Posted
4 minutes ago, Mr Steve said:

Luke Dunstan has had a number of chances this year and has not taken them.

When Viney comes off for a 5 minute rest. Dunstan on. 
could be worth consideration 

Dunstan aint pretty but he is tough.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Needs to impose a little more around the ground

Rucking alone is not enough in the AFL

Given, but has shown some commendable ‘smarts’ around the packs on today’s showing. Had some kicks on goal which didn’t, come off too.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Buzzy said:

Not without a big payout!  Brainstrust at the club gave him a 5 year x $500K a year contract and this is the third year by my count.

Ridiculous decision to lock him in for that long - and $150K a year too much.  He wasn't even a regular for GWS in 2019.

His contract expires at the end of 2023 and would think he is important to keep as key position depth at the moment.

Posted
22 minutes ago, Kick_It_To_Pickett said:

Tomlinson’s AFL career is over. His skills are so sub standard, particularly his foot skills 

Absolute rubbish he’s been a v good kick over the years. 

Posted

I love the hyperbole on here. If you listened to some, basically all of our listed players are either sub-standard, shocking, not up to it, past it, overpaid, overhyped, too slow, etc, etc, etc. That was a great team performance, everyone played well, no passengers. I guess perfection is the only legitimate standard for many. Dunstan and Weideman best for mine, and ALL the yet-to-debut boys were excellent. 

• Like 30
Posted
2 minutes ago, Bay Riffin said:

Absolute rubbish he’s been a v good kick over the years. 

Thank you, was just about to give the same response. 

Posted (edited)

Great team performance!

Dunstan is a beauty

Tomlinson wasn't all bad... very effective around a few misfires

Weids was definitely the most effective ruckman / follower on the ground

JVR continues promising season

Macca contributed

Pleased to see the way Rosman, Baker & Chandler finished off after quiet starts

Edited by waynewussell

Posted
10 minutes ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

Depth for injuries only I reckon, he's great depth, but just depth

Depth for Midfield rotations

Could be a real weapon at the 20 minute mark

Posted

Dunstan BOG and Brown not far behind as an important target inside 50.

Of our younger players, JvR was super impressive and should get regular senior time next year. Howes showed promising signs, was very clean with the footy and seems to be a one touch player. Rosman worked his way into the game after half time and had noticeable 2nd and 3rd efforts with multiple tackles. I've had my doubts on him but think he's got a lot of talent to work with and should be kept for another year. Liked woewodins game and just seems like a solid footballer. Turner is one that's too good to be playing vfl for the majority of the year next season. Tough backline to crack into though. Wasn't Lauries day and was rarely sighted, looking forward to see how he responds in the prelim as I rate him as a footballer in general and has had a decent year.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

When Viney comes off for a 5 minute rest. Dunstan on. 
could be worth consideration 

Dunstan aint pretty but he is tough.

Would be a great idea in 1985.

• Haha 7
Posted

I’m pleased to see we have young wingers coming through as there aren’t too many ready made in the AFL, and a young key forward so lots of promise, JVR AND Rossman caught my eye with AFL qualities especially. 

Posted (edited)
11 minutes ago, Webber said:

I love the hyperbole on here. If you listened to some, basically all of our listed players are either sub-standard, shocking, not up to it, past it, overpaid, overhyped, too slow, etc, etc, etc. That was a great team performance, everyone played well, no passengers. I guess perfection is the only legitimate standard for many. Dunstan and Weideman best for mine, and ALL the yet-to-debut boys were excellent. 

I think it’s hyperbole to say “ everyone played well”.

Baker, Laurie and Rosman and I think Howes didn’t touch it in the first half. Howes will be good for us though next year but I am not confident of the first three with Rosman the one I would keep of the three. Laurie I know they will keep.  Deakyn Smith was just ok.

Woey didn’t have a great game but he has showed enough this year.

Agree Dunstan and Weid were fantastic.

JVR is going to be an exciting player for us and I wish Mitch Brown was 22.

Edited by Redleg

Posted
7 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

tomlinson needs to cut out the short pinpoint passes or only use them when there is no other choice

kicking long he is fine

Spot on. The knock on his kicking is justified. 

Posted

3. Dunstan

2. Brown kicked vital goals when everyone was missing 

1. Weideman quietly went about his business

Posted

Bedford had a "nearly" spectacular game

A bounce here, a few more inches there and we would be singing his praises.

Aussie Rules can be a tough game

Don't think our boundary line game favours his style. Needs more room to use his speed to run onto the ball

Posted (edited)

Great win by Casey - they'd give the AFL bottom 6 a run for their money.

Van Rooyen and Turner are clearly AFL quality in the making.

I expect Mitch Brown to retire from AFL, and Tomlinson and Dunstan should be playing AFL at another club - I couldn't blame them for that.

Also as posted in the Bedford thread, I think him and/or Chandler will move for AFL opportunities next year.  Hopefully we can retain one of them.

If we can beat Sydney on Friday then the VFL and AFL teams will play alternating weeks.

If we make the AFL and VFL GFs then the VFL players will be off a 6 day break for the AFL GF.

Edited by old55
Posted
14 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Would be a great idea in 1985.

Players didn’t get these stats in 1985

Tough hard nuts thrive in September 

He could be a real weapon as a Burst player 

6A109719-5B29-4275-832A-96DEC5FA350E.jpeg

Posted
12 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Baker, Laurie and Rosman and I think Howes didn’t touch it in the first half.

Yes they did. 

Posted

Sheeesh there's some serious, misinformed, delusional and ignorant rcap written about our players on 'Land at times. I have to look at the URL bar to check I haven't mistakenly logged on to the Bomber's board.

Posted
23 minutes ago, Nascent said:

Dunstan BOG and Brown not far behind as an important target inside 50.

Of our younger players, JvR was super impressive and should get regular senior time next year. Howes showed promising signs, was very clean with the footy and seems to be a one touch player. Rosman worked his way into the game after half time and had noticeable 2nd and 3rd efforts with multiple tackles. I've had my doubts on him but think he's got a lot of talent to work with and should be kept for another year. Liked woewodins game and just seems like a solid footballer. Turner is one that's too good to be playing vfl for the majority of the year next season. Tough backline to crack into though. Wasn't Lauries day and was rarely sighted, looking forward to see how he responds in the prelim as I rate him as a footballer in general and has had a decent year.

Good summary. Didn't see the 1st half but was v impressed with Rosman in the 2nd half. Rooey looks a ripper

And Ladhams should be suspended for his hit on Woewodin. Woey was over the boundary line, had disposed of the ball and the hit was high with impact. Dirtbag

Posted
41 minutes ago, Webber said:

Totally agree.