POSTGAME: Rd 16 vs Brisbane

Some interesting things from channel 7.

In those last 5 minutes, Lever and some of our younger boys were out on their feet. Brisbane sprinting forward and some of the Dees boys just couldn't go with them.

Goodwin saying the players went into their shells and played safe - sounds like that is not what he is coaching them to do. 

Goodwin likes what he sees from the combo of JVR, Petty and Turner so I reckon we will be seeing them as a unit. (Cue Demonland meltdown)

General consensus is that we have rediscovered our DNA of pressure, intensity and contested possession

Edited by Maldonboy38

17 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

A good effort when we all thought we will get owned. I was happy with our midfield performance in particular. We smashed them in contested possessions and won the clearances which is a great sign without Trac and Salem. 

But bitterly disappointing to once again [censored] the bed in front of goal. It’s cost us games, finals and probably another premiership and it’s infuriating.

Also a massive massive [censored] you to the AFL and the absolute hacks they employ to umpire our game. That Rivers goal should never have been disallowed. They absolutely cost us a win tonight and if we were a club that stood for anything we would question this one sided display. But we won’t. And so continues the endless cycle of [censored] umpiring costing teams games. 

2024 can get in the goddamn bin. 

PS- great game from AMW!

PPS- all you Clarry detractors can eat my shorts

Eat my shorts Shelbyville 

6 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

How many times will we [censored] the bed in front of goal before we admit it’s a massive issue that just won’t go away magically?

Asking for a friend named Simon 

Ask our supposed forward line coach 

Nibbler wasn't intentional, looked that way but was optical I believe. 

As for the loss - a true sign of where we are. This was a true 'season defining game' and we had every chance. 

Bitter pill to swallow. 

Window one step closer to shut.

1 minute ago, Maldonboy38 said:

Some interesting things from channel 7.

In those last 5 minutes, Lever and some of our younger boys were out on their feet. Brisbane sprinting forward and some of the Dees boys just couldn't go with them.

Goodwin saying the players went into their sells and played safe - sounds like that is not what he is coaching them to do. 

Goodwin likes what he sees from the combo of JVR, Petty and Turner so I reckon we will be seeing them as a unit. (Cue Demonland meltdown)

General consensus is that we have rediscovered our DNA of pressure, intensity and contested possession

This sounds like an acknowledgement that we hit a fitness wall and consequently tried saving the game instead of trying to win it (because we didn’t have the necessary run to take it on).

I’m bullish about what we can do if we play like this for the rest of the year but I’d reserve judgment on the idea that “we have rediscovered our DNA” until we do it week after week.

14 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

A lot of posts about the inaccuracy. Confident we would have lost on xScore too. Each of the fourth quarter misses was a shot that on average gets kicked less than 50% of the time. 

It’s still a problem, but in a game where our opponent was making the same sort of errors at the other end, I’m far more interested in our mindset, tactics and fitness. 

What's up with our fitness? It seems to have deteriorated each year since 2021 to the point where now we struggle to run out games. In 2021 we used it as a weapon to run over teams in the 2nd half now we're lucky to hang on to 5-6 goal leads. It can't all be down to changed personnel.

Yes we faded but seriously we were given stuff all chance. Beating Lions in Brisbane a mammoth task. There were so many fine lines in this game. The last quarter fade out was expected but so many positives. 

46 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

It looked like the Brisbane player clipped his foot which caused him to trip. 

Edited by Gunna’s
Watched replay

7 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

They were behind Brisbane players and one of them was Daniher he baulked but they corralled him well didn’t over commit.

Throughout the game it’s the small things not just that moment 

That's just not true. Daniher was on the ground. Viney and Woey were in front of ANB, he just had to get it past McCluggage 

Screenshot_20240628_230707_AFL.jpg

Edited by Moonshadow

9 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

How many times will we [censored] the bed in front of goal before we admit it’s a massive issue that just won’t go away magically?

Asking for a friend named Simon 

Name me a team team that doesn’t kick for goal poorly? Seems every skill in the modern era has improved except goal kicking

Edited by Demon_spurs

31 minutes ago, Jibroni said:

To use a golf analogy, "You can be the best driver in the world but if you cannot putt, what's the point?

I've seen Happy Gilmore. Just improve the putting and you win. Pretty sure Max Gawn was in that movie.

25 minutes ago, Fat Tony said:

We were lucky to be that close. The Lions missed some easy chances as well. 

No we weren't

12 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Contest, defence.

Hes not a fan of going out and winning it off our own boot, too busy worrying about what the opposition is doing (and taking far too long to decide what to do).

It’s such a negative and uninspiring game plan. Go out and try and win the game, be proactive.

Was it negative and uninspiring in the 2nd quarter? When we were also winning contest and playing a high press zone defence?

2 minutes ago, picket fence said:

U have no idea role of a forward IS TO KICK GOALS [censored]

It’s more than that the game has evolved a little the role of a forward is

Lead up hard to the footy

run deep to the square when the other tall leaves that area and potentially block their direct opponent on the way through to give your team mate the space they need

stop your opponent from being able to rebound freely from D50

Press up on your opponent and prevent easy transition 

Lead out wide or high up the ground to take the intercept defender away from the hotspot as teams did to May when Lever was out

Smalls get front and centre to win the ground ball or apply a tackle to lock it in

Get separation from your opponent and/or create 1v 1s in your F50

2 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Was it negative and uninspiring in the 2nd quarter? When we were also winning contest and playing a high press zone defence?

It’s his default setting. The moment things don’t go according to plan, he and the team fall back into old habits.

Edited by Demon Disciple

Well that hurt. I'm not as bullish on some of the youth as others are but I thought AMW showed some courage and dare. Sad that we played as well as this team realistically can and couldn't hold on.

Petty and Langdon really let us down in front of goal. Had it on their boot.

3 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

It’s more than that the game has evolved a little the role of a forward is

Lead up hard to the footy

run deep to the square when the other tall leaves that area and potentially block their direct opponent on the way through to give your team mate the space they need

stop your opponent from being able to rebound freely from D50

Press up on your opponent and prevent easy transition 

Lead out wide or high up the ground to take the intercept defender away from the hotspot as teams did to May when Lever was out

Smalls get front and centre to win the ground ball or apply a tackle to lock it in

Get separation from your opponent and/or create 1v 1s in your F50

All of which hairstyle and the the heartbreaker fail to do! Plus Chandler.Shizzen output!

4 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

That's just not true. Daniher was on the ground. Viney and Woey were in front of ANB, he just had to get it past McCluggage 

Screenshot_20240628_230707_AFL.jpg

No he wasn’t that photo is after the event Nibbler rolled over from his front Danniher was upright when Nibbler baulked

21 minutes ago, The Stewster said:

the most infuriating part of tonight...Turner trying to take chest mark instead of on the hands, missed goals with instant rebound by Brisbane, May's non mark, Rivers non goal. Some really dumb football by AFL players that should do the basisc well. easy from the couch, I know, but FFS!

Agree with all of this but it was nice (funny) to see another team do some “Benny Hill” moments that are usually saved for the Dees - Hipwoods handball point lol and Dannihers chip pass to Charlie lol. 

1 minute ago, picket fence said:

All of which hairstyle and the the heartbreaker fail to do!

Remember you said last week you were taking a break, heed your own advice