Posted
2 minutes ago, YearOfTheDees said:

I think our job here is done. pick four, pick three is a chance but might involve the Hawks in an upset I could not handle. Pick four it is.

Pick 5 at worst.

Posted
6 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Pick 5 at worst.

You know if you go to the ladbroke app and look at all the bets of the grand Final most involved Freo winning it. The number of $17000 to win $500,000 " the max you could win" is amazing. Best have been a great year for them watching Freo implode .

Posted
42 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

My query is the same. He is a very talented player, of that I have no doubt. The attributes to be a star are there.

But IMO the way he checked out last year was poor, especially given another flag was there for the taking. And to me he did not to me seem to come to Freo in top shape. He still looks a little overweight and he ran out of steam in the last quarter yesterday, which OK long season and he's rucked alone, so maybe that's fair. But game on the line sort of stuff, and he didn't lift like I thought he would given how he played the previous 3 quarters. Fumbles are one thing, but ball watching is another. My Essendon mate commented that he cost Freo that game with his lack of intent in the last, so it's not just biased Melbourne supporter syndrome. 

To me he lacks desperation. Maybe it's because he feels satisfied, having won a flag and gone back home on big dollars. Maybe as you say it's immaturity and a bit too much time spent living the life with his mates, and he will eventually grow out of it. But if I invested 3 first round picks and millions of dollars in a player, I would want to see a lot more in terms of consistency of effort. 

i just think he doesnt have that natural footballer c...t in him, hes not that guy, hes a surfer lad that loves to play a bit of sport, and is athletically gifted. Hes got the attributes to be a star of the game, but i dont think he wants to be that guy, or could push himself to get to that level.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Tracca said:

i just think he doesnt have that natural footballer c...t in him, hes not that guy, hes a surfer lad that loves to play a bit of sport, and is athletically gifted. Hes got the attributes to be a star of the game, but i dont think he wants to be that guy, or could push himself to get to that level.

He can be that guy but I agree he's at a slight fork in the road where he needs to decide exactly what he wants to be. Does he want to put in the extra yards to get his fitness in absolute ripping nick? Would he potentially re-structure his contract down the track to make it more 'team friendly' and allow Freo to chase some free agent pieces? Would he put in the extra hours working on forward craft so he becomes more rounded as a player and can help his team in other ways. 

He's right at the start of this choose your own adventure journey and it is entirely up to him how he wants it to work out. The sky is the limit and we'll just have to wait, we'll know plenty more around the 23 or 24 y.o mark. 

Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, layzie said:

He can be that guy but I agree he's at a slight fork in the road where he needs to decide exactly what he wants to be. Does he want to put in the extra yards to get his fitness in absolute ripping nick? Would he potentially re-structure his contract down the track to make it more 'team friendly' and allow Freo to chase some free agent pieces? Would he put in the extra hours working on forward craft so he becomes more rounded as a player and can help his team in other ways. 

He's right at the start of this choose your own adventure journey and it is entirely up to him how he wants it to work out. The sky is the limit and we'll just have to wait, we'll know plenty more around the 23 or 24 y.o mark. 

yep agree.

i just hope we pick wisely with pick 4 and 23 or whatever it is!! 

Edited by Tracca

Posted
16 minutes ago, layzie said:

I’m not convinced you can change your approach to your sport to any great degree. You look at the way Trac, Clarry and Viney go about their football. All three are hell bent on being the very best they can, whatever it takes.

I don’t see the same desire in LJ. I was a surfer for 50 years. It’s a sport that can get in your blood to the point you want to do nothing else but be in the water. I moved from Melbourne to the Surf Coast as soon as I could. Luke would be loving the fact that he’s got waves, albeit ordinary in Perth, on his doorstep, and I’ll bet a surf would take preference over a run or kick of a footy. That’s my opinion.

Posted

I love that Freo has imploded and now we'll some unexpectedly good picks from Jackson leaving, but the talk about Jackson being anything other than a gun is just silly. He's obviously good, he's young, and Freo won't be crying about having 10 years of his services.

From Freo's perspective, they just wish that they could have paid way unders for him by performing well, rather than just slight unders like they have by playing badly.

Posted (edited)
31 minutes ago, Axis of Bob said:

I love that Freo has imploded and now we'll some unexpectedly good picks from Jackson leaving, but the talk about Jackson being anything other than a gun is just silly. He's obviously good, he's young, and Freo won't be crying about having 10 years of his services.

From Freo's perspective, they just wish that they could have paid way unders for him by performing well, rather than just slight unders like they have by playing badly.

Agree.

And the paying overs talk is a bit misleading in the sense with the deal they made they were always going to give up draft picks. 

They would have expected to finish in the eight, no question. If they did their opportunity cost was say pick 12 and 30 or some such.

Once the deal was done, the fact that the opportunity cost might be 4 and 24 doesn't really change much from their perspective - other than giving a rival a pretty big leg up. 

Posted
21 minutes ago, Colm said:

Suns win today and we can lock in pick 4. 🤞🤞

Probs jumping the gun

Posted

No it’s not happening. Freo can move above Suns now if they win by half decent margin tonight. 
Death ride will be going to the last round I think.  Suns play North in Tassie and Freo play Hawks at the G. 

Posted
On 8/7/2023 at 8:41 AM, binman said:

One they matured they went to the next level. Hopefully the same will be true for Jackson.

I have no animosity towards Jackson, but I hope he doesn't go to the next level. He doesn't play for Melbourne. We move on and hope our guys are better than everyone else's. 

Posted
6 hours ago, Binmans PA said:

I have no animosity towards Jackson, but I hope he doesn't go to the next level. He doesn't play for Melbourne. We move on and hope our guys are better than everyone else's. 

It's like selling shares. Nothing against him but I hope the price doesn't go up now.

Posted
19 minutes ago, BDA said:

West coast Eagles are a laughingstock. How is Adam Simpson still in a job?

Barrass, Naitanui, Shuey, Ryan and Sheed just a few of the first-choice players on their 12-strong injury list. Then they lost Brady Hough just before kickoff today. And they have had by far the longest AFL injury list all season. How would we go without May, Lever, Gawn, Petracca and Oliver?

Adam Simpson is not to blame. It's a combination of injuries and poor list management. Something like the mess we were in prior to the arrival of Paul Roos.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Dee-monic said:

Barrass, Naitanui, Shuey, Ryan and Sheed just a few of the first-choice players on their 12-strong injury list. Then they lost Brady Hough just before kickoff today. And they have had by far the longest AFL injury list all season. How would we go without May, Lever, Gawn, Petracca and Oliver?

Adam Simpson is not to blame. It's a combination of injuries and poor list management. Something like the mess we were in prior to the arrival of Paul Roos.

Yes their list is a shambles but they have been playing badly for a few years now. They play with zero spirit. They are  injured all the time because they’re poorly conditioned. Simpson is the head coach. Buck stops with him. They’ve been a disgrace on his watch. 

Posted
9 hours ago, Nascent said:

We lose to Carlton and a grip on top 2 while our pick 4 from freemantle slid back to pick 5. 

Pretty ****house Saturday.

I think people are jumping the gun here, Flagmantle look like they want to finish off the season strong.

They could win the next 2.

Posted
6 hours ago, Cheap Seats said:

I think people are jumping the gun here, Flagmantle look like they want to finish off the season strong.

They could win the next 2.

Could lose next 2 as well and probably need Suns to beat Roos in last.

Posted
1 minute ago, david_neitz_is_my_dad said:

If only we helped our situation out and beat the dockers

Morgan Freeman Applause GIF by The Academy Awards