Ollie fan 3,671 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 One has to ask: is anyone surprised by this s..t? 1 Quote
Damo 3,464 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 3 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said: You just know that Carlton is going to win from getting a free kick. No! Never Quote
Clintosaurus 7,953 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 Just now, The heart beats true said: If you don’t reckon the fix is in for Carlton this year you aren’t paying attention. Just like the Pies last year. Vince McMahon provided the instructions. 2 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 @Axis of Bob what did you think about the umpire’s influence on the Carlton Freo game? 1 3 Quote
The Corridor 119 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 To anyone who doesn't think umpiring influences games, lol Quote
Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,791 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 1 minute ago, Clintosaurus said: Just like the Pies last year. Vince McMahon provided the instructions. Smells like it Quote
Chook 15,068 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 Just now, Jaded No More said: @Axis of Bob what did you think about the umpire’s influence on the Carlton Freo game? When it comes to Carlton, the dog walks the umpire! 3 Quote
Dee Zephyr 19,311 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 (edited) Keeps us on top for another few hours at least 😂 Edited April 6, 2024 by Dee Zephyr 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 Wow. Freo were just flat out robbed there 4 Quote
Rab D Nesbitt 8,951 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 Well that was vomit inducing. At least we're still top I guess. Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 It clearly hits Aish’s arm. Honestly. It’s just embarrassing how often it happens for some clubs at some stages. Anyone would think it was, I dunno, intentional. 1 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,536 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 Let them have their luck in the early rounds. They’re my tip for the flag but they’re luck isn’t going to last for 26 weeks. 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 Just now, The heart beats true said: It clearly hits Aish’s arm. Honestly. It’s just embarrassing how often it happens for some clubs at some stages. Anyone would think it was, I dunno, intentional. Let’s just say the umpires don’t see that, fine. What the actual [censored] was that free right in front of goal for dissent? Since when do you get another free right in front of goal? Get absolutely [censored] 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 1 minute ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: Let them have their luck in the early rounds. They’re my tip for the flag but they’re luck isn’t going to last for 26 weeks. It did for Collingwood, because the AFL made sure of it. This is a rinse and repeat but with a different brand of sour milk. 3 Quote
Antioch 235 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 (edited) Seriously bad umpiring led to the last 3 goals for Carlton. Has the AFL decided to gift Carlton the premiership this year? Edited April 6, 2024 by Antioch Quote
The Corridor 119 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 1 minute ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: Let them have their luck in the early rounds. They’re my tip for the flag but they’re luck isn’t going to last for 26 weeks. Well it lasted all year in 2023 - picked up some undeserved wins, especially the gws umpiring rort in the early rounds, and continues throughout the year especially late season and finals. Curnow and McKay have long been beneficiaries of flopping frees. Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 That’s what fans come to the footy to see. 2 teams go hard at it with discipline and huge effort for 3 hours - only for the umpire to unequivocally decide the result with a decision that no one can hear or see. 5 2 Quote
DemonWheels 1,118 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 Freo were still up by 8 or 10 points with 3 mins to go but an unpaid mark at half forward for Freo (which should have been paid) goes down the other end and Carlton score. Game on from that point and momentum is huge in modern footy. The whole of umpiring needs reviewing and I think as a code we need to look at better options as it’s ridiculous how small little decisions unfortunately do affect a whole game when the comp is so so even and tight. 2 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 Carlton a*** their way to another win. I do feel for the Dockers who were so well setup behind the ball and limiting the Blues for 4 quarters but my god did they snooker themselves with 90 seconds left stuck in their defensive 50. Carlton dropped an extra behind and they were too scared to dump kick out so they went for a contain the ball close and stoppage-stoppage-stoppage approach. This was fatal in my opinion as you would have probably needed about 15 stoppages to close out the match, it was only a matter of time before Carlton got a look at goal. 5 Quote
Chook 15,068 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 4 minutes ago, Jaded No More said: Let’s just say the umpires don’t see that, fine. What the actual [censored] was that free right in front of goal for dissent? Since when do you get another free right in front of goal? Get absolutely [censored] The old "where the ball is" never made sense to me for double-goals. When the first goal has been kicked, the ball should be considered back in the middle of the ground, not with whichever umpire happens to be holding it at the time. 1 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,536 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 3 minutes ago, The heart beats true said: It clearly hits Aish’s arm. Honestly. It’s just embarrassing how often it happens for some clubs at some stages. Anyone would think it was, I dunno, intentional. Was at the game sitting in that forward pocket and it was so clearly touched. Everyone in the crowd couldn’t believe the mark was paid. 1 Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 11 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said: This year is rigged. Surprise, surprise. Last year was rigged too. Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 I’m excited for Cripps to get off at the tribunal for knocking someone else out on the eve of a grand final. Quote
John Crow Batty 8,892 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 (edited) Awful, bloody awful punch out by Jackson back towards centre half forward for Carlton to get the hacked touched kick away. Should have gone for the boundary side. Horrible game by him. Edited April 6, 2024 by John Crow Batty 2 Quote