Posted

For the love of god bring Ben Brown in. Yes he’s terrible when the ball goes to ground but so is the rest of our list. Need a target. 

• Clap 3

Posted

Perhaps some of the untouchables need a spell. Is ANB really that indispensable to the team? He is the worst turnover merchant in the league at the moment.

And has BB had a falling out with Goody or what. I can't fathom why he isn't getting a game in this team. surely he can do no worse that TMac or JVR.

Posted

Freshen up the forward line and backlines and we should win, although knowing our luck we'll get the blues at their save-the -coach best.

In. BBB, Tommo, Hunter 

Out. Tmac, Chandler, McVee

Posted
11 minutes ago, BDA said:

Perhaps some of the untouchables need a spell. Is ANB really that indispensable to the team? He is the worst turnover merchant in the league at the moment.

And has BB had a falling out with Goody or what. I can't fathom why he isn't getting a game in this team. surely he can do no worse that TMac or JVR.

ANB had a couple of bad Nibbler moments but his tackling was excellent all day and it’s hard to say we don’t need that desperately. So many of his turnovers come from being in a side that makes it very hard for the player to know what to do given the lack of cohesion.

BBB can’t move and we’re already playing 2 big rucks who aren’t doing much forward. He might get another go, they switched it up today with Tom deep and JVR hitting up.  

But this seems like his first Casey game where he actually found the ball and some marks. If he’s getting 10 touches at Casey unless he’s kicking 4 a week that translates to no impact at AFL level.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Don’t worry, they’ll turn it all around and kick 20.1 next week 😂

Posted
1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Fair call on Spargo.

Blew countless opportunities today but he’s one of Goody’s 2021 favs.

Just wasn't one of his better days. Really whiffed that set shot too 

Posted (edited)
40 minutes ago, Pipefitter said:

For the love of god bring Ben Brown in. Yes he’s terrible when the ball goes to ground but so is the rest of our list. Need a target. 

And also leads up to the ball carrier. I lost count the number of times our forwards ran back toward goal with one arm in the air and not up to the ball it drives me nuts

Edited by Bates Mate
Posted
9 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

And also leads up to the ball carrier. I lost count the number of times our forwards ran back toward goal with one arm in the air and not up to the ball it drives me nuts

And the one Fritsch lead up sees him and Spargo collide and the one JVR hit up sees Harmes get in his way.

Posted

McVee and Bowie are getting pushed around in the backline; we can only ay one of them against the stronger sides. Lever is not  KPB, he's a third tall. Our midfield are getting smashed and are not getting front and centre. We have to many non-marking targets in the forwards; at least one has to go; when Gawn rests forward we have to many stationary talks. Importantly though the modern game requires speed of movement so any Ayers coming in need to also cater for this.

Posted
2 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Maybe we should try using our best key forward for once?

The team balance has been off since Petty was used as a forward which weakened the backline and prevented Ben Brown coming back in.

Also, clearances are trash and we can’t win a scrap or the ball when it hits the ground.

Voss and Goodwin in a Loser Leaves Town match.

Carlton by 22.

Brown, do you mean? Bring him back in? Suppose so. Tore the VFL today, apparently. Kicked one against Werribee. Bloody Goodwin.

Posted

If we lose to Carltank then all coaches should be sacked immediately post game.

Drop Tmac and bring in Hunter. Play Gus in the midfield. We are too tall and slow. 
JVR and Fritta need the ball loaches to them, not on top of them.

Posted

To be honest, I have no idea.

You could drop a lot of players but I don't feel we have the depth.

Posted (edited)

So had a go trying to pick a team to tweak the weaknesses while catering for fast movement modern footy. It was really hard. Obviously Oliver and Petty makes a difference.

Backs: May, Lever, [someone tall and clean], Hibberd, Bradshaw, Rivers, Bowie

Mids: Gawn, Trac, Viney, [someone not a contest mid] , Langdon, Hunter, Sparrow, [Picket/Spargo].  Grundy.

Fwds: Fritsch, BBB, Smith, [a tall marking option], [a mobile marking mid/small], a [pressure fwd], spargo/Picket

Oh and we are getting smashed I clearances because they are all in to come out the front of it; but not to defend or halve the contest!

Edited by Ungarieboy

Posted

For those who want JVR dropped, please discuss how we get better at ground ball and forward half pressure if we replace him with BB? 

BB and Tmac together plus one of Gawn/Grundy is the stuff of literal nightmares. You think the ball is coming out fast now? Just wait until you have 3 players who can barely bend down playing there. 

JVR is very competitive at ground level for a player his size. 

Posted

Lever needs to just float and do not much, so need another key defender to cover the actual defence. 
Harmes cost us a few goals today, id say he was worst on ground by a long way. 

Posted

Lever on either of Harry or Curnow is a scary thought. The way our clearance work is going they will get plenty of opportunities. 

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Chandler was better than Spargo today. No idea why they subbed him off and not Spargo, who can’t kick further than 30m. 
McVee was ok. He isn’t the issue. It’s the midfield and half forward line that is absolutely embarrassing us. 

We watch a different game at times mate. McVee better than Spargo?

Judd has struggled since approximately the Gold Coast match, when really he ideally should have been rested.

The last two weeks in particular he's become a liability.

He's a young player and he's learning, but today he offered very little. Was tentative at the contest, hardly touched it and the one time he ran and carried it, he kicked it straight down the throat of two waiting Freo players.

With Salem back now, I wouldn't be against bringing in Tomlinson to play lockdown (McKay), May to play second tall (Curnow) and Lever intercept 3rd tall, giving Judd a week off to freshen up for the Collingwood match if we feel there's a match up for him.

Posted

Would it be a horrendous decision to bring in Tomlinson (after two good games at Casey) to support may n lever next week?

It might free Rick up to play his preferred roaming intercept marking role….?

Posted (edited)
7 minutes ago, A F said:

We watch a different game at times mate. McVee better than Spargo?

Judd has struggled since approximately the Gold Coast match, when really he ideally should have been rested.

The last two weeks in particular he's become a liability.

He's a young player and he's learning, but today he offered very little. Was tentative at the contest, hardly touched it and the one time he ran and carried it, he kicked it straight down the throat of two waiting Freo players.

With Salem back now, I wouldn't be against bringing in Tomlinson to play lockdown (McKay), May to play second tall (Curnow) and Lever intercept 3rd tall, giving Judd a week off to freshen up for the Collingwood match if we feel there's a match up for him.

I said Chandler was better than Spargo. IMO Chandler should have stayed on and Spargo should have been subbed off.  

McVee was a different point. I don’t think McVee is setting the world on fire and he needs a rest, and I agree should be dropped, but he isn’t why we lost today.

Lever dropping 9 chest marks was more costly than anything McVee didn’t do in the contest I reckon. 
It’s our senior players not standing up today, or for much of this season (Trac and Clarry aside), that is hurting us the most. 

Edited by Jaded No More