If he's going it will be a trade at the end of next year. We have time to get contingency in place and there's no way we'll let him run into his FA year and rely on compensation in return. Even 1st round compensation will be late 1st round.  The Crows will have to pay far more than that.  The Lever trade is the benchmark.

3 hours ago, Billy said:

Nothing wrong with a Toyota

Fogarty & pick 10 will do

In a perfect world pick 10 turns into O’Sullivan and they become key pillars for 10 years

Bizarre that the Crows think they can grab our only senior key fwd (that is a not past it)

6 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Bizarre that the Crows think they can grab our only senior key fwd (that is a not past it)

Then throw a tantrum when told no.

18 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Benchmark is (at a minimum) the Luke Jackson trade.  

Cmon man! Let’s be realistic.   

1 hour ago, old55 said:

If he's going it will be a trade at the end of next year. We have time to get contingency in place and there's no way we'll let him run into his FA year and rely on compensation in return. Even 1st round compensation will be late 1st round.  The Crows will have to pay far more than that.  The Lever trade is the benchmark.

Based on the McKay compensation we should be getting pick 1 

22 hours ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Don't get me wrong I'm not happy with this, i will be contacting the club via email like i did with Clarry's situation.

I encourage my fellow demonlanders to do the same.

Oh please - what is it with the 'email the club to express my frustration' palaver.

You dont think they have better things to do than respond to fans critiques?

Please. 

I encourage my fellow demonlanders to not contact the club to bag them out. 

5 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Reported on 10 News that Petty is staying. Hope I heard right.

For one season only

4 hours ago, ElDiablo14 said:

The newer generations don't understand the concept of loyalty, honesty and hard work.

They only understand the Tik Tok and Instagram "clout", whatever that means.

2 hours ago, Demonland said:

is this incompetent [censored] capable of getting ANYTHING right?

he's a restricted free agent at the end of 2025

if he elects to go and we're not happy with the compo, we can match

ffs, ralph is a hopeless 'journalist'

7 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

Rarely do teams match when players wish to leave.

2 minutes ago, rpfc said:

Rarely do teams match when players wish to leave.

and the part that most annoyed me is that they made it sound like we had a year to sign him up or we'd lose him

he's signed for two more seasons, not one

2 hours ago, BDA said:

Loyalty lol. If his injury doesn't heal and he has a bad season next year, you'll be one of the first trying to kick him out the door.

I wasn't talking specifically about Petty, I was referring more to the broader professional sport evolution.

It is also cruel when the clubs treat players like just assets and not people.

I do agree I may have become more cynical, just too many negative stuff happening around in the world today.

Edited by ElDiablo14

Seriously Clubs are going to go broke or at best be seriously compromised if they going to offer a player 800k on a long term contract that has a serious foot injury. Petty is a good player with further potential, injuries aside, but he is not a champion. The deals being offered around the traps are high risk plays. And can end up belly up. 

Would have been fun to see Petty request a trade on an 8 year, $106m supermax deal then have the Crom offer up their future 2nd rounder

Lots of water to pass under the bridge on this one. Sydney convinced Papley to stay when it looked like he was on the way to Carlton. 

4 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Lots of water to pass under the bridge on this one. Sydney convinced Papley to stay when it looked like he was on the way to Carlton. 

Papley going to Carlton would have been further reason to hate both player and club including fans. The latter would be insufferable. 

Surely any offer by the crows is irrelevant because he is contracted till 2025. Petty cant just pack up and leave.He wouldnt do that to us anyway.

I reckon mangers are trying to boost his value.

We can wait till 2025 before re signing him. Why the rush.

What if he breaks down again.

Alot can happen to AFL clubs in 18 months.

Look at how much we have been affected since the Maynard incident. One disaster after another.

It was only a month ago. Feels like it happened last year.

People change and so do clubs priorities.

1 hour ago, whatwhat say what said:

Look their not doing what their doing because they are supremely intelligent or have high professional standards. They are journalists in name only. I prefer the term “reporters” although they are not reporting facts but rather reporting opinions. Any footy journo with any ambition or higher calling would get out of the industry and do something worthwhile. But who would employ them and what would they do? Hmmm, that’s a mystery. 

6 hours ago, ElDiablo14 said:

The newer generations don't understand the concept of loyalty, honesty and hard work.

They only understand the Tik Tok and Instagram "clout", whatever that means.

“Them young’ins don’t know the meaning of hard work … in my day ….” Luxury!

It's disappointing all this. Petty was to be our key pillar for the next ten years. He's won a flag with us, we drafted him in the second round and have developed him very well. I guess Adelaide could say a similar thing of Lever, but this is a problem for us list management nevertheless.

I hope we can change his mind and get him a KPF partner for 2025.