Posted
1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I know it won't happen, but I would love to see Goody just mix things up today.

• Bowey to a half forward and give us some clean delivery amd poise going inside 50.

• Midfield shake up. Get Brayshaw out of there and get Salem in a few starting centre bounce set up. The only one with poise and smarts around the field. Throw Kozzie in there just to give us a bit of speed and flair.

• Harmes to tag. Again, won't happen, but we're better team when he's fully locking down on their best mid whether that's Kelly, Congilio, or Green. Compensate for not having Oliver there.

Agree with all of that.

The Bowey part especially but Goodwin appears glued to ANB which was the move that shouldve been made ie;  Bowey for ANB

Woe for Jordan

Melk as sub

Posted
22 minutes ago, Demon_spurs said:

Standing and watching the captains run yesterday in the cold, has added another meaning to the phrase dedicated supporter. I can attest that the sausages were hot cheerfully served and plentiful. I shall be leaving the unit to trudge the 300m to the ground looking like a red and blue Michellin Man, and join other supporters on the hill (at the Grange tent...I hope). Of all the players kicking the ball around yesterday, Bowey impressed me the most, his bullet passes just dont miss. 

Speaking of dedicated supporters, are you happy about the appointment of Ange?

And hope the redlegs have a win for you today.

Posted

MFCSS here. This will be difficult to win.

Posted
1 hour ago, whatwhat say what said:

koz into the midfield mix is something that i thought we would see more of this year, but outside of rd 1 it hasn't really happened

Sorry, this is nonsense.

Kozzy has had heaps of CBAs since Round 1.

* 6 against West Coast.

* 3 against Essendon.

* 11 against North.

* 3 against Gold Coast.

* 7 against Hawthorn.

* 3 against Port.

So up to the Port game in Round 10, Kozzy had a CBA in every game he played except Round 6 (remembering he was suspended for Rounds 2 and 3).

Since then, his possession tally has gone down and his CBAs have stopped altogether.

However, this has coincided with his TOG being progressively ramped up post Round 10 (see in bold below). I suspect we're not using him the bash and crash of the midfield, because he's already being asked to consistently cover more kms in transition forward than he was earlier in the year. 

R1 - 79%

R4 - 79%

R5 - 81%

R6 - 72%

R7 - 80%

R8 - 84%

R9 - 80%

R10 - 66%

R11 - 84%

R12 - 86%

R13 - 86%

R14 - Bye

R15 - 89%

Kozzy takes a good and watchful opponent, so although it'd be great to inject him into the CBs more often, I suspect we won't see this until later in the year, if at all.

If Chandler and ANB start hitting the scoreboard again, that probably allows us to throw Kozzy in at CBs.

Posted

Currently 8 deg in Alice, feels like 6 deg, but it has stopped raining. No wind, so conditions are perfect for footy now. Only question is how wet the ground will be after several days of persistent drizzle.

Posted
33 minutes ago, A F said:

I'm Rapt with the Ange appointment, and so good to see Spurs getting some Australian press. Sick of seeing Man U, Liverpool and Ars....(I can't bring myself to type it), in the news all the time. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

I'm far from a renowned forecaster dazzle but from my observations it will be better this arvo!

I really hope this is not a typo. For everyone's sake, I hope you weren't intending to type "bitter". 

Posted

Really hoping we see a significant difference with our forward set up now that Brown is back into the team.

Really hoping he has a big one. Been a big fan of his since day dot.

Posted
50 minutes ago, A F said:

I'm certainly happy about his appointment A F. 

Posted
59 minutes ago, A F said:

Sorry, this is nonsense.

Kozzy has had heaps of CBAs since Round 1.

* 6 against West Coast.

* 3 against Essendon.

* 11 against North.

* 3 against Gold Coast.

* 7 against Hawthorn.

* 3 against Port.

So up to the Port game in Round 10, Kozzy had a CBA in every game he played except Round 6 (remembering he was suspended for Rounds 2 and 3).

Since then, his possession tally has gone down and his CBAs have stopped altogether.

However, this has coincided with his TOG being progressively ramped up post Round 10 (see in bold below). I suspect we're not using him the bash and crash of the midfield, because he's already being asked to consistently cover more kms in transition forward than he was earlier in the year. 

R1 - 79%

R4 - 79%

R5 - 81%

R6 - 72%

R7 - 80%

R8 - 84%

R9 - 80%

R10 - 66%

R11 - 84%

R12 - 86%

R13 - 86%

R14 - Bye

R15 - 89%

Kozzy takes a good and watchful opponent, so although it'd be great to inject him into the CBs more often, I suspect we won't see this until later in the year, if at all.

If Chandler and ANB start hitting the scoreboard again, that probably allows us to throw Kozzy in at CBs.

his cba has definitely fallen away then as the season has gone, other than in the monster wins

i think he's one of our most important players forward of the ball, and i trust the coaching dept's judgement as to when to deploy him through the middle...or not, as the case may be

Posted
9 minutes ago, Winners at last said:

Sorry to stray from the preferred topic of conversation on this thread ... Spurs/Ange.

I think Melksham will get the gig as sub.

That would be game 99 for Melb. Might as well get him to 100....

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I know it won't happen, but I would love to see Goody just mix things up today.

• Bowey to a half forward and give us some clean delivery amd poise going inside 50.

• Midfield shake up. Get Brayshaw out of there and get Salem in a few starting centre bounce set up. The only one with poise and smarts around the field. Throw Kozzie in there just to give us a bit of speed and flair.

• Harmes to tag. Again, won't happen, but we're better team when he's fully locking down on their best mid whether that's Kelly, Congilio, or Green. Compensate for not having Oliver there.

Salem up the ground isn’t a bad call but I want it to be Rivers instead. I like the idea of Salem staying at half back, we can’t strip all our good kicks out of there. With Bowey, Salem and McVee all in the side maybe this is the week we push Rivers further up. 

Posted
21 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

I'm certainly happy about his appointment A F. 

I'm Liverpool, but I hope he does well, just not against my team.

Posted
3 minutes ago, A F said:

I'm glad to see the back of him to be honest. He made it so difficult to hate Celtic for those two years but normal service can now be resumed thankfully. My team 'down south' is Brentford but I hope he sticks it up all the naysayers down there and win a major trophy with them. 

Posted
14 minutes ago, A F said:

Ange's dream is to manage Liverpool, maybe not as remote a chance as people think 😉

Posted

On the round ball theme, if it’s wet this afternoon I’m hoping the Demons kick it off the ground a little more and handball a little less!