Grr-owl 1,258 Posted January 24, 2023 Posted January 24, 2023 Yeah, its a topic that has been covered before, but I thought I'd begin anew in case there's been innovation in the field, so here goes: What is the cheapest/best value way to get footy on the TV or streaming app? Free to air sux, obviously, and Kayo is comprehensive but expensive and Foxtel is even more so. Any other alternatives? In explanation, now that I'm back in Aus permanently, membership/attendance is competing with TV coverage for a limited supply of $AUD, so... I turn to Demonland for help and support. I mean, where else? 2 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted January 24, 2023 Posted January 24, 2023 kayo is probably cheapest. you only need to pay for footy season...say 6 months. additionally if you want to squeeze it down, get a basic subscription which supports 2 devices concurrently and split costs with a mate/family member. only thing cheaper is probably the pirate sites and fight off the virus attempts. 5 1 1 1 Quote
DubDee 26,674 Posted January 24, 2023 Posted January 24, 2023 Go to home games and go to pub for away games just costs a H&A membership. 3 1 Quote
Grr-owl 1,258 Posted January 25, 2023 Author Posted January 25, 2023 On 1/24/2023 at 12:58 PM, daisycutter said: kayo is probably cheapest. you only need to pay for footy season...say 6 months. additionally if you want to squeeze it down, get a basic subscription which supports 2 devices concurrently and split costs with a mate/family member. only thing cheaper is probably the pirate sites and fight off the virus attempts. Cheers, DC. Quote
Grr-owl 1,258 Posted January 25, 2023 Author Posted January 25, 2023 On 1/24/2023 at 1:01 PM, DubDee said: Go to home games and go to pub for away games just costs a H&A membership. Damm good idea.... cheers. 1 Quote
Dee*ceiving 1,738 Posted January 25, 2023 Posted January 25, 2023 On 1/24/2023 at 1:01 PM, DubDee said: Go to home games and go to pub for away games just costs a H&A membership. And expect to drop $150 on food, beer and transport every time you attend live/visit a pub 5 2 Quote
DubDee 26,674 Posted January 25, 2023 Posted January 25, 2023 1 hour ago, Dee*ceiving said: And expect to drop $150 on food, beer and transport every time you attend live/visit a pub not me, i walk to the pub and don't waste money on food. so the $150 is all on booze! 3 11 2 Quote
Demonland 74,431 Posted January 25, 2023 Posted January 25, 2023 1 hour ago, Dee*ceiving said: And expect to drop $150 on food, beer and transport every time you attend live/visit a pub Just as much at the footy too for a pie, chips and a coke, oops I mean pepsi now. 2 Quote
Grr-owl 1,258 Posted January 27, 2023 Author Posted January 27, 2023 On 1/25/2023 at 4:06 PM, Demonland said: Just as much at the footy too for a pie, chips and a coke, oops I mean pepsi now. Four 'n' Twenty 18 pack going for $23.99 at Costco. Might sneak a couple in under my beanie... 1 Quote
demons123452000 131 Posted January 27, 2023 Posted January 27, 2023 Could it be that you are a hot head Grr oi 1 Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,064 Posted January 28, 2023 Posted January 28, 2023 (edited) On 1/24/2023 at 12:58 PM, daisycutter said: get a basic subscription which supports 2 devices concurrently and split costs with a mate/family member. Note, Netflix is reportedly starting a crackdown on subscription sharing and I wouldn't mind betting Kayo do at some point too. Just hope it's not soon as sharing a subscription with my sister is a pretty good deal for me at the moment! Overall, it might not be the cheapest, but I'm pretty happy to contribute my MFC home and away membership and attend at the ground as my preferred means of watching. Totally understand that everyone's finacial situation might be different though and you've got to rationalize what where you spend your money in life. Edited January 28, 2023 by Rodney (Balls) Grinter 1 Quote
Travy14 2,142 Posted January 28, 2023 Posted January 28, 2023 1 hour ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said: Note, Netflix is reportedly starting a crackdown on subscription sharing and I wouldn't mind betting Kayo do at some point too. Just hope it's not soon as sharing a subscription with my sister is a pretty good deal for me at the moment! Overall, it might not be the cheapest, but I'm pretty happy to contribute my MFC home and away membership and attend at the ground as my preferred means of watching. Totally understand that everyone's finacial situation might be different though and you've got to rationalize what where you spend your money in life. Kayo are owned by Foxtel, they don't need to worry about that stuff. Already make a squillion. Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted January 30, 2023 Posted January 30, 2023 Kayo is the failsafe way. Bite the bullet, get it for 6 months. There really is no better cost effective option for being able to watch every game. Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,773 Posted February 3, 2023 Posted February 3, 2023 Kayo just increased its monthly price $25 = One screen $30= Two screens $35 = Three screens The Telstra subscribers discount is finished. Some AFL clubs are allowing members a $220 per year ($19 per month) subscription. (Bulldogs). Not sure if MFC offers a similar deal. Of course if you were intending to cancel over summer this deal is more expensive than a month to month subscription 2 1 Quote
Grr-owl 1,258 Posted February 3, 2023 Author Posted February 3, 2023 There's a Kayo membership on the site, says Coming Soon for $263 for 12 months. Fair discount. Wonder if it will ever actually appear..... Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted February 3, 2023 Posted February 3, 2023 I'd pay for a Melbourne only membership if it existed. I like watching other games but if it meant saving money it's a no brainer. Quote
ElDiablo14 5,057 Posted February 3, 2023 Posted February 3, 2023 2 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said: Kayo just increased its monthly price $25 = One screen $30= Two screens $35 = Three screens The Telstra subscribers discount is finished. Some AFL clubs are allowing members a $220 per year ($19 per month) subscription. (Bulldogs). Not sure if MFC offers a similar deal. Of course if you were intending to cancel over summer this deal is more expensive than a month to month subscription Yes we do have that option, just look for it on the membership website Quote
ElDiablo14 5,057 Posted February 3, 2023 Posted February 3, 2023 46 minutes ago, layzie said: I'd pay for a Melbourne only membership if it existed. I like watching other games but if it meant saving money it's a no brainer. Yeah, just like NBA pass. I used to pay only for the OKC games. 8 different broadcast options...just perfection 👌🏻 Quote
darkhorse72 1,943 Posted February 3, 2023 Posted February 3, 2023 Being in WA, Kayo is the way,. Though with our success, we're on FTA a lot more than we used to be. Quote
wackojacko 25 Posted February 3, 2023 Posted February 3, 2023 On 1/24/2023 at 12:43 PM, Grr-owl said: Yeah, its a topic that has been covered before, but I thought I'd begin anew in case there's been innovation in the field, so here goes: What is the cheapest/best value way to get footy on the TV or streaming app? Free to air sux, obviously, and Kayo is comprehensive but expensive and Foxtel is even more so. Any other alternatives? In explanation, now that I'm back in Aus permanently, membership/attendance is competing with TV coverage for a limited supply of $AUD, so... I turn to Demonland for help and support. I mean, where else? I've got a fire stick. Pay 400 a year. Have live TV from heaps of European countries. There's about 400 sports channels, epl, afl, NBA, any sport you can think of plus ppv events for nothing. Also has a movie library with movies still out at village and hoyts. Netflix, Amazon, stan library as well 1 Quote
Roger Mellie 4,205 Posted February 3, 2023 Posted February 3, 2023 (edited) 16 hours ago, Grr-owl said: There's a Kayo membership on the site, says Coming Soon for $263 for 12 months. Fair discount. Wonder if it will ever actually appear..... I just got the email from the club offering this deal. They also throw in an armchair membership. Great value at $22 per month but a little more expensive than other clubs ($19?). The info is listed under the membership categories under KAO Digital Membership: https://membership.melbournefc.com.au/packages The club should hopefully advertise this on the main page so non-members will can find it. Edited February 3, 2023 by Roger Mellie Further info 1 Quote
Stiff Arm 4,420 Posted February 3, 2023 Posted February 3, 2023 15 hours ago, wackojacko said: I've got a fire stick. Pay 400 a year. Have live TV from heaps of European countries. There's about 400 sports channels, epl, afl, NBA, any sport you can think of plus ppv events for nothing. Also has a movie library with movies still out at village and hoyts. Netflix, Amazon, stan library as well Help a ludite, please: Does a fire stick require additional monthly payments beyond the initial purchase? Does it have access to Kayo without Kayo subscription? Fire stick OK to use with a smart tv? Seems too good to be true if there's only the initial purchase and it give wide access to paid platforms TIA Quote
wackojacko 25 Posted February 4, 2023 Posted February 4, 2023 1 hour ago, Stiff Arm said: Help a ludite, please: Does a fire stick require additional monthly payments beyond the initial purchase? Does it have access to Kayo without Kayo subscription? Fire stick OK to use with a smart tv? Seems too good to be true if there's only the initial purchase and it give wide access to paid platforms TIA Whatever is on kayo you will find on here. For example, the afl comes through UK channel BT sports. NBA comes through UK channel ESPN NBA etc No monthly payments. Was built for smart tvs 1 1 Quote
Grr-owl 1,258 Posted February 4, 2023 Author Posted February 4, 2023 7 hours ago, Roger Mellie said: I just got the email from the club offering this deal. They also throw in an armchair membership. Great value at $22 per month but a little more expensive than other clubs ($19?). The info is listed under the membership categories under KAO Digital Membership: https://membership.melbournefc.com.au/packages The club should hopefully advertise this on the main page so non-members will can find it. Yeah, just saw it. Looks pretty good. Quote
praha 11,267 Posted February 4, 2023 Posted February 4, 2023 In terms of overall total value, wait for the pre-season Foxtel sale. Normally $40ish dollars with Sport 4K + Entertainment. So it works out as more overall value than Kayo and you also get 4K. 1 Quote