more than anyone on our side ever does.

Whoever covers him better be prepared to run his chops off, because that’s the requirement.

2 hours ago, Maldonboy38 said:

I like the way Verrall is tracking, showing intent and effort in his follow up efforts. However, he will get physically dominated by Draper & Goldstein. So I reckon it will be Fullarton. The main problem is Essendon appear to be a good marking team which will stretch us all over the ground. The actual ruck/stoppage work is not my major concern.

and we aren’t a good marking team? May, lever, tmac, petty fritch, jvr and turner. That’s a third of the side are elite contested marks 

21 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Max’s value isn’t in the ruck, it’s in his innate ability to always park his giant frame at the right place at the right time. We all laugh at Maysie going for him but why wouldn’t you? The opposition always kick it to him more than anyone on our side ever does.

Whoever covers him better be prepared to run his chops off, because that’s the requirement.

This is the key thing - not the centre bounces. 

If they want to try to win I would free up TMac and bring in Tomlinson. 

If it is more about giving a fortnight taste to a 'kid' then Fullerton or Verrall.

I don't know enough about those two. Any footy sense? Ruckman are usually the dumbest people at the stadium.

Yes, I am including fans...

Yes I am aware who we are playing this week...

Probably will be fobbed off as a ridiculous question, but has anyone ever tried no contest centre bounces with an extra mid size waiting to pounce on the ruckman if he grabs it, and with an extra ready to rove to the hit out??

Just to clarify, we:

1. Continued to play our most important player in the second half of a game that we had already won, after he had sustained a significant ankle injury in the first half;

2. Have no AFL standard backup ruck on the list, even though it was blatantly clear to every man and his dog that it was sheer madness to assume that a 32 year old ruckman would make it through an entire season unscathed;

3. Repeatedly balked at the opportunity to give an opportunity to Fullarton in recent weeks, even though Max has clearly been at less than full fitness; and

4. Feebly tried to cover for the absence of Max by throwing our best young forward (in the middle of a career best game) into the ruck, and therefore completely destabilising our forward line in the second half.

You'd think the Petracca debacle might have taught us a few things, but we continue to do our very best to destroy our players.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Nasher said:

Yep, Max's ability to run repeatedly up and down for 4 quarters and get to contest after contest makes him so important.

Having said that, his ruck work is still underappreciated by some. He can tap in nearly every direction to advantage, regularly grabs it and boots 40m forward. The better teams learn to read off his ruck work, which is better than our mids trying to do that off their's

Edited by Moonshadow

14 minutes ago, Oxdee said:

and we aren’t a good marking team? May, lever, tmac, petty fritch, jvr and turner. That’s a third of the side are elite contested marks 

I would not rate Lever as a good contested mark, he is too intent on talking about it later

Tmac , heart and soul will fill in, cop the rubbish from demonlanders and provide a heart & soul effort

It’ll mix things up a bit.

Is there a beanpole kid at Casey we can try out? Maybe even Fullerton?

My guess it we’ll go boring with with JVR and TMac.

Unleash Viney and Kossie in the ruck?