Posted

Suns deserved to win by conventional measures. we had the experience and skill to just get there

good to see we can win ugly but we need to analyse how the suns beat us in the midfield so significantly 

• Like 14

Posted
5 minutes ago, bobby1554 said:

No, but it will get us there. Was always going to be a tough game, and I will take any win from that. Again, we almost kicked 100 points, so even though the forward line needs work, we are still scoring. We will get better as the year goes on. No point playing your best footy now. As Goody always says, the season is a marathon, no point going too hard early

Yep, I think they have learnt from last year's fadeout.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Webber said:

Gotta feel for Bailey Fritsch, his confidence was utterly shot

I don’t feel for him at all. If you don’t get a kick for 3/4’s of course you’ll be under the pump late. He had plenty of opportunity to win some of the ball or lay a tackle in the first 90 minutes to get himself in to the game 

Posted
15 minutes ago, Stiff Arm said:

We won without any of our key forwards barely doing anything. Phew!

Any top 4 side would've killed us tonight

Disagree, the Suns came hard and aren’t pushovers anymore

Posted

Suns pressure was finals quality after the first 20 minutes. Really hard to play against tonight, and wouldn’t let us take a commanding lead at any stage.
Full credit to them.

They would’ve beaten a lot of sides tonight. A lot.

Stoked to get the 4 points but heaps to work on.

• Like 18

Posted

Between us being average, the horrible umpiring in the 2nd and 3rd and the commentators being as biased as you could I need a big long walk in the rain. 

Posted
16 minutes ago, Chook said:

Matt Rowell is an unbelievable clearance player, and made Trac and Clarry look second rate at times. 

I thought Jack Viney, Max Gawn, Trent Rivers, Jake Bowey, and Judd McVee were the only ones who came close to winning their position on the night.

And sparrow 

Posted
9 minutes ago, leucopogon said:

Fourth quarter was so much better with the volume muted. Viney and Gawn the difference. Bowey and Sparrow had good games.

I couldn't stand that mutt Zorko on the Radio, had to turn it off. Then I wanted Dunstall to kiss Spalding's hip again, turned that on mute, then I got sick of my own voice yelling like a twit in the last. Glad for the 4 points and I'll enjoy the other games too round out the weekend. 

Posted
Just now, von said:

Between us being average, the horrible umpiring in the 2nd and 3rd and the commentators being as biased as you could I need a big long walk in the rain. 

Umpiring was what it was. We got away with a few things in that last quarter. 

Posted

Is there any element to describe why we aren’t travelling interstate well. Lions at the Gabba and Essendon in Adelaide both shockers, tonight was objectively a pretty bad outing (west coast was comprehensive but that’s also west coast). 

It’s perplexing because we travelled so well the last two years. 

Someone must have spiked frittatas pre game red bull because that was one of the most uncharacteristic performances I have ever seen. 

also that was some of the worst commentary I’ve ever had the displeasure of listening to, hate it when they enthusiastically barrack for one team. 

Posted

I called for him to be taken off but l  thought Turner looked ok in that last quarter before being subbed. Lever looks so much better with Petty playing back. Time to bring BBB back!

Posted
2 minutes ago, Mel Bourne said:

I’d say let the adrenaline wear off a bit more, DeeSpencer. 

This is hyperbole. 

Grundy might have something more to offer if he can be coached up.

Hunter, nope, it’s been 8 weeks now of progressively less interest in putting his body on the line or making quick decisions. And his brain is making choices his stumpy little legs can’t cash. 

Posted

Wins a win but:

Petty forward experiment is over when playing teams with big forwards. Needed him back tonight, Turner looked all at sea on Casboult and didn’t show his best until moved off him early in the last. Unfortunately no KPF are putting their hands up but I think we have to pull the trigger, BBB, Schache, Joel Smith, Whoever, we need Petty back. 
I hope JVR doesn’t get suspended but given how the MRO hates MFC fully expecting 3 weeks. 
Most of all Yze and the mids need to get to serious work, for a team that “prides itself” on contest we were absolutely smashed tonight by a young, inexperienced and shallow midfield, they are good but that was embarrassing.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Suns pressure was finals quality after the first 20 minutes. Really hard to play against tonight, and wouldn’t let us take a commanding lead at any stage.
Full credit to them.

They would’ve beaten a lot of sides tonight. A lot.

Stoked to get the 4 points but heaps to work on.

Agree 100%. Suns were very good, they would have given any team a hard time tonight. Having said that consecutive misses in the last didn’t help 

Posted
1 minute ago, Mel Bourne said:

Umpiring was what it was. We got away with a few things in that last quarter. 

We did get away with a few in the last but by god they tried hard in the middle two quarters.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Mel Bourne said:

Again, May not playing great, but again, posters here talking about him like he’s the worst player in the league. At least he was getting to the ball, unlike Lever, Fritsch and Ed. 

The issue with May is that you expect the floor for your experienced 30 year olds to be quite high, or at least a consistent level. That's how contending teams need to work...you know and trust what you get from the Senior guys so you can ride the bigger variation in performance from younger players that you try to bring into the team. May, along with some other senior players, just serves up too many complete stinkers. I reckon it would make it damn hard for the coaches dealing with that kind of inconsistency. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Turner needs to stay in the reserves until he is physically ready. Petty needs to stay in the backline for the remainder of the year and our forward connection and centre work needs a complete overhaul.

Not bad for a team currently on top of the ladder hey. FMD.

Oh have the pies already played?

Posted

I'm trying to work out whether our backline jitters are due to less midfield pressure or they're just not functioning that well. Opposition sides seem to be getting more uncontested marks in the F50 with run through the midfield. Also, May and Lever do a whole lot of great stuff every game but they both seem to be fumbling more this season.

Posted (edited)

4.30pm start on a Saturday in ****esville against an up and about GC. This was never going to be easy. Hindsight is 20 20 but I never thought it would be a soda

. Remember that these guys beat Geelong (albeit they hadn't found their feet)

Edited by Return to Glory
Posted
6 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Suns deserved to win by conventional measures. we had the experience and skill to just get there

good to see we can win ugly but we need to analyse how the suns beat us in the midfield so significantly 

By a team coached by Stewie Dew, probably one of the bottom 5 coaches atm.

Posted
1 minute ago, Tom Dyson said:

Is there any element to describe why we aren’t travelling interstate well. Lions at the Gabba and Essendon in Adelaide both shockers, tonight was objectively a pretty bad outing (west coast was comprehensive but that’s also west coast). 

It’s perplexing because we travelled so well the last two years. 

Someone must have spiked frittatas pre game red bull because that was one of the most uncharacteristic performances I have ever seen. 

also that was some of the worst commentary I’ve ever had the displeasure of listening to, hate it when they enthusiastically barrack for one team. 

Yep, Derwayne probably just shades BT for the "commentator who makes me want to throw the remote hard at the big screen" award, for mine.

Game was far more enjoyable when muted.