Redleg 42,156 Posted March 28, 2023 Posted March 28, 2023 1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said: PS. My wife and I laughed about that for years. Sadly not enough years. Sorry to hear that Uncle. 2 1 1 Quote
demon3165 2,865 Posted March 28, 2023 Posted March 28, 2023 5 minutes ago, Demonstone said: The bad news gets worse. Much worse in fact. Rumour has it that Bayley Fritsch has a library book that is TWO DAYS overdue. Not sure Bayley knows what a library is? Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted March 28, 2023 Posted March 28, 2023 17 minutes ago, demon3165 said: Not sure Bayley knows what a library is? i'm sure coldstream must have a library of sorts.....it's not romsey you know! 1 2 Quote
DEE fence 5,054 Posted March 28, 2023 Posted March 28, 2023 His media career is assured. If it wasn't for the dishonesty implications I would happily share some points, being away from Australia for so long I finally got back to 12. Quote
Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,792 Posted March 28, 2023 Posted March 28, 2023 Any mention of when...? Given a court appearance and case finalised, suggest this was some time ago Also, the potential for this to happen inadvertantly in Vic with the shambolic fines system appears very real 3 Quote
The Jackson FIX 3,512 Posted March 28, 2023 Posted March 28, 2023 With a bad leg, a stubby in one hand and a boxing glove on the other, it was proving difficult to drive anyway. 2 Quote
Fanatique Demon 2,764 Posted March 28, 2023 Posted March 28, 2023 11 hours ago, bush demon said: All the commentators in their coats and club ties are free to drink martinis while Stephen May drives. I didn't do it he says then he goes online. That's too many demerits for this dee boy to hide." (Apologies Bob Dylan). May wouldn’t have had a problem if he hadn’t driven like a hurricane. Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted March 28, 2023 Posted March 28, 2023 13 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said: As have I. Twice. On both occasions I wasn’t informed I had amassed the maximum demerit points, only to find out when pulled over. 13 hours ago, Mazer Rackham said: I am sorry to break this to you, but as a result, you will not be permitted to play full back for the Demons this weekend. If you look at the injury report, I think you'll find WCW is already out with a foot injury. 1 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted March 28, 2023 Posted March 28, 2023 here's something for maysie to listen to whilst he waits out his licence suspension. Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted March 28, 2023 Posted March 28, 2023 2 minutes ago, daisycutter said: here's something for maysie to listen to whilst he waits out his licence suspension. Bad idea. Too much Willie Nelson might encourage him to smoke illegal substances. Quote
3183 Dee 2,917 Posted March 28, 2023 Posted March 28, 2023 12 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said: No they won't. What it does bring is unwanted attention and negativity towards the club. Journo's will blow this up bigger then it should. I know I go on about it a bit, but the levels of sensationalist journalism around the AFL are a disgrace. A stupid non-story like this is given a blaring headline and all of a sudden it’s in the news. Same goes with Luke Jackson - whatever you think of his move, getting blasted by the AFL media after 2 games is disgusting. Of course, be critical after a poor performance, but some of the stuff that comes from supposed senior commentators like Kane Cornes, just to make a headline, is awful. 6 Quote
demon3165 2,865 Posted March 28, 2023 Posted March 28, 2023 11 hours ago, daisycutter said: i'm sure coldstream must have a library of sorts.....it's not romsey you know! Well damm close they all still wear overalls and straw hats. 1 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,468 Posted March 28, 2023 Posted March 28, 2023 11 minutes ago, 3183 Dee said: I know I go on about it a bit, but the levels of sensationalist journalism around the AFL are a disgrace. A stupid non-story like this is given a blaring headline and all of a sudden it’s in the news. Same goes with Luke Jackson - whatever you think of his move, getting blasted by the AFL media after 2 games is disgusting. Of course, be critical after a poor performance, but some of the stuff that comes from supposed senior commentators like Kane Cornes, just to make a headline, is awful. AFL "journalism" is a cesspool of drama queens and ne'er do wells. Best to avoid it and just watch the games, makes the experience of the footy so much better. Some analysis shows like On the Couch, First Crack and Demonland podcast () are notable exceptions. 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted March 29, 2023 Posted March 29, 2023 1 hour ago, Dr. Gonzo said: AFL "journalism" is a cesspool of drama queens and ne'er do wells. Best to avoid it and just watch the games, makes the experience of the footy so much better. Some analysis shows like On the Couch, First Crack and Demonland podcast () are notable exceptions. First Crack and DL podcast are literally all I'm listening to at the moment. Quote
poita 3,944 Posted March 29, 2023 Posted March 29, 2023 No wonder driving in Melbourne is such hard work these days. Half the population doesn't have a valid license, and the other half condones this. 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted March 29, 2023 Posted March 29, 2023 Where do you draw the line? By this standard every parking ticket and late phone plan payment should be disclosed by the media. Quote
Orion 332 Posted March 29, 2023 Posted March 29, 2023 (edited) 16 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said: Got nothing to do with Football Carry on I doubt the media will see it that way. They'll try to make the story bigger by showing his rapt sheet and discussing that as well Edited March 29, 2023 by Orion Quote
Willmoy1947 4,261 Posted March 29, 2023 Posted March 29, 2023 Plenty of footy commentators still without licenses that i..... Quote
Demon17 5,262 Posted March 29, 2023 Posted March 29, 2023 16 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said: If it's a points issue, it's possibly [censored] poor communication or, at worst, carelessness - I've done the same. Vic Roads or whatever they are called are borderline incompetents. Speaking from experience (not mine btw) His licence will be suspended because of points. If it was speeding or drink driving it would be a court matter, unless the level was very low, but if that was the case it would have made the Herald Sun front page. It didn't. I was on 12 points and was given 2 options - keep driving and one more point in 12 months reults in suspension for a year, OR take a suspension now or 3 months. I risked the 12 month 'probabtion' which was tricky but OK in the end. I suspect Maysy was on the limit and overstepped speeding wise. easily done on the Monash freeway going to casey maybe. I'm surprised there aren't more suspended drivers on the road given the sheer cost of getting back the licence (if it was due to alcohol). I'll be cheering him on either way Sunday arvo. 1 Quote
pineapple dee 2,892 Posted March 29, 2023 Posted March 29, 2023 16 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said: Got nothing to do with Football Carry on Got absolutely nothing to do with footy. Lets move on Quote
bluey 1,123 Posted March 29, 2023 Posted March 29, 2023 A poor example from a senior player. If he skittled someone the club would condone it. 1 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted March 29, 2023 Posted March 29, 2023 10 minutes ago, bluey said: A poor example from a senior player. If he skittled someone the club would condone it. that's funny bluey. you're a born comedian. 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted March 29, 2023 Posted March 29, 2023 (edited) 37 minutes ago, Demon17 said: Speaking from experience (not mine btw) His licence will be suspended because of points. If it was speeding or drink driving it would be a court matter, unless the level was very low, but if that was the case it would have made the Herald Sun front page. It didn't. I was on 12 points and was given 2 options - keep driving and one more point in 12 months reults in suspension for a year, OR take a suspension now or 3 months. I risked the 12 month 'probabtion' which was tricky but OK in the end. I suspect Maysy was on the limit and overstepped speeding wise. easily done on the Monash freeway going to casey maybe. I'm surprised there aren't more suspended drivers on the road given the sheer cost of getting back the licence (if it was due to alcohol). I'll be cheering him on either way Sunday arvo. Me too. From experience going through red lights/no entry signs is 3 points. Where I work there's a street nearby that has a no entry sign, I see people abuse this at least 20 times a day because it's a great shortcut but if you're caught then it's 3 demerit points just like a red light. Using your mobile while driving I believe is 4 points and around $500 fine, not advocating the use of phones while driving but there are many things we use our phones for these days and even a quick check of google maps can get you in trouble. So a couple of mobile incidents, a no entry sign and speeding over a 3 year period can get you the 12 and suspend your licence. We all make mistakes and it can be things other than drink driving. Edited March 29, 2023 by layzie Quote
bluey 1,123 Posted March 29, 2023 Posted March 29, 2023 20 minutes ago, daisycutter said: that's funny bluey. you're a born comedian. Real funny, just let him continue, let’s not forget Col. Quote