Seraph 1,824 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 https://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/1331730/sparrow-offered-one-match-sanction Does anyone know when this occurred in the last quarter? I would love to pull up some vision. Quote
Gorgoroth 13,216 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 anyone know the incident? 8 don’t remember seeing anything. 3 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 I saw it and immediately thought it’ll be looked at. Player was ok so was hoping it’ll be a fine. It was a dumping tackle. Not heaps in it. 3 Quote
titan_uranus 25,252 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 Vision too poor to see if he pins an arm. If he does, we’re probably toast. But if not then this seems over the top. 1 1 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 3 minutes ago, titan_uranus said: Vision too poor to see if he pins an arm. If he does, we’re probably toast. But if not then this seems over the top. As always the vision is just excellent 🙄 5 1 1 Quote
Demons11 7,136 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 The vision doesn’t show the full tackle but I’m sure there will be a different angle. If he hits his head then unfortunately it’s a week 1 Quote
Dee Zephyr 19,311 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 (edited) Paused it here, can’t see a pinning of the arms. The week is just for the sling I guess. Edited May 14, 2023 by Dee Zephyr 1 1 Quote
titan_uranus 25,252 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 Can’t see him pin an arm, Day gets them both up. Presumably done for the slinging motion but that’s not what the dangerous tackle suspensions have focused on so far this year IIRC, they’ve all been dump/drives or pinned arms. 1 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 I don’t have it in me to go another 5 rounds with the tribunal and appeals board 😂 7 1 3 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 (edited) I call BS (based on this vision). Christiansen unhappy that JVR got off. Sparrow is trying pull him down in the tackle - not sideways. The sling is a result of two players moving in different directions initiated by Day’s rotation trying to break the tackle. Edited May 14, 2023 by Gawndy the Great 7 2 Quote
titan_uranus 25,252 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 This is the Guidelines on dangerous tackle offences: This appears like it can only be the last one - slung into the ground with excessive force. The AFL is hot on these this year. This one doesn’t leap out at me like others do. I assume he’d fail at the Tribunal but I really, really struggle to accept that this deserves a week whilst Meek was charged with kneeing for the second time and gets a fine, or Caldwell gets a fine for an intentional gut punch to Daicos on ANZAC Day. But here we are. 2 1 Quote
Megatron 886 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 2 minutes ago, Dee Zephyr said: Paused it here, can’t see a pinning of the arms. The week is just for the sling I guess. Can I ask a question? How is sparrow meant to stop rotation when Sparrow’s momentum is already heading to the right? I mean, what’s he meant to do? Arms are free and even if he lets go before he tackles him to ground and day still hits his head, does he still get a week? I’m totally confused. 4 1 Quote
sisso 2,623 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 Can barely lay a tackle in the game without it being looked at anymore 1 Quote
Demon17 5,259 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 12 minutes ago, Jaded No More said: I saw it and immediately thought it’ll be looked at. Player was ok so was hoping it’ll be a fine. It was a dumping tackle. Not heaps in it. Agreee but at the time I think no free was paid. Not certain though 1 Quote
DeeSince73 488 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 Fair dinkum. It’s time for Christian to go, he’s lost all objectivity. Not to mention the plot. 15 1 Quote
Demonsterative 3,021 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 1 minute ago, daisycutter said: and sack christian I’m looking forward to the Thursday night appeal here DL 2 1 Quote
TeamPlayedFine39 8,525 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 Gonna be difficult to appeal or convict without any footage of the actual tackle, ‘sling’ or ‘dump’… 1 Quote
Kick_It_To_Pickett 3,293 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 2 minutes ago, daisycutter said: and sack christian Honestly, the bloke has lost the plot. 1 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,805 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 16 minutes ago, Jaded No More said: I don’t have it in me to go another 5 rounds with the tribunal and appeals board 😂 It did not take long for the tribunal to get even with the MFC. 4 Quote
beelzebub 23,392 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 OK.. How the F does anyone extrapolate in a 3D meaningful way...in advance... NOT BLOODY HINDSIGHT... how any event matures. People moving ar upteen kph ...in any and varied directions. But that isn't the focus of any player. They only concern themselves with the moment, the event, the role, the ball . Somehow they have to think beyond ???? Its all B.S. 2 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted May 14, 2023 Posted May 14, 2023 27 minutes ago, beelzebub said: Games becoming blancmange I quite like blancmange. It’s also a ripper word. 1 4 1 Quote