Posted
1 minute ago, Redleg said:

I find the Lions to be a heavy scragging side, with a lot of grabbing/pushing of players without the ball, designed to give them first use of the ball. In a low free kick game that would usually work to their advantage.

Also the diving and acting of Joe is laughable to get his soft free kicks.

Joe is critical to Brisbane when their smalls are HARD held..

Posted
4 hours ago, DEE fence said:
Rewatched the game today, while packing house up for a move to the Ivory Coast. Sparrow stood out on 2nd viewing, would say he has reversed some recent poor form and had perhaps his best game to date. Closely watched Bowey again, did some good things and not desperate to drop him, but he doesn’t seem to be making the same space and time for himself that he was doing so well.

Safe travels, M. 🙂

Posted (edited)
17 hours ago, Maldonboy38 said:

Brayshaw remains my favourite current Dees player. He was sublime last night. His defensive running followed by midfield linking up, followed by delivery into the F50. 

My apologies to Hibbo, I thought he was done and others would overtake him. Stuff me, he was brutal on Cameron and his run and dash is back. 

ANB emerged from a genuine form slump.

Jordon is such a good player, just so impressive and sure of himself. 

Kozzie, Spargo and Bedford - wow!

As I have said before, Hibbo is only noticed after he matches up with a big name player like Franklin, Martin or Cameron and renders them impotent. When he plays against lesser lights his efforts go under the radar because his work is usually just boringly efficient. The only decline I see is that his kicking skills are not as good as they once were but he has compensated in other ways.

Edited by John Crow Batty
Posted
15 minutes ago, John Crow Batty said:

As I have said before, Hibbo is only noticed after he matches up with a big name player like Franklin, Martin or Cameron and renders them impotent. When he plays against lesser lights his efforts go under the radar because his work is usually just boringly efficient. The only decline I see is that his kicking skills are not as good as they once were but he has compensated in other ways.

Another player that is easy to underestimate is Charlie Spargo - he was instrumental in 3 goals in addition to the one he kicked. Love what he brings.

Posted
1 hour ago, Sideshow Bob said:

Thursday footy completely sucks. 

It's now Saturday late morning and I am completely bored and at a loss for what do with the weekend. 

What do non footbally people do on winter Saturdays????

All is not lost! Watch the ressies - Casey game at 1:45 on AFL app. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Sideshow Bob said:

Thursday footy completely sucks. 

It's now Saturday late morning and I am completely bored and at a loss for what do with the weekend. 

What do non footbally people do on winter Saturdays????

Thursday footy is crap.

Posted
34 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Another player that is easy to underestimate is Charlie Spargo - he was instrumental in 3 goals in addition to the one he kicked. Love what he brings.

Unless you look for his involvement, you will often miss what he does. 
most often gives the ball to someone in a better position than him. And can tackle. 

Posted
3 hours ago, rpfc said:

It was umpired like a final. Less than 30 frees paid - nothing soft, no afters were paid, aggressive 50/50s were let go.

I honeslty think that threw us slightly early in the first.  Once that realisation kicked in - beast mode engaged.

Posted
2 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Either you need to go to specsavers… or someone in the cheer squad has issues with moving on. 🙃

I’ve not seen this banner but it’s unlikely it’s being used currently. Unless there’s a different name on the reverse side and some one was inadvertently holding it aloft with that showing. 
It happens. In the excitement immediately after a goal it can be forgiven. Not that I’ve ever waved anything upside down….

Suspicious Meme GIF by MOODMAN

Went back to check. Shown on the Kayo telecast after Harmes goal with a couple minutes to go in the second. Seems they are a little bit away from the Dee Army so must just be a huge JKH fan...

Posted
1 hour ago, Webber said:

All is not lost! Watch the ressies - Casey game at 1:45 on AFL app. 

Even better cast it onto the TV.

16561291606986751718167494898068.jpg

Posted
7 hours ago, Winners at last said:

I was at the game ... WOW !!!

I think there should have been more mention of Harmes' game. He was (like the usual suspects) fantastic. Also, Hibbo did a great job on Cameron.

Hopefully we back up against the Crows.

The Lions are woefully out of form. Their midfield (sans Bailey/Zorko, and perhaps even if they played) is not in the same league as our boys. And their tall forwards are very flakey. We match up very well against this side; hopefully we play them in the finals.

Freo (obviously), Jee-long and Richmond pose more of a threat. I think we've got the Swans, Carlton and Bulldogs covered. 

We were all over Richmond when we were up and running. Scoreboard flattered them 

Posted
4 hours ago, old dee said:

Until the end of 2019 I did not like watching a game on TV versus going to the ground. Then 2 years of enforced tv watching and a constant stream of night games has resulted in me enjoying the tv game a lot more. Now at the end of June I am satisfied with watching the game on TV. I may not go to another game until the the finals arrive as the last 2 home games are night matches. I never thought this would happen to me but there you are.

It’s amazing how much you miss on tv. Impossible to get a genuine feel for the game. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Redleg said:

I find the Lions to be a heavy scragging side, with a lot of grabbing/pushing of players without the ball, designed to give them first use of the ball. In a low free kick game that would usually work to their advantage.

Also the diving and acting of Joe is laughable to get his soft free kicks.

I might be biased but i see our mids being held at every clearance/contest/bounce. Especially Clarry. Always being tackled as he is about to take possession. I guess it’s an insurance policy against our terrifying midfield. Play defence and break even.

Posted
4 minutes ago, von said:

It’s amazing how much you miss on tv. Impossible to get a genuine feel for the game. 

Sure. TV seems to love focusing in on the guy with the ball and we get absolutely no idea of what his options are, or what is going on ahead of play.  

Posted
1 minute ago, monoccular said:

Sure. TV seems to love focusing in on the guy with the ball and we get absolutely no idea of what his options are, or what is going on ahead of play.  

You can’t take in the energy of the game. Close ups make the game feel more intense than it sometimes is. You can’t see how the players are covering the ground, setting up etc. in saying this you lose the in close detail of the contest and completely miss the absolute mastery of someone like Clarry. At the ground you see he’s had 40 and go oh wow, didn’t notice. On tv it makes more sense.

Posted
43 minutes ago, Mickey said:

Went back to check. Shown on the Kayo telecast after Harmes goal with a couple minutes to go in the second. Seems they are a little bit away from the Dee Army so must just be a huge JKH fan...

Who isn’t?
Soz, I forgot I was on Demonland. 😑

Posted
6 hours ago, binman said:

It seems you have convinced yourself, literraly in spite of the mountain of evidence to tbe contrary,

Mountain of evidence! Jesus. All we have is a few off-hand remarks here and there that could be interpreted in any number of ways - except on Demonland where, heh, it's all loading, nudge nudge wink wink.

And a current/retired footballer HAS been specific about what goes on in-season, and that was Buckley. He talks about a week or two of extra running sessions.

There was some BS on the Is Goodwin The Right Man thread, but this takes it to another level. Not only is there a conspiracy theory about loading, now there's even a layer of conspiracy theories as to why no-one's talking about it.

This is how people like Trump get elected.

Posted
53 minutes ago, bing181 said:

Mountain of evidence! Jesus. All we have is a few off-hand remarks here and there that could be interpreted in any number of ways - except on Demonland where, heh, it's all loading, nudge nudge wink wink.

And a current/retired footballer HAS been specific about what goes on in-season, and that was Buckley. He talks about a week or two of extra running sessions.

There was some BS on the Is Goodwin The Right Man thread, but this takes it to another level. Not only is there a conspiracy theory about loading, now there's even a layer of conspiracy theories as to why no-one's talking about it.

This is how people like Trump get elected.

Take a Close look at the Final Series Last year. How Fit was the team in each of the 3 2nd halves we played, compared to the 3 opponents. 
Brisvegas were only in the 1st final because our goal kicking was not great. 
they were thrashed just like Jeelong and the Dogs…

Posted
4 hours ago, 640MD said:

Unless you look for his involvement, you will often miss what he does. 
most often gives the ball to someone in a better position than him. And can tackle. 

Spargis tackling is outstanding, often two or three attempts in a single play - and players rarely get a disposal off once he sinks his claws in.

Posted
14 hours ago, binman said:

Chris Scott never 'clarified that what Geelong were doing was for a 14 day period'. That is total bulltish

“Speaking after the Cats’ three goal win over West Coast, coach Chris Scott revealed the club had strategically upped the player’s training loads in between the Bulldogs and Eagles fixtures. A heavy training block over the break is standard at GMHBA Stadium …”

https://www.geelongcats.com.au/news/1153459/intense-training-block-to-prime-cats-for-september

Posted (edited)

Still somewhat buzzing from Thursday night's game.  Such a pivotal win in setting up the back half of our year.  Still a realitively long way to go, but this win puts up in the driver's seat for now, where as a loss would have seen us scrapping  just to stay in the top four (based on previous season's following the MFC, I can hardly believe I'm saying this and with us being 11 and 3!!).

While I usually always give us something of a chance of winning, but must fully admit that the MFCSS was having something of a relapse, because I wasn't really very optimistic at heart headding into the game based on our form.   To watch the team totally control the game after quarter time and then blow Brisbane out of the water in the circumstances made that a more enjoyable win than any other this season.  Winning by small margins with an expectation of winninh and being always in control had got almost boring.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter